We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great Location for both business and leisure.
Big rooms, very clean with an outstanding housekeeping service (there was no shampoo at my arrival and in less than 2 minutes after my call, a very nice man arrived at the door with everything needed and even more).
The F&B staff was a bit late the morning we had breakfast but it was 6 am- maybe this is a point to work on since the full buffet was not ready on time.
Something which I was a bit disappointed was that the lobby bar closed at 12 or 1 am. It happened one evening that we reached the bar just after the closing and they refused to serve us the last drink even though the bar was still full of people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabianaPizzali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear FabianaPizzali

Thanks for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear the Housekeeping team wowed another guest with their fantastic service.
I will be sure to pass on your feedback regarding both the readiness of the breakfast in the morning and closing of the bar in the evening.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    661
    260
    96
    62
See reviews for
227
840
116
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We drove in with our 2 star car (teen learning to drive) but were welcomed with respect. Quick and friendly check in. Made good use of the gym, pool, spa and sauna - would have to be best equipped gym I have seen in Auckland hotels and the pool has a great outlook. Nice seating areas as well. Comfortable beds as well as the rollaway we needed to get. Spacious bathroom with a seperate toilet albeit through the bathroom. Did miss the compendium though - I like to check out the menus and pricing and where the facilities are, perhaps details were on TV, I didn't check. All very clean. Would stay again. Close to everything too - Viaduct, Queens St etc.

Room Tip: Liked our room down the end in the corner - no foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Leeann T

Thanks for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

Fantastic to hear you made such good use of the hotels fantastic facilities, the gym recently had an upgrade and we are very pleased with the amazing fit out and equipment we have, also where else do get that view during a work out?

We have also recently updated our compendium to a digital version and apologise this was not pointed out to you at check in.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Almost had a service hiccup but was saved by Sean Vincent. Great service resulted throughout the rest of our stay. We used the room service, gym & pool, ate in the restaurant and used the lobby bar regularly... all up a great stay in a central location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrrMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear MrrMaxx,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Sean Vincent, sounds like you made use of all the hotels facilities whilst you were staying.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed here before on a number of occasions and always found the hotel to be well run. Rooms are very clean and beds very comfortable. Staff are very helpful. Breakfast is buffet and there is a good selection for you to choose from. Swimming pool and gym are fantastic. The location of the hotel is really good.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Stamford on a number of occasions and been in different rooms, this time we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Anibat,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback and that you are a returning guest, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As soon as we got out of our car we were welcomed by a lovely conciege! Efficient and prompt check in. Loved the small touches like bottle of water complimentary and convenience of bathroom light automatically turning on and off. Brekky was great. Friendly staff and eager to help. We want to especially mention Kelly Martin conceige who guided us to some fantastic sights and restaurants and all his reccomendations were spot on and appreciated. Its always makes your holiday enjoyable when the service and friendliness of staff exceeds your expectation. Well done Stamford a lovely few nights. Worst thing....we couldn't stay longer :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Aman07052014,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We agree its the little details that really make your stay more comfortable, I will be sure to pass on your thank you to Kelly, sounds like he went above and beyond, a real asset.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Victoria
Level Contributor
268 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here some time back and still just as good.

Bar and reception can get busy at times so be prepared to wait.

Location is ideal near the waterfront, my room was large with separate lounge and good quality furnishings and amenities.

Ideal for business.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear GriffinFamily4,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your feedback regarding your stay, your feedback regarding the speed of service during busy time has been taken on board and will be escalated through the correct channels.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had an enforced stopover at this hotel due to a delayed flight from Sydney missing our connecting flight to Apia. Hotel fully paid for by Air New Zealand including all meals for a family of 5. Beautiful rooms and wonderful dining experience for all meals. Lovely indoor pool and spa on the top floor. The concierge went out of his way to notify our hotel in Samoa that we would be late and to hold our reservations. We then decided to extend our stay in Samoa and he organised that with the hotel and also the airline. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and well cared for. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the front. The rear facing rooms whilst having no view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherN1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear HeatherN1607,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic feedback and that on a forced lay over what could've been a tiresome experience turned into something great. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
johnmmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing