We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something smells fishy.. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.00*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
Ranked #21 of 255 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something smells fishy.. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Nah - not here. Great aquarium with many interactive learning tools! Lots of information and well laid out for a comprehensive tour. The sea horse exhibition during our recent visit was excellent! Keep an eye out for the coupon in the entertainment book or on Grabone!

Helpful?
Thank RodLidgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Pleased that you enjoyed the seahorse exhibit, which has the world's only display of Spiny Seadragons. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    767
    711
    372
    109
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must see just for the penguins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

A unique experience, all of the aquarium is underground and although small in stature compared to other aquariums, it packs a lot of amazing creatures and information in. It also includes loads of stuff from the Scott expedition to the Antarctic. Once we got to the King Penguins and the Gentoo, it was feeding time so we got to see the keepers feed them and it was brilliant. Never thought I'd get to see these amazing animals so it's well worth a visit just to see them but the giant rays were also amazing. You can get a free shark-bus ride to the aquarium (i think it runs every half hour from opposite the ferry terminal) and the last bus back to the city is at 3:20ish. Sunday afternoon was a perfect time to go as it was fairly quiet and we got to go around at our leisure.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesAndEmmaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your visit to the aquarium, we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Our penguins are fed twice a day and the time in the afternoon does vary in order to give the penguins some variation so we're glad you got to enjoy it. We also love the Shark bus - it leaves Auckland City every hour on the half hour. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“needs an update”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

What is not to love about watching the sea life and animals at an aquarium! The King Penguins and the sting rays were wonderful to watch. I am writing a review because overall I was very disappointed at the conditions and overall spirit at the facility. Few staff were on hand to offer direction or insight except in the gift shop and frankly the employees looked tired and bored.The daily feeds were supposed to be a highlight, but the microphone system did not work in either of the two that I observed. Frustrating! I really wanted to hear and learn, but alas, they failed here too. The place needs a paint job, a face lift, and better conditions for the residents there, especially for the high price that they charge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dzdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Kelly Tarlton's does have a commitment to continuous improvement and new attractions, and will be launching a major new area this summer. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit, it would be great if you could contact us directly with more details so we can ensure we improve for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nicely done, nice location. Kids love it. Be prepared to que though if you don't pre buy your tickets. It is quite expensive but worth it once in awhile

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rochellep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your visit. For the best value tickets, do book online, that also gives you access to the faster prepaid queue :). We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambala, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“with or without kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Must for every tourist
Penquins, we had to go Anatartica or south of Nz and they are right in auckland with us .great sea life. important and interesting facts about other sea creatures

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank narendrermahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, We're glad you enjoyed your visit and the chance to see NZ's only Antarctic penguin colony. We hope you got the chance to enjoy one of our daily popular animal feeds and talks - and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing