We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here overnight when transiting from LA to Melbourne, we booked online for a very cheap rate.

Having stayed in Auckland before down at the Viaduct we were keen to avoid that area due to the excessive noise of partygoers into the wee hours of the morning. This is the reason we chose Rydges. Glad we did, its down a side street, a few blocks from the waterfront and a short walk from Queens street so we experienced no noise at all!

The location is great, close to Skytower, Queen Street and the Viaduct. Plenty of shops and restaurants a five or 10 minute walk away. Very easy to get to from the airport, Staff were great, friendly and helpful.

The room was great we had two double beds which were very comfortable. Very tidy and modern.

Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwimeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hello,

I am so pleased to read that Rydges Auckland was everything you were hoping it would be. We are located in the central city but down a side street which does mean less noise from the traffic and people below, but yes still very close to everything you may want to see and do in the city. I am glad you found this to be the case and I hope you were able to have a relaxing night after such a long flight from LA.

I do hope you stay with us again very soon.

Warm regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    865
    285
    89
    29
See reviews for
267
828
138
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Much nicer than the Rydges Wellington hotel.The king bed was very comfy, the rooms and hotel in general was very modern and stylish (although the room could have been a little bigger). Lovely, helpful receptionist helped me book a couple of tours and a car during my stay (blonde English girl). Very nice breakfast, however it was rather expensive! I am looking forward to stay at the Rydges Auckland again when i return to Auckland at the end of the year.

Room Tip: Deluxe Harbourview rooms are quiet and have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found our reception staff to be most helpful, we do love to help our guests in any way they need. I hope you enjoyed your tours.

I look forward to welcoming you back again at the end of the year, until then please take care.

With warm regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

In contrast to Rydges at Rotorua this place was great. Huge comfy King beds , modern room with quiet air con, large TV with extra channels. Bathroom was clean and modern although the toilet was crammed up next to the shower and my 6'5 partner could not have his knees out straight- you had to be there!Breakfast included - we had a special rate of $169 NZ- was he best breakfast I have had in NZ. Wifi still expensive at about 40cents per min was my only complaint.
Join their free club, as we did, and got a late check out of 1pm! Sensational.
Parking was not included and is very limited and expensive in the city.

Room Tip: Jonn their free Rydges club for upgrades and late check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Rydges Auckland – I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations in many ways and were able to serve you the best breakfast in New Zealand!

Our bathrooms will be soon going through a large refurbishment so hopefully the next time you stay with us your partner will be much more comfortable.
You are correct about the late checkout when joining Rydges Priority Guest but don’t forget about the discounts when booking online and of course the 20% on food and beverage.

I do hope you come stay with us again and we will do our best to give you another sensational experience.

With best wishes,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The room at Rydges was good,the hotel location was convenient for CBD and Sky Tower, the staff were efficient and polite but the continental breakfast at STK restaurant was below the standard you would expect from this hotel with sorry looking fruit variety accompanied by dry, disappointing pastries and it was well overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review on Rydges Auckland, i am so pleased to read that our rooms and location met with your expectations. I do apologise for your lacklustre breakfast you received in the morning, pleased be assured that has been bought to the attention of the food and beverage department as this is not the high standard we usually pride our selves on.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland soon,

Kind regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

On arrival in hotel room, 4 of the light bulbs dead and safe battery likewise. After several trips down to Reception, having had no response via room 'phone, it took 2 visits by maintenance over the next 24 hours to remedy these defects.
After excursion on 2nd day, we returned to find our courtesy tea/coffee tray had been cleared away, but not replaced. Took 2 visits by Housekeeping to remedy this so we hesitated to mention spare loo roll also needed replacing.

On first evening, our party kept for an hour by Hotel sales manager extolling how valued the Saga (tour operators) but then proceeded to dining room where it took an hour before meal orders (from small set menu) were taken and then further half hour before first starters began to appear.

On second night, much faster sevice - only one hour in all between order being taken and food appearing. I tried to order a rare steak but only 'medium' or 'well done' available, presumably because steaks had been pre-cooked and then defrosted.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walreagis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hello,

I do apologise that the beginning of your New Zealand trip was disappointing for you, but I do appreciate you bringing these concerns to my attention. The lack of service you received regarding your maintenance and housekeeping requests is unacceptable and has been bought to the attention of the departments for review.
Regarding your steak dinner in STK I can assure you that the steaks are not pre-cooked and then defrosted before serving.
I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in New Zealand and I hope we can welcome you back soon.
With kind regards,

Quenton Donald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was a very good hotel in the centre of town. Staff were friendly and the food and service good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbay449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your thoughts on Rydges Auckland, I do hope you had a wonderful time in town and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
170 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

If you are looking for a well appointed hotel at a reasonable price in Central Auckland this one is hard to beat.
The rooms are nice and beds are comfortable and the service is friendly and timely.
The views out of some of the rooms are so so though as next door is a big apartment block where you will witness all sorts of things going on but in the time we were there nothing objectionable so its a minor one really.
The hotel is about 2 minutes walk to Sky City and about 10 minutes to downtown.
If you like to self cater there is a Countdown supermarket on Victoria Street, about 5 minutes walk from Rydges.
However you are arriving in Auckland the location of the hotel is good as its about 15 minutes walk from the port if arriving by cruise boat,5 minutes walk from the Intercity bus terminal in the basement of Sky City and if arriving on the Airport bus the nearest stop is on Queen Street which is about 10 minutes walk.
So I would definitely stay here again if in Central Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hi there,

I am so pleased to read that Rydges Auckland met with your expectations and you would decide to come and stay with us again the next time you are in Auckland; we would love to welcome you back.

The hotel is in a great location and I hope you were able to utilise this during your stay to see as much of the city as possible while here.
We hope to welcome you back soon,

Regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges

Property: Rydges
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing