We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, and still scary!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Tower

Sky Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
US$104.25*
and up
SkyWalk Auckland
Ranked #5 of 257 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Auckland's Sky Tower is the tallest structure in the Southern Hemisphere, this tower is more than 300 metres high. Offering stunning views, along with award winning restaurants, a gift shop and an opportunity to push your limits by walking the outside of the viewing platforms, or by jumping off from 192 metres above Auckland's CBD.
Nelson
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great, and still scary!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We did the day and night visit, which is only another $2 to return within 24 hours to see more. My 15yr old son took advantage of my fear of heights by leaning on the glass and standing on the glass floors, but all very safe and thrilling! Plenty of handrails to hold on to if you are scared of heights! Great fun. Good value too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoxyLoxy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,667
    2,863
    756
    100
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sky Tower”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a trip to the top and got some views of Auckland, wasn't too impressed, you would be better of going to Devonport or the volcano at Mt Eden which are free for a 360 degree view of Auckland City. Sky Tower doesn't look finished just bare concrete on the outside for most of the column could be made a lot better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The trip to the top of Sky Tower is absolutely worth the money and the wait. Wow -- a glass-floored elevator so you can see everything underneath you - fantastic!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BellaCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Day Out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

As it was the school holidays we took our granddaughter, aged 5 yrs, into Auckland City to ascend the Sky Tower. Going up in an elevator that you can look through a glass floor at the lift workings is novel. The view from the two viewing decks was awesome. All of Auckland Super City is laid out before one. If you are lucky, which we were, you may see a jumper, on wires, zoom past the viewing window to the landing target in the street below. A sign on the viewing deck informs that a jumper is jumping in 4 mins, 2 mins and 30 secs, so you can take up a position and watch them go past; they move very fast so it is probably difficult to get a photo of it. As it was school holidays they gave out vouchers for free pick & mix sweets at the lolly shop on the top viewing deck, which was greatly enjoy by our little one. Although we enjoyed it we think the cost is a little high for what is on offer - we had a voucher that gave us 2 persons for the price of one, but probably wouldn't have gone had we had to pay for both of us; at 5 our granddaughter is still free. I guess it depends on what one is prepared to pay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“High in the sky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great views of the city 360 degrees stay as long as you like..a good view of habour view and of central auckland souvenirs buy to buy and good photo opportunities.a must if you are in Auckland has restaurant on the top floor

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sky Tower also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sky Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing