We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$27.19*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
More Info
US$34.86*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sea Life Kelly Tarlton’s is New Zealand’s most famous aquarium! It is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans. For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure jump into the shark tank and go snorkeling with 14 massive sharks or jump on the ice and get up close and personal with the King and Gentoo penguins!
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It's a nice day out if you like wild life.. I thought it wad ok the price of the food in the Kelly tarlton's is ridiculous it's so expensive for what it's worth.. I went with my hubby, 5year old and my 21/2 month son at that time.. Wasn't impressed but loved the idea of having a family day out.. It's good to grab this trip/day out when it has specials..

Thank Mrs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTSLA, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are glad you and your family had a great day out. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing. Kelly Tarlton's has high operating costs due to our care of the animals, which is the cornerstone of our operation. Unlike other animal based attractions which receive council funding, Kelly Tarlton's is a private organisation and our sole source of income comes from admissions, which dictates our pricing levels. A great way to save for your next visit is book online and save up to 20% from your general admission ticket. Thank you for your feedback regarding our food, we will look in to this in the near future. We hope to see you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,388 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have been to many penguin enclosures, but I don't think I have visited a better one. The King and Gentoo penguins are very charming and you get right up close to them inside and outside the water. They seem very happy and don't seem to be spooked at all by the public.
The shark tank tunnel and the tank with the sting rays are quite mesmerising - I could watch for ages. We were there when one of the keepers fed the sting rays which was quite something and well worth staying for. It's a great idea that you can stand on the moving floor and circle the shark tank at a steady pace, knowing no one will get in your way. We really loved our visit - even the cafe has a great view of the harbour at sea level. Well worth our trip from Cambridge.

Thank roamingkiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTSLA, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. It is great to hear you had a fantastic time here. Our penguins are very popular and its lovely to hear you enjoyed them too. It is wonderful you got to experience some of our fantastic feedings which happen daily. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great selection of sea creatures., really well set out. The best attraction was the staff member hand feeding the manta rays . , we all learnt alot, really informative and interesting. Loved being able to walk under the sharks and sealife.

Thank misfortune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTSLA, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. Great to hear you enjoyed our stingray hand feed which happens every day at 11am, 1pm and 3pm. We hope you see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Fun day out but needs a general spruce up - looks a bit old and outdated in comparison to aquariums I've seen elsewhere.

Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTSLA, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are glad you had a great visit. Sorry to hear you thought the aquarium looked old, over the past 20 years the aquarium has undergone a series of major redevelopments, the most recent of which was a $6 million upgrade in late 2012. We are continuously finding new ways to update and make new changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

really done well, the penguin area was great - and with the free shuttle from the city it was so easy to get to - kids will love this

Thank timac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTSLA, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. It is great to hear you took advantage of our free shark bus service. We hope you got to experience some of our fantastic animal feedings we have throughout the day. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing