We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel just needs a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burton-in-Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel just needs a facelift”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Arrived in a hire car and found the concierge boys in overdrive. Excellent service from the start. Lovely welcome at the check-in and bags taken up to room efficiently and quickly. Already in a good mood as Booking.com had confirmed my reservation, made in November, as reduced according to their best price policy. Off to the room which was reasonable in size but not as spacious as expected. Too much brown in public areas and in room. Everything looking as if it needed a face-lift. View of central Aukland from our room was depressing to say the least. Open lift next door was a moving eyesore going up and down for half of our view. ! Derelict buildings and eyesores everywhere.....had previously seen Christchurch and that at least had had an earthquake to justify the mess of downtown.
To the bar! Drinks and service very good and evening meal with friends was very good with a good choice and no over filled plates,a common NZ practice we found annoying. Night time sleep & waking next morning was ruined by the noise of someone next door watching a porn channel on the TV. ( It was either that or his lady was voluble in extremis!)
Breakfast was fine and our maitre from the evening was in attendance, no problems there.
Our car was always ready when asked for and I cannot fault the front desk, concierge or any staff for their help was always offered with charm and enthusiasm. Overall a reasonable hotel, perhaps needing some TLC.....it can't be blamed for the location.
We were only in Aukland for flights in and out and visiting friends so didn't see much of this acclaimed city. However what I did see was disappointing, the dockside and central area where the hotel is located was scruffy, depressing and seemed just as down at heel as any other world city centre.

Room Tip: Hard to say...all seemed similar views at the front. Avoid the back of the hotel...walked there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Willewalker

Thank you for your detailed review, enjoyable reading, Auckland has had some improvements over the years however there is still a lot more room for growth.

I am pleased your found our staff attentive offering a service with charm and enthusiasm.

Agree on your comments about a well needed facelift and as such Stamford Plaza Auckland has started refurbishment of our rooms.

I would be delighted to hear your feedback about our refurbished rooms and would ask for you to contact me directly on your next visit to Auckland.

I trust you had a safe trip back home to UK.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    666
    262
    96
    61
See reviews for
226
847
116
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The internet description describes the hotel as "worldclass luxury". Unfortunately I couldn't disagree more and nothing could be further from the truth.

The only positives worth noting is the location and the fact that I only paid a corporate rate of 198 per night.

Frankly I am amazed at some of the over the top positive reviews I have read on Trip Advisor. I wonder if we were staying at the same hotel?

Anyways the truth is that the rooms, although adequate in size, are seriously drab, dull and outdated. The carpets are old and everything from the hallways to the rooms has this brownish/ yellow look.

The bathroom is unappealing and the lighting is dreadful. Worst of all was the soap and shampoo and conditioner in the small bottles. Never in my years of travelling have I experienced such a disgusting smell/scent. I smelled like old bubblegum all day.

Finally the breakfast buffet was below average with poor selection and chaotic service.

All in all a poor experience so be aware of what you pay for your stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear MattCopenhagen,

Many thanks for your review.

I am pleased you found the location of our hotel advantageous, however I am disappointed to read you were less then satisfied with the room condition. We strive to improve our product and as such I can confirm Stamford Plaza Auckland has a refurbishment programme underway.

We have also made improvements to our buffet area since your last visit and look forward to your further feedback as it only through guest opinions that we can deliver the best service and offering.

I would be delighted to accommodate you in a refurbished room on your next booking and would request you contact me directly so I can look after you.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This our 3 stay. Will continue to use it. Good points are location, sevice, pool and workout facility. Low points are some rooms are tired but clean, the bar closes at midnight, and the buffet is fairly standard.

However the good definately outweighs the negative. Ask fir a renovated room

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Gregght,

Many thanks for your review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel clean facilities good parking and comphy beds. Elevator takes you down through shopping center with a 2 minute walk through shopping lane to Queen Street. Great value for money and nice big flat screen TV!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaahu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Kaahu5,

Many thanks for your positive review, we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is located in a very convenient location, only a 5 minute walk to the harbor. We were greeted promptly by the staff and our luggage was waiting for us in our room when we entered. The room we were in had no view and overlooked a part of the building below. The room came with slippers, robes, coffee maker and a good selection of teas and coffees. The property had a great indoor swimming pool, spa and gym all on the top floor with excellent views. Our room came with the morning buffet breakfast. The assortment was average, and they seemed to run out of dishes too often. The service staff was understaffed and they had a very difficult time of keeping up. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meisterporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Meisterporche,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and excellent rating.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Stamford Plaza Auckland in the near future.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
395 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We chose the Stamford Plaza for our stay in Auckland because of its location. It is very central and found it very convenient for walking to restaurants, bars, the shops and activities in the city. The service was also good, especially at breakfast time.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and it was nice to have a large bath, but it has to be said the room was looking rather out-moded and tired. I felt that the rooms had little identity and were far too neutral for my taste. I also found that the sound insulation was very poor; the street noise, noise from the corridor and from above, were very obvious.

We only ate one breakfast during our stay. Considering the standard of it, we thought that it was over-priced. My husband didn’t enjoy his cooked breakfast as everything tasted too strongly of burnt vegetable oil. I opted for a continental breakfast. The selection of fruit was fine, but the croissant and pastries were the worst I had tasted for a long time. They were not even as good as the frozen ones one can buy in the supermarkets in Europe and again they tasted of burnt vegetable oil rather than butter.

Although this hotel has some good points, for me I came away feeling that there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyAnn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear CindyAnn37,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor, since apologies for the lack of service your experienced.

I would like to provide a detailed response and would appreciate your stay details so I can thoroughly investigate the shortcomings.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It was was my husbands 50th birthday surprise so I wanted to bring him from Christchurch for a nice getaway. We stayed here one night and one night at another upmarket hotel. It was very clean and tidy and loved the bathroom. We had a deluxe room which overlooked Albert street so we had a nice view of the sky tower out to our left. It was very handy to everything. The pool and gym facilities were also very nice. Our tv was flickering when turned on, on all chanels so I rang to let them know. Within half hour someone had been and fixed it, so service was pretty good. We had enquired about dining at the Tepanyaki restaurant restaurant but unfortunately it was closed on Waitangi night. The waiter from lunch was very diligent on ringing us back to advise of this. We didn't dine for tea only lunch but the snacks we got were very nice. Was a little disappointed that when checking in they didn't mention a happy birthday to my husband as per my emails but other than that everything was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Hayleyb71,

Thank you for the review and for choosing Stamford Plaza on your Auckland stay.

Happy belated birthday to your husband.


I trust you had a safe trip back home to Christchurch and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing