We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is freedom within”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“There is freedom within”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Good hotel in excellent location, only a short walk to the Sky Tower, Viaduct and Queen Street
Rooms very modern and a good size with big bathrooms, shower cubical, bath and separate toilet. We had a room on the 10th floor for both our stays. 1008 & 1004, although 1004 had a smaller bed.
Staff very helpful, especially concierges who deserve a mention and a pleasant stay on both visits.
We only spent a few days in Auckland at the start and end of our New Zealand visit which was plenty of time to take in the local sights.
Hop on/off bus gives you a chance to see the local attractions and is an easy way of getting to and from. This starts at the Ferry building and also stops at the Sky Tower which are both only a short walk away.
Short ferry trip over to Devonport and great views of the city from the top of Mount Victoria which is worth the climb.
Plenty of restaurants only a short walk – especially at the Viaduct. Soul was good but Euro definitely best.
Top Tips:
Shuttle bus to and from hotel $35NZ and much cheaper than taxi
Book for Euro to get a reasonable table

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    711
    272
    102
    64
See reviews for
241
897
124
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Had one night here, always a consistently good standard at this hotel. Rooms, gym, pool, service & buffet breaky all good. Great location as the Viaduct, Ferry building & Queen St. are 2 mins walk away. Also got a 1pm checkout which was a bonus. If you haven't been to Auckland before this is a pretty good place to stay to check the central city out by foot.
We were keen to check out the Teppenyaki restaurant at the hotel but it is closed on Sundays. We went to another one on Customs St. called Daikoku which was ok.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Stayed one night in this hotel over the statutory holidays. Got a great deal through Grab One, which included a buffet breakfast and 50% off our dinner at Knights on Albert.
This Hotel is in a great location. Just a short walk to the Viaduct and Queen Street.
The room was a Superior Guest Room, which was modern and quite spacious for a Hotel room and it had a roomy bathroom with a deep bath. It must have had good sound proofing, because it was very peaceful and that combined with the thick curtains we had a relaxing sleep.
The food was delicious and the Restaurant had a great ambiance.
The only gripe I would have is check in took about an hour! A Princess Cruise had just docked, but there was only one staff member on reception. We were later told that they had limited staff due to lunch breaks. They apologised and gave us a coupon each for a free drink, but this is your first impression of a Hotel and a lot of people weren't happy. Some people had to wait up to 2 hours for their room. Fortunately we got ours straight away. Apart from that the staff were very polite and helpful.
The indoor pool and spa was divine.
Parking was $35.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheriebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Not a bad place to stay. Excellent location, clean and a bit business like but this is why I stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Spent a Saturday night at this hotel as a wedding present. On arrival we were impressed with what we saw. Didn't get told what level our room was on so had to guess, the rooms them selves are clean and comfortable with a awesome shower. Reception in our room was crap with lots of fuzzyness. When i think 5 star i think modern and this was not, dark old wooden wardrobe, desk and tv stand. Didn't have much of a view either. Checked out the pool/spa gym which looked great and had the best view (being on the top floor), pity we didn't bring our togs. Got a bit confused about the price for the valet parking the person outside told us $35 the front desk told us $30 the piece of paper that we got from dropping of our keys said $25 but when we paid in the morning it was only $10 which was great. We really enjoyed our stay but i think there may be more modern 5 star accommodation available.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyao0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Overall a great place to stay except our access cards kept failing and we had to traipse all the way back to reception to have them activated. Hotel rooms are a bit dated but we loved the room set up and bathroom. couldn't fault the Valets or concierge but when I ordered room service I had to repeat the order 3 times and at first they told me there was no room number that I quoted - staff on the phones should have a good command of English.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbs333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The Stamford unfortunately didn't quite live up to its name. While the staff at the Stamford were very friendly, the room itself did let the brand's reputation down.

As is typical with many big chains, the foyer and facade of the building look very impressive but once you get into a room you realise that things haven't been updated for quite some time.

The room configuration was quite awkward with a desk placed on a weird angle that almost obstructed access to the right side of the bed. Unlike other hotels, there were no docking stations for iphones/ipods - instead just a super large clock.

Much of the space was taken up by an oversized wardrobe that encased the mini-bar, fridge and a lot of hanging space - probably a little too much for a room of such a small size.

Pros:
- good location
- friendly staff

Cons:
- desperate for an upgrade
- appliances need updating

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eimaj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing