We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special night”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I went there after my significant birthday dinner. From the moment we arrived, we were treated very well. Our car was whisked away by the valet. The only hiccup was when out Wotif booking disappeared for a short time. Having been to many hotels in the past, this was but a minor problem. Our room was a bit cold when we arrived but the heating was ultra fast and the temperature was soon perfect.
We had forgotten our toothpaste and tooth brushes but the supermarket was so close that I was able to get these very quickly. We slept soundly on the HUGE king size bed.
Breakfast the next morning was very pleasant and we ate well. The service was excellent as was the food. The coffee kept coming as did the morning paper.
Checkout was very quick and we were soon on our way. Not our first stay at this hotel. It is one that we always enjoy going to,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudley93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 4 March 2015
Dear Dudley93

Thank for your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we continue to make even more improvements and trust you will be coming back to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    669
    262
    96
    61
See reviews for
227
850
116
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I like the Stamford as its good value for money, good for a business stay and has all the business style hotel amenities (conciege, good rooms, good bathrooms (not a climb into the bath shower)) and is in the right location. It would be great if they offered WLAN inclusive so next time I'll ask for that on check in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusSydneyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear GusSydneyNSW,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback. We will gladly look after your WLAN needs on your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Stamford hotel during our trip to Auckland and I have to say that the location is excellent! There is a supermarket 5 minutes away and a covenience store across fhe street. It is near the main shopping district and walking distance to the ferries. The rooms are big and clean. Breakfast can be busy and you might have to wait for a while to be seated but choices are good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Book W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Book M,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the Stamford Plaza hotel for an adults night away. The standard rooms were really clean and confortable with a nice big bathroom and separate toilet. The hotel itself lacked a little bit of character but it certainly ticked the boxed. Buffet Breakfast the next morning at Knights on Albert was nice, but not a great selection compared to other hotels. Still a very nice night away and I would say if you were after a 4star getaway this would suit well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Lynette M,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We have taken your feedback on board as we always strive for improvement.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked here because the special packages were recommended. We had a night on the town package which gave us valet parking, drinks, breakfast and a late check out.
The room was great. Floor 6.

We didn't fully enjoy breakfast as there was a wedding breakfast so we were offered to just grab a bit and take it back upstairs. What we did have was nice and there seemed to be a good choice.
Would definitely come back though. Staff were very helpful

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faysie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Faysie52,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback about our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My 8th visit to this hotel lived up to all my expectations - from the welcoming smiles and warm efficient check-in procedures - all my prior personal details accurately recalled minimized the usual lengthy bureaucracy.
The rooms are more than simply comfortable - a king-size bed with just the right degree of softness in the mattress; spotlessly clean fluffy gowns; a decently sized flat screen TV with a remote control that worked perfectly and a spacious bathroom with separate toilet! Not much more to ask for!
The concierge, although young, was knowledgeable and able to provide answers to questions which he anticipated almost before being asked - well done Kelly!
The main restaurant remains consistently of a high standard - breakfasts to either be dealt with prior to a day's business or lingered over if one has the luxury of time.
My request for a hot pad to ease a sore back was met quickly and with no bother at all.
I shall return whenever I have to visit Auckland.

Room Tip: Request a room as high as possible - there are not really any rooms with sweeping water views - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Brian B

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback, we have passed on your thanks to our Concierge Kelly and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Centrally located. very pleasant staff eager to help. Reasonable size room. I was initially given a room on level 5. I requested for a higher floor and I was transferred to level 10 without any fuss. The room had some water view as well. The only thing I did not like was the room service menu. But that can be just me being picky. I ordered a aloo mattar curry which sounded very authentic Indian but it was not and was served with jasmine rice. Apart from that all the staff including reception, porters and the travel desk were very helpful

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Sanjeev G,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing