We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Few Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Stamford Plaza. All of the staff were super helpful and friendly. As we were so centrally located we were able to walk everywhere that we needed to go. Our room was clean, very quiet and had a street view. The breakfast we had on both days was fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Lyree

Thank for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we have made improvements to our guest rooms with the commencement of a multimillion dollar refurbishment program. We hope you will return to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,402 - 1,408 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights on business. Great location for the station and ferry piers and to look around the city. Room on 8th floor was quiet enough except for Saturday night, where general street noise and other hotel guests woke me up numerous times after midnight. Ear plugs a good idea for weekends. The $10 a day off to spend on room service/minibar etc, to go green and not service the room seems a good idea, as the over-servicing of rooms in hotels does seem a waste of resources to me. I will see when I check out if it is used efficiently to cover my extras bill.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Daphnescooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear FionaL777

Thank for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant business stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we have made improvements to our guest rooms with the commencement of a multimillion dollar refurbishment program. We hope you will return to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The stamford has a fabulous location in downtown Auckland . Close to all attractions. Link bus stop 100 metres up the road to take you to Ponsonby which is a very trendy shopping area with lots of cafés and bars and other outer suburbs at a low cost of $1.90. This bus runs every 15 minutes . The stamford has a restaurant and bar which is lovely to unwind at. A Thai and Japanese restaurant are also off the stamford which are Devine. A large screen to watch the rugby or soccer and beautiful flame fire heaters to help keep you warm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Donna

Thank for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we have made improvements to our guest rooms with the commencement of a multimillion dollar refurbishment program. We hope you will return to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Stamford Plaza is well located in downtown Auckland. The rooms are spacious and quiet and the beds very comfortable.

The only 2 minor issues I had were:

(I) Internet costs are high at $24.95 per day; and

(ii) For 2 of the three days no newspaper was delivered to the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Lee

Thank for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we have made improvements to our guest rooms with the commencement of a multimillion dollar refurbishment program. We hope you will return to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A very pleasant surprise. Rooms were large and comfortable, bathrooms were spacious. Amenities included a gym, indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Staff was attentive and friendly. Restaurant and bar was a little pricey, but the food was good, although the menu was fairly limited. The only drawback is the weird elevator system which requires you to use your room key and restricts your access to your floor only. (Makes it difficult to visit other hotel guests.)

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1213pdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear 1213pdg

Thank for your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we continue to make even more improvements and trust you will be coming back to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I went there after my significant birthday dinner. From the moment we arrived, we were treated very well. Our car was whisked away by the valet. The only hiccup was when out Wotif booking disappeared for a short time. Having been to many hotels in the past, this was but a minor problem. Our room was a bit cold when we arrived but the heating was ultra fast and the temperature was soon perfect.
We had forgotten our toothpaste and tooth brushes but the supermarket was so close that I was able to get these very quickly. We slept soundly on the HUGE king size bed.
Breakfast the next morning was very pleasant and we ate well. The service was excellent as was the food. The coffee kept coming as did the morning paper.
Checkout was very quick and we were soon on our way. Not our first stay at this hotel. It is one that we always enjoy going to,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Dear Dudley93

Thank for your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we continue to make even more improvements and trust you will be coming back to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I like the Stamford as its good value for money, good for a business stay and has all the business style hotel amenities (conciege, good rooms, good bathrooms (not a climb into the bath shower)) and is in the right location. It would be great if they offered WLAN inclusive so next time I'll ask for that on check in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GusSydneyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear GusSydneyNSW,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback. We will gladly look after your WLAN needs on your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £106 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing