We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were lucky enough to be recommended to the Stamford Plaza on our 3 night stay in Auckland City. From unloading the luggage out of the taxi through to being shown around the room, the welcome was first class.
Our room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The pool and gym was great to shake off the long haul flight and invigorate ourselves for exploring the local sights.
Breakfast was great with more than enough choice.
I would seriously recommend this hotel to anyone, the quality and location is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had a fantastic experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    661
    260
    96
    62
See reviews for
227
840
116
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked a grabone lunch deal for family of 4 at Stamford plaza - husband and I and our 4year old and 2year old. Was informed on the grabone discussion board that children under 5 dine for free using this deal but this was not the case when we had lunch today. Was told by the person serving us that we had to pay for our kids meals even though I advised him that the grabone discussion board confirmed kids under 5 dine for free. We ended up sounding like we were in a heated argument as the waitperson kept talking over me. It was clear that he wasn't interested in what I had to say so we ended up paying $11 for one kids meal plus $15 for parking. My husband and I have stayed at the Stamford plaza on one occasion and were looking at coming back, but after today's experience , we won't be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gleast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Gleast,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I am disappointed about the experience you received and would welcome you to contact me directly so I can properly investigate.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
345 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stamford Plaza is a typical business hotel. It's in a very good location just a short walk from the harbour. Checkin a bit slow - only one receptionist meant a slight delay in being served. Room was fine and bed comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Richmet,

Thank you for your review TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear your check in was not as smooth as we would have anticipated. I have shared your feedback with our team as we always strive for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Booked the Stamford for a 4 day stay in Auckland. Nice hotel, definitely an old traditional hotel, which was nice change from some of the new sleek and modern hotels. Staff is top notch, location close to Quay and good place to base out of for exploring the area. Parking is valet only but very prompt.

Pros
Good city location
Good facilities
Nice well appointed rooms
Free WiFi in lobby - Ask front desk for daily logon code.

Cons
Internet charge for use in room.
Room view not exceptional but it is in the middle of skyscapers anyway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Russell1078,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great hotel (despite bad check in - see below). The room was spacious with a huge king-size bed (2 beds joined together). It had the normal amenities including a ironing board and iron, and was clean. The hotel was quiet and it had a small pool and spa pool along with a small gym with tread mills and cross trainers. The location was great, only a few minutes walk from the viaduct restaurant area.

My wife and I wanted a quiet weekend away from the kids and it's exactly what we got thanks to the all you can watch (in 24 hours) movie package ($21).

The only disappointment was with the check-in. We specified that we wanted to check in at 12:00 and arrived around then. They took our details but said the room wouldn't be ready until 3:00 (why ask for a check-in time then?). We arrived back at 3:00 and were told to take a seat room should only be 5 mins. We watched as people arrived, checked in, and went up to their room straight away. After 45 mins I asked what was taking so long and they all of a sudden got a room for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBen003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear CBen003,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay made even more relaxing watching our package movies.

Sincere apologies for the lack of care and attention on a seamless check in, I have shared your feedback with our team as we always strive for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After hearing from several friends in Auckland that this was one of the top hotels I was expecting a great stay. While the central location was fabulous and we had a particularly happy and helpful valet that was about where the good things ended. First there was the extra bond that we had not been told about, then in our room our bathroom had soap scum around the taps and strands of hair on the vanity, not the cleanliness I have come to expect from hotels in Auckland. The next night at 7.30 some friends came to meet us at our hotel before going out to dinner and while chatting quietly with us in our room we received a noise complaint (from reception) from the room next door, we then started speaking in whispers and still had the next room knocking on the wall.
On checkout we had had quite enough and were ready to leave only to find about 5 hours later that the bond had not been released back to us, we kept checking at various times throughout the day to find this was still the case. The next day when it still had not been released back to us the friend I was travelling with contacted the hotel only to be told it would be two days before it was released back, he insisted that it be done sooner and the woman he spoke to said she would fax the information through to the bank and the money would be there in an hour, two hours later still no money, he rang again, they said half an hour this time, another two hours and still no money, when we rang again they blamed it on the bank so we followed it up with the bank who had received nothing from the hotel. Another call to the hotel and finally after another hour the money was there. I travel to Auckland regularly for events and I will not be staying here again and I will not be recommending it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Teechick,

Thank you for your review TripAdvisor.

We have since responded to your partner's email and addressed the concerning issues raised with our offer on your next stay, apologies again.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

What amazing service from the two awesome guys manning the front desk for the graveyard shift! I got stranded in the Auckland rain at 2am and they booked me a room for the night along with a much needed laugh! Thank you so much guys and Stamford!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Emily T,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted our night team was able to look after you at that time in the morning, all part of our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a relaxing weekend this time.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing