We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in as part of a 19 day trip through NZ. We stayed in room 538 on the fifth floor. The room was quite nice, spacious and very clean. Nothing special what one would expect from an inner city hotel of this quality.

Location wise the hotel couldn't be faulted. Within easy walking distance to pretty much everything. We had a wedding to attend on Waiheke Island so the position suited us perfectly to get to and from the wharf... couple of minutes walk.

Probably the only drawback was having to pay for the internet. Most places these days at least offer a short period of time as complimentary to retrieve emails etc. Maybe something the hotel should consider offering in the future. Apart from that wouldn't rave but would stay here again.

Room Tip: Consider a room on the other side of ours (R538) if a view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Rodney K

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I appreciate your feedback as we always strive to improve our services for guest enjoyment.

Our team looks forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

this hotel, arguably, has the best location in Auckland right by the water/harbour. Everything is within walking distance if you want to explore Auckland from this hotel. I found all of the staff extremely helpful particularly the concierge who were most obliging.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Dom T.

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I was delighted to read you found our concierge team and overall our staff to be helpful and obliging. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back.

I trust you had a safe trip back home to London.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We visited Auckland with family to watch Chicago show with Lucy Lawless, Amanda Billing and Shane Cortese and stayed at Stamford Plaza Auckland for one night. Our family flew from Brisbane and it was lovely to meet in the lobby bar for pre-show dinner drinks.
Breakfast the next morning was amazing, plenty of options to choose from, even a gluten free section to cater to our needs.
Friendly, professional and attentive staff from arrival when the doorman welcomed us in and the porters took care of our bags to the smily farewell of the reception on departure.
Thank you Stamford for an excellent night, we will be back again!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Karen A,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I was delighted to read you found our staff professional and I am pleased your and your family had an excellent trip to Auckland.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Most of the reviews I see on the Stamford seem accurate. What I will add is that the staff -everyone from housekeeping to reception to the doormen are outstanding. Good free wifi. Breakfast is great and included in our room rate. The bar keepers are really fun and provide great service. -special accolades for Guy, Danny, and Sean Vincent. They secured good seats in bar for us to watch the Super Bowl! Little things like this mean a lot to guys who spend 200+ nights a year in hotels. The airport is a little far but, the Stamford is an excellent choice if you are in Auckland for more than a day. The location is close to the viaduct and that's a lot of fun.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank 7XTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear 7XTC

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for selecting Stamford Plaza during your stay in Auckland.

I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay made possible by the team members mentioned in your review.

We look forward to welcome you back and I trust you had a safe trip back home to Miami.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked the "Night on the Town" and the package was excellent. The room was average, well appointed a liitle dated but very clean, and we spent most of our time wandering around town. Cocktails in the Bar were a lovely end to the evening with the Christmas decorations adding to the atmosphere. The Bar staff were excellent.The Breakfast Buffet was fresh and well presented. Overall we will be staying again at the Stamford Plaza for the great service that was given to us from the moment we arrived.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear VLS1958,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and choosing to stay Stamford Plaza during your visit to Auckland.

I am pleased to read you would return due to the great service our team provided and with the upcoming refurbishment we look forward to your comments as we always strive for improvements.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Stamford is always a comfortable stay and our deluxe room up on floor 10 was OK but nothing special...I don't think the deluxe room would have been much better than the standard or superior as I couldn't see any reason to call it deluxe - but each to their own.We were looking for something central to Auckland and within walking of the habour which this venue provided. The decor at this particular hotel is a bit drab and the atmosphere is pretty dead in the lobby. There was no real liveliness about the place besides the odd conversation or glass clunking that could heard at the central cocktail bar on the ground floor..They need a proper cafe / bar / live music or something to wake this place up... The timber / pine laminate walls that covered the various floors reminded me of an Ikea store..They really need to overhaul the interior decorating in my view. The breakfast buffet was quite good, but too crowded....it was tough getting to the front of it. Once again, they could do more with the space and an overhaul would be great here. The parking and valet service was good. Overall I rate this place as average

Room Tip: Probably stick to the standard and superior rooms for value...Deluxe isn't worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Western_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Western_Expat,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we appreciate your time in writing the review.

We look forward to welcome you back and receive your feedback once the refurbishments of the hotel rooms and lobby bar is completed this year.

I trust you had a safe trip back home to Adelaide.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have stayed in this hotel many times and everytime we are impressed. Stayed for my birthday on the 'out on the town' special and got upgraded to a lovely room on the 10th floor. Check in was 1pm but we arrived at 12 and were going to leave car and go for a walk but our room was available. Complimentary valet parking was nice and part of our package we also got $100 food and beverage credit which was superb and a surprise as we thought we were just getting a complimentary bottle of bubbles with our package.
Our room had a nice view, was beautifully clean and we heard no road noise or night club noise! Large comfortable bed with a pillow menu. Shower over the bath, sep toilet, nice smelling soap and freebies. Didn't use the mini bar but liked the complimentary bottles of water! Lovely indoor pool and spa with a nice view also on the 10th floor, (didn't use sauna or gym but they looked great). It also had lovely seating area if you wanted to watch the swimming but not participate.
We had drinks in the lobby bar, I was a little disappointed that there was no-one playing the grand piano, however we enjoyed our pre dinner drinks and the wait staff were quick and smiley. We had dinner in the Japanese restaurant which was fabulous, fresh produce, yummy and entertaining with a great chef. Breakfast next morning was a buffet and was just average (nothing special) and not great service, took the wait staff along time to clear plates and ordering poached eggs took about 20 minutes! However that said we still enjoyed our breakfast but wouldn't suggest you go here for a 'special breakfast'.
In the past we have taken advantage of the 'romance' package which is amazing, with candles, rose petals and personalised red wine. This time though we enjoyed our experience with the 'out on the town' package, took advantage of lots of the facilities including in room movie ($21.50) and late check out (2pm). A great location with an easy walk to the viaduct. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The 10th floor is good as it is close to the swimming pool, gym etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funfoodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Funfoodies,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for returning at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I was delighted to read you had another enjoyable and our team looks forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,916 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £114 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing