We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good end to holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good end to holiday”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed here 2 nights, interconnecting rooms with 3 children aged 6, 4 and 2yrs. Rooms were spacious enough, especially having the interconnecting which we could send the kids into! The decor was a bit dated, but was clean and the beds were comfortable. Our room was very quiet, but it wasn't looking out over the main road, so if you want quiet, maybe request a room at the back.
Swimming pool was great, esp for the kids.
The Japanese Restaurant was great entertainment and very accommodating for our kids who freaked out when the flames arrived! Nice food, but very expensive!
Great location, within walking distance to all the main attractions.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    689
    269
    101
    62
See reviews for
236
881
119
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pauillac, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Stayed during 3 nights in Stamford Plaza.
Rooms are not what I would call luxurious but are comfortable, large, quiet and Bedding was very good.
Business style hotel though, not very charming.

Main assets come from a central location in CBD and a very professional staff.
Concierge Daniel March was very friendly, knowledgeable and always available for us.
Also, there is a very large indoor pool with a nice view on the bay.

In a word, I agree with one of the previous report saying it is not a 5 star hotel but is a very good 4 star though.
If you can get it for a reasonable price, go for it!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jBigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We hope to welcome you back to Stamford Plaza Auckland in the near future.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Check in was fast and friendly but staff upon finding we didn't need help with luggage failed to give us directions on which the lifts were up to the accommodation or what floor we were on (only had our room#). Compedium should of contained map of hotel facilities etc and had more comprehensive details in it.

Only 3 sugar sachets for the 2 of us but upon ringing house keeping 4 more were bought up. I had ordered upon check in a newspaper for the morning. At 8.30 I had to ring down to get it sent up and when it was a section was missing out of it. Later found sections in the breakfast buffet area.

Very noisey, we were in not the budget rooms but the next standard up and had a night club right outside which was going loudly until 5.30am, soundproof glass would of been nice!!!!

Breakfast buffet was remarkably average and not what I would expect from a 5 star establishment. Check out was fast and effecient as was the valet service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lellley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

There was bit of confusion at the entrance, about the parking rule for visitors. First half and hour free or not. Rules were not clear to them.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lohan97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We've stayed at Stamford Plaza Auckland for 3 nights from 16-19 Jan 2010 after our 12N Diamond Princess from Sydney to Auckland. We had initially booked an one-bedroom suite at Hyatt Regency, but changed to Stamford Plaza for its proximity to Queens' Wharf, Queen's street, city centre, etc.

The location is great! It is 5-7 mins to Queen's Wharf, Queen's Street shopping, Auckland Tower, CBD, etc

The service at Stamford Plaza is exceptional, right from the point of reservation. We booked a Deluxe Room, but shared our concerns of noisy rooms, uneven bedding, etc with the staff. Amar Jain, our reservation agent took our concerns seriously. Ms Lynda King, Director of Sales and Marketing emailed us the next day to address our concerns, and gave her word to give her best attention.

On arrival on 16 Jan 2010, we were greeted by their reception staff, who gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite on level 6. As we were early (reached ~9.30a.m), the room was not ready till around 11.30a.m. However, when it was ready, the reception staff carried up our luggage, and then personally escort us to the room.

The corner suite comes with a large living room, spacious bathroom and bedroom.
However, the room furnishings does looked a little dated, and slightly dusty. Also, the mattress is slightly uneven. There is also a design flaw in the bathtubs, as it does not come with shower curtains. Hence, the bathroom floor gets wet everytime we use the bathtub.

It'd be good if the hotel could invest in refurnishing all the rooms, and change their beds to comfort beds like Four Point Sheraton's.

The gym on Level 10 is almost brand new, with a good range of equipment. It has a good-sized pool. The hotel has placed cosy sitting areas inside the gym, which allows guests to take a rest and enjoy surrounding views.

The breakfast spread is quite limited in variety. However, it was similar at Four Points Sheraton Sydney . . . so it may be the norm in Australia and New Zealand to have a much smaller spread, compared to similar class hotels in Asia

The Kabuki Teppanyaki restaurant inside the hotel is a MUST GO! We have read it was voted Top 50 Restaurants in Auckland in 2008, but was not sure if it was really that good. It was, and exceeded our expectations! The chefs are friendly, have a sense of humor, and highly skilled in their "cooking acrobatics". Besides the fresh food and nice presentation, guests are invited to participate in the cooking by catching eggs, bowls, etc. It was all presented in a fun way, and all the guests on our table greatly enjoyed the whole experience.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Stamford Plaza and would certainly recommend it to our friends! A big "Thank You!" to all the staff, especially the whole team at reception, who have greeted us and made us feel welcome, from the beginning.

And we hope that the rooms would be fully refurnished when we visit the next time!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerdayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

I found this hotel excellent and the location was a good position to see the sites. Only thing I would say the hotel did not have any information on things to do around Auckland had to go to local "I" information centre.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Stayed here at the end of November after a family trip to NZ. Great way to end the holiday. Clean, efficient, spacious and good service. Loved the large reception/bar area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing