We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“with or without kids”

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.84*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
Ranked #22 of 267 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
Ambala, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“with or without kids”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Must for every tourist
Penquins, we had to go Anatartica or south of Nz and they are right in auckland with us .great sea life. important and interesting facts about other sea creatures

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank narendrermahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, We're glad you enjoyed your visit and the chance to see NZ's only Antarctic penguin colony. We hope you got the chance to enjoy one of our daily popular animal feeds and talks - and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    743
    392
    111
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

i loved this place. lots of fishes never seen before. love penguin. tey have option to stay over there whole night to spend time with fishes under water. place was just amazing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Our sleepovers are a really memorable experience, and we hope you get the chance to attend one of our family events which happen every school holidays. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kelly tarltons”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Kelly Tarltons is a wonderful experience for both adults and children. The addition of a mermaid brought an extra highlight of wonderment to small children. The cafe could be better however.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your visit - we also loved the mermaid too :). We've taken your comments about the cafe onboard and will aim to make improvements where possible. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pricey, Poorly Managed, Dirty and nothing good except cute Penguins”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well I visited this place as one of my mate bought KT tickets in an online deal. She bought it in $24 as compare to normal $35 and I still feel it was expensive.

Place was not well managed and I was in hurry to come out ASAP. The only thing I liked about this place was illusive entrance and Penguins. Would be more than happy to pay $10 or $15 for this.

Unless or until you are really wanna see sea aquarium in NZ only at any cost I wont recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GouravNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. We have taken your comments onboard and passed them on to the relevant people. It would be fantastic if you were able to give us some more details - please email us on info@kellytarltons.co.nz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average and expensive”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Taking two grandkids there really broke the bank. They liked it, but for the money it doesn't compare at all to the zoo where we went yesterday. To top it off, the photos that insist on taking at the front entrance were prepackaged into a souvenir folder which they tried to foist on us for another $35 at the exit.

Sadly, this will be my last visit to this place. The basic premise - be nice to the ocean - is very praiseworthy and I don't want to talk anyone out of visiting, but it's lost its charm over the years and is now a tourist ripoff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yeosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give feedback on your visit. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. We will take your comments onboard and look to improve where possible. We do offer an online discount to make your visit better value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing