We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Service Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I have stayed at this hotel many times and have always received fantastic service, the rooms are always tidy and of a high standard. The lobby and restaurants are looking fantastic since recently been renovated. It also has a nice new pool area with spa, sauna and gym; an added bonus is the nice view from the pool area.
I am a travel agent and would recommend this hotel to my clients.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravekAgent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,962 - 1,968 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stayed at the Stamford for 2 nights. The bathroom, swimming pool and spa were excellent. Valet parking is expensive at $30 NZ a night, however would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PushkarNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The Stamford Plaza has a great location just a couple of blocks up from the waterfront.

The lobby has check-in and also a busy bar area. You can also use your computer here at a marginal cost.

Rooms have been redecorated and were most comfortable. The TV is in a cupboard which makes it pretty hard to watch with your head on an angle.

Didn't try the restaurant as it was Thai food and I was looking for a New Zealand food experience.

But, the bar was good and buzzy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfreeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Guests Services Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Dear TravelfreeDublin,

Thank you for passing your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our Bar, which is extremely popular with both our guests and locals.

I am pleased to be able to advise that we have just placed the order for new 32” LCD television sets. Delivery is scheduled for late September and they will be progressively installed in all our guest rooms.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha
Guests Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Had a comfortable stay at this luxurious hotel in the Herat of Auckland's CBD. Courteous staff and their special surpirses for the honeymoon couple made it better!
The indoor swimming pool and adjoining areas add to the leisurely feel...
A nice breakfast buffet with some delicious waffles.
All in all - a classy and ideally located place.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank nishit_madlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Great location, service and central to many eatery including international foodcourt just across the street. Excellent fitness area with nice pool...quite impressed with the room too - stayed in their suite. The only con is that the suite does not have LCD TV but was told that they will do the upgrade soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jloh003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordPlazaAkl, Guests Services Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Dear jloh003,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The pool and fitness area is impressive and we get many great comments about it.

To keep you updated we will be installing 32” LCD televisions in all rooms shortly, delivery scheduled for late September 09.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Edwin Saldanha.
Guests Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I have just come back from staying at Stamford and was EXTREMELY impressed with the service. Staff were very helpful... foyer was stunning as were the restaurants. Our dinner at Grasshopper Restauranmt was lovely. I would definately recommend it.

The rooms were disapointing however. Having stayed in various other top hotels in Auckland I was very disapointed with Stamford's rooms. I upgraded to a Deluxe room and was put into a Disabled room ( We checked in after the normal check in time and the other deluxe rooms were not ready so we agreed to settle for a disabled room) Decor was plain and the Tv was tiny and very old. Reception was horible so we didnt use it.


Apart from that, the hotel itself was fabulous... Valet parking is at a charge of $30NZD per night. Valet service was outstanding!Location was good! As for the rooms though, you could probably find nicer... But if you are after service, great food and location, Go for Stamford Auckland!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meliss_John18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Try the inhouse Japanese restaurant ,great coffee and delicious buffet brekkie

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our property.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager | Stamford Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £115 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing