We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments
Ranked #21 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

PrincessFisky, you hit the nail on the head! 2 weeks in this place for business was 2 weeks too long. In 2 weeks, they have "forgotten" to clean my room twice. Once they rocked up there to clean it at 2.45pm in the afternoon. In 2 weeks, they have not changed my sheets once. I called through to reception and asked for some ice and was told "I dont think we have any, I'll have to call you back" never did. The first week I was there, I couldnt get parking (supposed to be included) Had to park the hire car on the pavement out the front. Smelly, outdated, overpriced and very disappointing. I am not sure where these other reviews come from but my recommendation is, get some cleaners that do their job properly and a refurb would be great

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestAuckland, General Manager at Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Your room was serviced daily with a linen change every 3 days which is inline with Quest policy, with the exception of one weekend where your room was “Do not disturb” and you were requesting privacy. I apologize that this linen change was not picked up and moved to the next day.

I’m very surprised to hear that you had to park on the footpath?!
Our Car parking is complimentary and whilst limited, we have never run out of parking for our guests. However we do have a large forecourt, so we can always find our guests a space if they let us know they have a problem.

I am disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

I am pleased to say that the majority of the time, we are able to fix any problems immediately, which is how we have built ourselves a good reputation and how we maintain the good relationships we have with our guests.

We take all of your comments seriously and will definitely sit down with house keeping to discuss how we can improve our systems and retrain the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    108
    49
    11
    16
See reviews for
54
84
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

It's about time the Quest Auckland got a review from me as they are always the BEST hotel to stay at if you are visiting central Auckland. Great deals with free parking and continental breakfast. Also complimentary monring paper if desired. The customer service from the reception staff is always very friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem. Rooms are immaculate as well, and they have recently given the rooms a makeover with new furniture and linen etc. My favourite hotel :o)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank librarychicknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronte Park, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

$184 for a 1 bedroom apartment seems like excellent value for money however the quality of these apartments overall and the overpowering smoking/fake airfreshener smell is something I would expect from a hostel. So disappointed that I could have stayed in a secret 5* hotel deal for $154 yet chose to pay a little extra as have had good experiences with quest apartments in Australia. Here on business and really needed to relax after an early start and important meeting next morning however I don't think I will be getting much sleep or feeling that fresh as I am struggling to breathe. Have changed rooms twice and my colleague has experienced the same smell/discomfort. The only positive thing I can say about this place is that the front desk staff are absolutely delightful and had outstanding customer service and tried to make our stay more comfortable. I can't believe the positive reviews on this property and I also cannot believe that they have a 4.5 trip advisor rating.

Room Tip: Viewed four rooms and all have had this overpowering horrible smell. Don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessFisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestAuckland, General Manager at Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations; but I am pleased that our reception team did their best to help and offered great customer service which is one of the things we pride ourselves on.

We try our best to keep the hotel smoke free but unfortunately some people will still flaunt that rule and smoke in the room. Our usual process would be to put the room out of order and thoroughly clean/air out to get rid of the smell. As we and all of town were fully booked this did not happen, we couldn’t move anyone and obviously we did not do a good enough job of getting the smell out. I can only apologise for this.
I was surprised to hear that you thought all of our rooms had a bad smell; we have recently changed cleaning products, so I will look at this and see if that is the cause of our fake air freshener problem.

I appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as we can not improve if we do not know where we are going wrong.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next stay in Auckland to show you that your experience is not the norm for Quest Auckland.

Kind Regards, Greg Cohen, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We travel from Tauranga regularly to stay in Auckland and have tried a variety of accomodation but the Auckland Quest is our favourite.Wonderful friendly,helpful staff.The option of breakfast in your room or in the cafe(or both!!!) included in your price. Parking is also included and is often an added cost at other hotels.There is also a small library in the cafe.

Room Tip: Parkside as high up as possible.1 bedroom gives plenty of space for a longer stay but studios are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin11457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Great location, lovely staff and cosy, clean and well equipped rooms.
Stayed here with friends. We made a mistake with one of our bookings but the staff were fantastic in helping us out. Extended our stay and we were given the same price we had received through a booking deal online. No complaints. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Went here for a business trip and it was very homey. Staff at the Restaurant for breakfast were really friendly and knew our names! Just a bit of a snafu when we checked in and waited at the lobby for about 15-20 minutes because no one was at the front desk. The staff turned out to have brought a hotel guest upstairs. Aside from the long wait, other staff were really friendly and helpful.

One thing though was the comforter at the room had strands of hair on it (that obviously weren't mine).

Good enough if you're not snippy. Over-all had a friendly hotel staff, good location and I had a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinkypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

This Quest is somewhat dated, having stayed here on several occasions for business and pleasure, I would only recommend for location alone. Service is minimal, not personal by any means and the rooms need a good clean as its scarce cleanliness from the three rooms I've stayed in over the past six months.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestAuckland, General Manager at Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Hi Wellyfoodie007,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback as with out it, we do not know where we can improve.
I was disappointed to hear that you were not please with your room, if ever you feel something isn't right please come and see us so we can fix it.
A high level of customer service and cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on and our guests have come to expect from us.
We absolutely will be taking your comments on board making sure that attention to detail is key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments

Property: Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments
Address: 363 Queen Street | Auckland CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments. Quest Auckland is a brilliant accommodation choice for travelers and families as it is situated in the heart of Auckland's Central Business District within walking distance of the Aotea conference exhibition centre, Auckland Town Hall, Civic Theater, Sky City and the best restaurant and shopping districts. Our surprisingly quiet central location on Queen Street is also close to government offices,universities and a short drive gives you easy access to Auckland's motorway network and outlying suburbs. The serviced apartments also have fully equipped kitchens & laundry facilities, private balcony and room control air conditioning. Our onsite restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and we have offsite gym facilities offered complimentary to guests. On site car parking is also available at a seperate cost. Our warm reception team are available 24 hours for assistance and are able to assist with concierge services as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Hotel Auckland
Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing