We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fast bath”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Got to my room to discover twin beds but a call to housekeeping soon resolved that. Bed perfect with one but centre split may be noticeable with 2. Bath fills in about 1 minute which is great for spontaneous late night bathing.

Room Tip: State you want a double or you may end up with twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Nicola

Thank for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we have made improvements to our guest rooms with the commencement of a multimillion dollar refurbishment program. We hope you will return to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Stanislava Zatylnikova | PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    690
    269
    101
    62
See reviews for
236
881
119
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Spent a night at the Stamford Plaza for work recently. Definitely cannot fault the service. Entrance is grand and reception desk helpful.
Room was a great size and tidy, however rather dated and tired looking. Sound proofing between rooms not that flash either as I was woken by a neighbour having a work conversation at midnight (there are worst things that could have kept me awake, I am sure).
Did not have a chance to try gym or pool but understand it has been recently refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Mr Skinley

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

You will be happy to hear we have made improvements to our guest rooms with the commencement of a multimillion dollar refurbishment program. We hope you will return to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

Stanislava Zatylnikova | PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

If you enter the room and it smells of strong air freshener, ASK immediately for room change. I checked in, left for afew hours and came back late. The air freshener had been replaced by an terrible odor....like someone's feet had died in there!
To make things worse, staff knocked twice and before I could get to the door, they had opened the door. Only wish I was standing there in my birthday suit...surprise!!

Bright side...the doormen/concierge were an absolute delight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simstastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Simstastic

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We are currently undertaking a multimillion dollar refurbishment of all guest rooms to ensure we continue reflect the quality of the Stamford Plaza brand our guests have become accustomed to.
To date all Executive rooms and a proportion of the suites have been completed.

I do note your comment regarding the door situation, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide feedback so we may improve on all elements.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

From the second I pulled in to the foyer, I felt welcome, felt like I was the most important person there. Excellent start that continued shortly afterwards when I approached the reception again, the customer service person remembered my name straight away.
Great approach to a very small complaint I had, immediately dealt with, I couldn't ask more from them. Although I didn't use it, the pool and gym on the 10th floor looked fantastic.
All in all, a great stay, central, courtesy parking, great breakfast.
I will be back

Room Tip: 10th floor hosts the pool and gym, with great views of Sky Tower and Harbour Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Jason

Thank for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we have made improvements to our guest rooms with the commencement of a multimillion dollar refurbishment program. We hope you will return to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Stanislava Zatylnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I've reviewed this hotel before, and the service is as good as it ever was, location is great and public spaces up to date. Rooms are immaculately maintained and clean, but tired; which is why I guess you can get a great package deal. Ours included valet parking and breakfast. Valet parking unacceptably slow - despite phoning 15 mins earlier; breakfast utterly uninspiring. A great pity as there is much to love about this hotel. Avoid purchasing their packages; they don't add value.

Room Tip: Avoid purchasing their packages; they don't add value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA To General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Sally

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

I do note your feedback on your experience at breakfast and the valet parking. We are addressing these points with our team to ensure we have adequate levels of equipment and staffing to accommodate all anticipated levels of demand from our guests.

You will be happy to hear we continue to make improvements and trust you will be return to enjoy our refurbished Executive rooms and Suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,

Stanislava Zatylnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for business + weekend break. Hotel is well located in city centre and near harbour side. Room and facilities were all clean, in good condition and met expectations. For the price and location this busy hotel is good value. Breakfast buffet is excellent and 1 business dinner in restaurant was above average. Would use again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank swinchml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stasya Z, PA to General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 2 March 2015
Dear Swinchml

Thank for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a pleasant weekend break and enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

You will be happy to hear we have made improvements to our guest rooms with the commencement of a multimillion dollar refurbishment program. We hope you will return to stay in one of our newly refurbished Executive rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Valet parking on arrival, friendly girl at the reception. Nothing wrong there. The room was ok. Not state of the art, boutique, or brand new. Just a good room with a nice bed. Since there wasn't much to do in the city on a Monday evening I went to the hotel bar and found the best barkeeper I've encountered for some time. Sean, thanks again for an evening filled with laughter!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sanjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Public Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Sanjohan

Thank for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

So glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

You will be happy to hear we are making even more improvements and trust you will be coming back to check out our refurbished rooms when they area available from this coming December.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
John Moffett | Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing