We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The Stamford Plaza is located in the city center and is an easy walk to the Skytower and the habour foreshore.

The rooms are of a generous size although the decor is somewhat outdated. The beds are comfortable but the "barely there" pillows need to be revised.

The gym was closed due to a facelift, but the indoor pool was a good option.

Would recommend this hotel for business travel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Cathy_OConnor

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Come back and check out our refurbished rooms when they start coming back online in December. The gym is now completed and is amazing...what a view!!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Stamford Plaza Auckland is a well done full service hotel. Ideally located within walking of Queen and High Street and the Waterfront. Good Lobby Bar. Attached Thai place was a bit wanting, but I was a solo traveler.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sgmharvard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear sgmharvard1

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Come back and check out our refurbished rooms when they start coming back online in December.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed one night which was paid for by the company that invited me up there for some product training. Service and all food and beverages (morning coffees, lunch, breakfast, high tea) was fantastic. I loved how the bottled water was constantly being replaced in the meeting room. Later on, for the evening meeting, the service of drinks and fingerfood was also great. All staff were smiling and obliging. The room was lovely, clean and had a great TV. Reception staff were pleasant and professional. Loved the breakfast buffet. The swimming pool and sauna was first class. Hot sauna (and I was able to make it super hot, which I love) and the pool and spa was beautiful. Didn't use the gym, but it looked very nice. Will rate the dinner at Grasshopper in a separate review.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Nick L

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Come back and check out our refurbished rooms when they start coming back online in December.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have stayed in many hotels - let them know I was having one of the largest rooms and said I was having a small gathering ( under 10 people) and I had 7 people and they said only 3 of us could be here. Gave no refund - absolute disgrace. Never coming back here and never recommending

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear Lizzielen,

Thank you for providing feedback and comments, in regards to your recent stay here at the Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland.

I do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. On behalf of the team here at the Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland, we hope to welcome you back here to stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Jordan J

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were greeted by valet parking attendants who started what proved to be customer service excellence from all staff during our weekend stay. Reception staff were friendly and helpful offering free internet access codes to use in the hotel lobby. Facilities were great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Located centrally it was easy to get around the city. We dined at the Thai restaurant located within the hotel. Food was well presented and tasty. The buffet breakfast was satisfying and had plenty of choice. Thanks for a truly memorable experience. We will definitely return to stay again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Annietag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Annietag

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Come back and check out our refurbished rooms when they start coming back online in December.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had an unexpected two night stay in Auckland and decided to go 5 star. First obstacle was reception The receptionist not only questioned our choice of a king size bed twice, as we were two females travelling together, but continued again and then again to offer twin beds. Gay friendly I think not. Wi fi very expensive and the buffet breakfast expensive for what was on offer. Valet parking very friendly and quick getting your car, but again another cost on your account.
Room was comfortable and the bathroom spacious but hairs in the bath off putting. Furniture and carpet looking tired. Would not stay again as Auckland has many other options offering proximity to CBD.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Helen K

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

Please feel free to contact me: johnmoffett@spak.stamford.com.au to discuss your concerns as these are far below what is expected from our staff.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Decided to try Stamford as a change from usual Auckland breaks staying at Rendezvous Hotel. Whilst there was absolutely nothing bad to say about the service, rooms, facilities etc at the Stamford, there really wasn't anything particularly outstanding or exceptional either. No real points of difference in fact, apart from the location which is 2 minute easy walk from lower Queen Street.

The rooms were reasonably sized (though smaller than some of same price bracket), clean, but a little spartan and tired with not a single painting/decoration on the walls. The bed was large (two king singles attached to form super king) but not terribly comfortable. Bathroom was large with good shower pressure and large bath. I was surprised to find no in-room booklet or brochure listing the hotel's facilities and had to ring reception on a couple of occasions to ask for basic information (eg. where is the pool?).

On the whole, if a central location in the CBD is what you're after (short walk to Queen St/Britomart), or you're a business traveller without grand expectations, then worth considering. To be honest, I'd probably not return to the Stamford when the Rendezvous offers comparable or possibly even greater value for money. Had I paid full price for the room offered I have to say I would have been sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CallistoWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear CallistoWellington

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

You will be glad to hear we are undergoing a full refurbishment or our guest rooms and suites the first of which will be available from December.

Thank you again.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £115 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing