We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance and Seduction Package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Myself and my partner stayed at the Stamford Plaza Auckland for our anniversary. We were so impressed with the hotel, the room looked amazing as we walked in, it was very romantic. The service and food was great. I have recommended this package at Stamford Plaza Auckland to our friends. It is definitely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

Paul.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reckless3574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2009

Stamford Plaza is located very close to the waterfront in Auckland and is in the central part of the city with a lot of options to walk and eat around, as well as to shop.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ABhanPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

I was concerned by some of the reviews and how low the Stamford Plaza was rated on Trip Advisor. Everyone, however, says that it's location is good. That, along with the package they offered convinced us to give it a go for our 4 day stay. We booked direct with the hotel and got a better package than that on both their web site and wotif. NZ$160 a night for family of 4, children under 12 eat and sleep for free, free breakfast and valet parking.

It is located one block west of Auckland's main street (Queen), 5 mins walk from the Viaduct/Harbour area, to the Link bus and Auckland's main transport centre, yet it seems to be in a quiet part of town.

All dealings with the front desk were successful, we asked for high and quiet side of build ing and got the top floor. On one day we didn't get the room serviced which entitles you to a discount voucher, we traded the voucher for free internet for the day. Our dealings with all staff were pleasant and curtious. Some of them bothering to learn our name which added a nice touch.

The room was a good size, with an interesting view down to Queen St or over a few buildings to the harbour. The bathroom was big with a separate toilet, bath and shower.
Maybe the timber furniture was a bit dated but I think I only noticed because of some of the bad reviews I had read. The TV was definately out of the Ark, but it worked and apart from no kids channel, had a good selection.

The gym, pool and sauna area is excellent. Great views, good range of working equipment. Always kept clean and "fresh". The food served at the breakfast buffet was also very good. Wide choice, chef on hand to make any sort of egg dish not already available. Service staff always cleaning your table, offering tea or coffee, or topping up the buffet. The Grasshopper Thia restaurant in the lobby is also worth a visit.

It might not be 5 star, as some of the reviews have stated, but it's better than many 4 1/2 stars I have stayed at. A great hotel, in a great location which I will return to if ever in Auckland again. P.S. If you have kids, take a trip to Rotatua - a great day trip. Go on the Zorb, Luge and the mud pools.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millet-Fanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I stayed at this hotel and it was booked as part of a mystery hotel deal. I was at first apprehensive after reading some of the bad reviews. I arrived at the hotel around midnight and was checked in. We were given a room on the 7th floor which was great, considering the booking was only to be for a room on the lower floors. The hotel is quite nice, modern.
The room was a nice room. The beds are very comfortable. The room was quite big (room 727). I was quite happy with the room. We didn’t have a view, but I was fine with this.
The hotel itself is ideally located and in my opinion the most convenient out of all the hotels I saw. It was a 10 minutes walk to Viaduct Harbour, and a 10 or less minute walk to Queen Street. I liked it because it was not directly in the city and was not surrounded by noise. It was also a 15 minutes walk to Foodtown which was a huge supermarket, quite handy for groceries.
The Thai Restaurant GrassHopper was very nice and had a lovely ambience.
We asked the hotel to book us a chaffeuer to pick us up from the airport. The price was only $75 which was just about the same price of the taxi. I found it most convenient when we arrived so late. The driver had a sign with our name on it and he drove us to the hotel.
Queen Street mall had heaps of choices of public transport. I would suggest travelling via the Link Bus which only costs $1.60 and takes you around most places.
Food places I would suggest avoiding Ariake Japanese Restaurant near Quay Street and China Yum Char on Beach Road. I liked The Waterfront Café on Princes Wharf and Sunshine Chinese Restaurant on Market Place for good Yum Cha. There are also many other good places about.
Shopping is great at Newmarket and the Brand Smart Outlet (I think that was what it was called).
I found some souvenir places are over priced so be wary. One souvenir place located near the corner of Customs and Queen Street (had a red and white sign) was best priced.

Stayed: April 2009
1  Thank advocate_of_truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My Girlfriends and I recently spent a fantastic weekend in the Stamford Plaza! all the staff were so friendly and helpful and could accommodate all our needs.
It was located close enough to all the nightlife that we could walk easily but when we wanted to head back to our room it wasn't noisy at all.
The bar inside the Hotel was an awesome place for us to start our night with great live music.
Overall a fantastic weekend out and would reccomend it to a friend

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stayce_e24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

It's been a perfect vacation for us. It's been a second time to visite Auckland. hotel is just what we wanted...perfect location for shopping and sightseeing!!
Since they are newly built, everything is just nice and clean.
We especially thank to the friendly staffs for providing us all the information. If you are a tourist, this place is the two thums up!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeoulKoreaBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I surprised my partner with an overnight at the hotel as I had purchased a night on wotif.com. I was able to upgrade for a small fee and we were so surprised by the Junior Suite. The room was so immaculate and I felt like a million bucks. We were foturnate to have valet parking, late check out the next day, bottle of champagne and access to the gym, pool and spa. The service from the staff was polite and friendly. I can't wait to go back there again!!!! I am so happy that the surprise worked.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,566 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £106 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing