We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, friendly accommodation.”
Review of Quest on Mount

Quest on Mount
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quest on Mount
Ranked #65 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed in a Quest apartment April after buying a deal on wotif.com. Spacious room with modern facilities, it makes such a difference having a kitchen/washer/drier! One doesn't get that claustrophobic hotel-room feeling in their apartments.
They are located in the university at the edge of town, easy walking to all the city attractions (including the Quay, sky city, K-road), and on a nice day it's a lovely walk through the botanical gardens to the Museum. Amazing view over the city to the water and mountains!
Very quiet street with fast food, internet cafe's, little shops just around the corner, there was some mechanical noise from the neighbouring building during the night (large air con unit maybe?) but it didn't bother us too much.
Andrew and Graham at the front desk were FANTASTIC!! Happy to stop for a chat and offered many helpful suggestions for getting the most out of our visit without spending a fortune.

Will definitely be staying there again next time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here over the easter break, April 6 to 9. The location was in a very narrow street and in amongst uni apartments which made it very difficult as the street was FULL of their cars coming and going all day long. Very noisy with the loud cheers from their rooms as it echoes throughout the day AND NIGHT!!
Our room was on the 11th floor and still you can here everything. Referring to comments left by others, it's so true! The building next to the hotel has it's main air con unit generator on the roof which goes on early moring to late and has a high pitch sound that is loud. Only good thing about the location is that it was not too far from the cbd.
All the above would of been fine if our room had air-con as we could of kept the balcony door and windows closed but we didn't have air-con so had to leave it opened thought out the afternoon/evening as the morning sun had heated up the room, there were no block out blinds only metal venetians. Now I don't work in the hotel industry but wouldnt you think that if a room does not have air-con and is facing the morning sun, wouldn't you put in block out blinds?? (just common sense in my opinion).
Further to all this is the smell of the uni students cooking, at times it was very potent to the nose.
Also the car park was VERY tight and narrow even for the hyundai i30 that we had hired, and for $15.00 a day I think that's a bit much!
All in all I think they should just sell off the building to the uni as that's what the entire street is, student accommodation.
It's a bit intimidating pulling up to the car park of the hotel and walking around when there are groups on uni students of up to 10-15 just standing around smoking, talking at the top of their lungs and of middle eastern, maylasian and general Asian background. (just want to add that I'm not a racist, just worried)
Defiantly not a place for a tourist to stay I would say.
Can't say much for the staff and service as it was Easter holidays and it was like a ghost town on reception floor front desk was closed most of our visit. I would like to think that regardless of this one would still have staff on?
Never again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyho84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Details for after hours entry were perfect. Room was very clean and well appointed. Huge comfy bed. Very friendly competent manager. Only downside was the noisy air conditioning compressor coming from the roof of neighbouring AUT building. Maybe management can make a complaint to them. Highly recommend Angies kitchen - the restaurant next door. Car parking ($) in the undeground carpark was a bit tight, but great to get the car off the busy road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyloo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The room was reasonably sized with everything we needed (although we didn't really use the kitchen and laundry facilities). The curtains didn't quite block out enough light in the mornings but that wasn't a huge deal for us. Bathroom did smell a little funny - not sure if it was the shower/sink not draining properly or the toilet not flushing well.

The staff were brilliant - Andrew was very friendly and extremely helpful (phoned up about how to do an after hours check in, and everything was as it was meant to be) and the next morning made us coffee and made sure we were happy with breakfast.

The free continental breakfast with our room was decent - your usual toast, spreads (although would have liked more than just jam/honey e.g. peanut butter, marmite etc), yoghurt, fruit cups and beverages.

Good location for going into town and lots of food places nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannelin137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This hotel is opposite a student accommodation complex. The students have no regard for anyone and scream and shout all night. We were on one of the top floors and could still hear them! The building has scaffolding and major works in progress. That noise starts at 8am weekdays - needless to say we didn't get much sleep. Be prepared for the hill on the way back from the main street. This area has too many smokers and students. Most of the internet places in the area are filled with smokers and are filthy and English is a second language! Back to the hotel, our room was not serviced for almost a week, rubbish and towels were not emptied or replaced. This was not made clear to us when we made the booking. Breakfast is included if you stay more than 2 nights. Reception is not open in the evening. The balcony is 3 inches wide. Will not be booking this hotel ever again.

Room Tip: Between the students and the building works, forget it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LineiLovesKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Quest on Mount (13 Mount Street Auckland) is officially a leaky building and major reconstruction is going on. Scaffolding the entire side of the building which will last a long time!. It is very very noisy!! Builders on site all day at least 6 days a week (early morning till late).

Room Tip: Don't stay here it is a leaky building. You will never have any peace or quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

this has always been my preferred place to stay for business trips in auckland. have probably stayed here up to 10 times. location is good, room has everything i need. clean, safe, central. just wanted to say that cause the other reviews were poor. recommended a colleague stay there and she like it too

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paikea35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,585 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Mount

Address: 15 Mount Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £89 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Mount 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Quest On Mount Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing