We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by valet parking attendants who started what proved to be customer service excellence from all staff during our weekend stay. Reception staff were friendly and helpful offering free internet access codes to use in the hotel lobby. Facilities were great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Located centrally it was easy to get around the city. We dined at the Thai restaurant located within the hotel. Food was well presented and tasty. The buffet breakfast was satisfying and had plenty of choice. Thanks for a truly memorable experience. We will definitely return to stay again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annietag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Annietag

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Come back and check out our refurbished rooms when they start coming back online in December.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    689
    269
    101
    62
See reviews for
236
881
119
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had an unexpected two night stay in Auckland and decided to go 5 star. First obstacle was reception The receptionist not only questioned our choice of a king size bed twice, as we were two females travelling together, but continued again and then again to offer twin beds. Gay friendly I think not. Wi fi very expensive and the buffet breakfast expensive for what was on offer. Valet parking very friendly and quick getting your car, but again another cost on your account.
Room was comfortable and the bathroom spacious but hairs in the bath off putting. Furniture and carpet looking tired. Would not stay again as Auckland has many other options offering proximity to CBD.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Helen K

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

Please feel free to contact me: johnmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au to discuss your concerns as these are far below what is expected from our staff.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Decided to try Stamford as a change from usual Auckland breaks staying at Rendezvous Hotel. Whilst there was absolutely nothing bad to say about the service, rooms, facilities etc at the Stamford, there really wasn't anything particularly outstanding or exceptional either. No real points of difference in fact, apart from the location which is 2 minute easy walk from lower Queen Street.

The rooms were reasonably sized (though smaller than some of same price bracket), clean, but a little spartan and tired with not a single painting/decoration on the walls. The bed was large (two king singles attached to form super king) but not terribly comfortable. Bathroom was large with good shower pressure and large bath. I was surprised to find no in-room booklet or brochure listing the hotel's facilities and had to ring reception on a couple of occasions to ask for basic information (eg. where is the pool?).

On the whole, if a central location in the CBD is what you're after (short walk to Queen St/Britomart), or you're a business traveller without grand expectations, then worth considering. To be honest, I'd probably not return to the Stamford when the Rendezvous offers comparable or possibly even greater value for money. Had I paid full price for the room offered I have to say I would have been sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallistoWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear CallistoWellington

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

You will be glad to hear we are undergoing a full refurbishment or our guest rooms and suites the first of which will be available from December.

Thank you again.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itunesjamie
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I had booked the stay at the Stamford via a blind hotel search , hoping to get a bargain off season in Auckland. The Hotel is in a great location, the lobby is well presented was my first impressions.
The room was a homage to the 80's with poor quality furniture. Being off season it required the heating on in the room, this was poorly controlled from the 80's thermostat which was poor at regulating a temperature. The bed only had a sheet with no blankets available in the room, though you could ask, but i was too jet lagged to catch housekeeping.The plus for the room was the water pressure in the bathroom excellent. I did find that the hotel was geared to penny pinching, example asking for a flat white at breakfast , you have to pay more than the standard breakfast charge? My Uncle dropped me off at the hotel on arrival and waited to take me to lunch , was charged £16.00 on my room bill for his 12minutes of parking. ( He's 74 years of age) crazy.
The internet wifi was expensive and not to a standard that merited the high cost, poor download speeds. The gym and pool are well equipped, however the treadmills are located on carpeted pythons, and fall off when an incline is selected. This has a the potential to be is very dangerous combination for the unwise and frail. I don't think I would stay again , due to the penny pinching approach. I stayed for 7 days , would have moved had I not paid in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itunesjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Itunesjamie

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

Feel free to contact me directly: johnmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au if you would like to discuss any of your issues further. you will be happy to know the gym has gone through a complete upgrade of all its equipment and those platforms for the new treadmills are gone. The guest rooms are also undergoing a full refurbishment including new technology and air con control.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I got a great deal on a room here by booking together with my flight. It may not be as cool as a couple of the other Auckland hotels, but if you need to be in the CBD and don't plan on spending a lot of time in the hotel or room it's great, and a lot less expensive. Check in and check out very efficient, car valet always had my car ready on time, and the room was very clean and plenty big, and quiet during the day and night. I also got free wifi with my booking. The only knock is the same other reviewers have brought up - the bed is a bit firm, and the blanket for the bed in really too thin. A thin blanket and a sheet. If you are used to something like Westin's heavenly bed, this could be an issue. I don't like to turn up the heat, so it was an issue for me. There is a gym, and it's about average. A couple of treadmills and bikes, but not a lot of weight equipment. I did not try the restaurant as there are great options within walking distance. If you have a car and park in the hotel, its about $30 per day. There is public parking close by that may be more cost effective.

Room Tip: I went for a high floor and it was very quiet. I had a room on the back, so no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FABourdain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear FakeAnthonyBoudain

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Be sure to check out our newly appointed Gym nest time you are in town, its now the best in the city !
The bed and blanket issues have been taken on board and these will be addressed with the refurbishment our rooms which is currently underway.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

By the way your profile name is genius !

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights. Everything was fine. Room was spacious with complete amenities.
I like the spacious bathroom with bath and shower and separate toilet.
Bed was king size and more than enough for two. Pillow was a bit hard for me. But you can always trick it somehow.
Location was great. It was few minutes walking to Queen Street. There are some places to eat around the hotel.
Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank widawida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear widawida

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Come back and check out our refurbished rooms when they start coming back online in December.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Visiting Auckland for our wedding anniversary we were pleased with our choice. We've stayed here once before and appreciated the value, service and positioning to downtown Auckland CBD. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and staff were welcoming and friendly. A great stay, we'll be back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Dear Newlyweds246

Thanks for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glads to have had you back with us. Come back and check out our refurbished rooms when you can.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing