We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerset
Level Contributor
395 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Rather Dissapointing”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We chose the Stamford Plaza for our stay in Auckland because of its location. It is very central and found it very convenient for walking to restaurants, bars, the shops and activities in the city. The service was also good, especially at breakfast time.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and it was nice to have a large bath, but it has to be said the room was looking rather out-moded and tired. I felt that the rooms had little identity and were far too neutral for my taste. I also found that the sound insulation was very poor; the street noise, noise from the corridor and from above, were very obvious.

We only ate one breakfast during our stay. Considering the standard of it, we thought that it was over-priced. My husband didn’t enjoy his cooked breakfast as everything tasted too strongly of burnt vegetable oil. I opted for a continental breakfast. The selection of fruit was fine, but the croissant and pastries were the worst I had tasted for a long time. They were not even as good as the frozen ones one can buy in the supermarkets in Europe and again they tasted of burnt vegetable oil rather than butter.

Although this hotel has some good points, for me I came away feeling that there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyAnn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear CindyAnn37,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor, since apologies for the lack of service your experienced.

I would like to provide a detailed response and would appreciate your stay details so I can thoroughly investigate the shortcomings.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    664
    260
    96
    61
See reviews for
226
842
116
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It was was my husbands 50th birthday surprise so I wanted to bring him from Christchurch for a nice getaway. We stayed here one night and one night at another upmarket hotel. It was very clean and tidy and loved the bathroom. We had a deluxe room which overlooked Albert street so we had a nice view of the sky tower out to our left. It was very handy to everything. The pool and gym facilities were also very nice. Our tv was flickering when turned on, on all chanels so I rang to let them know. Within half hour someone had been and fixed it, so service was pretty good. We had enquired about dining at the Tepanyaki restaurant restaurant but unfortunately it was closed on Waitangi night. The waiter from lunch was very diligent on ringing us back to advise of this. We didn't dine for tea only lunch but the snacks we got were very nice. Was a little disappointed that when checking in they didn't mention a happy birthday to my husband as per my emails but other than that everything was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Hayleyb71,

Thank you for the review and for choosing Stamford Plaza on your Auckland stay.

Happy belated birthday to your husband.


I trust you had a safe trip back home to Christchurch and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
604 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is our 3rd trip to Auckland and we enjoyed our stay at the Stamford Plaza as it is within walking distance to all amenities. The room was very spacious and had a full work desk and comfortable with which you could spread your work out and had internet connection should you need it. However the hotel does offer complimentary 30mins per day free wifi from the lobby. The only downside was the bed was not the most comfortable and the staff forgot to restock the complimentary tea & coffee daily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Robyn-and-Rob,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I am pleased you found the room specious and very clean. I note your feedback on our beds and I am delighted to inform, we have started replacing to new beds as part of our refurbishment programme.

I trust you had a safe trip back home to Australia.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in as part of a 19 day trip through NZ. We stayed in room 538 on the fifth floor. The room was quite nice, spacious and very clean. Nothing special what one would expect from an inner city hotel of this quality.

Location wise the hotel couldn't be faulted. Within easy walking distance to pretty much everything. We had a wedding to attend on Waiheke Island so the position suited us perfectly to get to and from the wharf... couple of minutes walk.

Probably the only drawback was having to pay for the internet. Most places these days at least offer a short period of time as complimentary to retrieve emails etc. Maybe something the hotel should consider offering in the future. Apart from that wouldn't rave but would stay here again.

Room Tip: Consider a room on the other side of ours (R538) if a view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Rodney K

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I appreciate your feedback as we always strive to improve our services for guest enjoyment.

Our team looks forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

this hotel, arguably, has the best location in Auckland right by the water/harbour. Everything is within walking distance if you want to explore Auckland from this hotel. I found all of the staff extremely helpful particularly the concierge who were most obliging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Dom T.

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I was delighted to read you found our concierge team and overall our staff to be helpful and obliging. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back.

I trust you had a safe trip back home to London.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Auckland with family to watch Chicago show with Lucy Lawless, Amanda Billing and Shane Cortese and stayed at Stamford Plaza Auckland for one night. Our family flew from Brisbane and it was lovely to meet in the lobby bar for pre-show dinner drinks.
Breakfast the next morning was amazing, plenty of options to choose from, even a gluten free section to cater to our needs.
Friendly, professional and attentive staff from arrival when the doorman welcomed us in and the porters took care of our bags to the smily farewell of the reception on departure.
Thank you Stamford for an excellent night, we will be back again!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Karen A,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review and for choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I was delighted to read you found our staff professional and I am pleased your and your family had an excellent trip to Auckland.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Most of the reviews I see on the Stamford seem accurate. What I will add is that the staff -everyone from housekeeping to reception to the doormen are outstanding. Good free wifi. Breakfast is great and included in our room rate. The bar keepers are really fun and provide great service. -special accolades for Guy, Danny, and Sean Vincent. They secured good seats in bar for us to watch the Super Bowl! Little things like this mean a lot to guys who spend 200+ nights a year in hotels. The airport is a little far but, the Stamford is an excellent choice if you are in Auckland for more than a day. The location is close to the viaduct and that's a lot of fun.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 7XTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear 7XTC

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for selecting Stamford Plaza during your stay in Auckland.

I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay made possible by the team members mentioned in your review.

We look forward to welcome you back and I trust you had a safe trip back home to Miami.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing