We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to central Auckland”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have just stayed one night (Saturday)at Rydges Hotel in Federal Street Auckland.
We found the staff very nice and helpful.We had got the room at a special rate which included a fully cooked breakfast.This rate was appropriate for the room,(which was clean, and roomy(,the King superior room)We probably would not pay full price for this room .Be aware that there is an extra charge for the car park.$20, or $30 to use the valet service ,which is ok considering the price of parking in Auckland and the rip off 'towies" that prowl like sharks.
The closeness to the central city is a plus for us and we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I do hope you had a great Saturday night out in town and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
With Best wishes,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

i arrived at 0500 hours and I thought i would have to wait but no I was settled into the hotel room in to no time. Marvelous! Location was wonderful and I could walk all over downtown. Very friendly staff and nice room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yippeimgoinngonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your great review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased we were able to get you your room straight away and you had a great time exploring the city.
I hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We were booked through the tour operator. The location was good, in the sense that the harbour was not too far. The Sky Tower is only a few blocks away.
The room was good, but the bathroom could have been better. The shower area lead to the main bathroom floor and got preety wet on using the shower. There was no shower tray or partition between the shower and the main bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chander_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you mentioned the bathroom in your review as we are currently renovating all our older bathrooms with new showers and other amenities due to guests comments and reviews. I hope the next time you visit you get to see the great work that is being completed.
With best regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Recent 2 night stay on holidays. Easy walk to Viaduct, wharf, Skytower and shopping district. Staff were very helpful with good local knowledge. Loved the beds, pillows good too. The room was a bit tight but enough for the two of us. A few scuffs here and there on walls but very comfortable stay. $22 for parking at the carpark across the road (per exit- we parked for 3 days so still only $22)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found our location and the staff great for your short holiday in town and of course our wonderful beds! I hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon for another short break.
Regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the last year ( about 15) and for me the best thing is the beds. I always have a great nights sleep here. Have been in many rooms all over the hotel and have found it to be a quiet hotel. Also the location is excellent for the downtown Auckland experience. Also don't forget to join their loyalty programme as you will get discounted room rates and a free drink on each stay. The staff are always helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it is always great to hear from our returning guests, especially when they always have a great night sleep.
I hope we can continue to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland well into the future.
With kindest regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Had a recent stay at Rydges in Auckland for business, and I must say that the staff are friendly and exceptionally helpful - nice clean spacious rooms and a nice little bar area to relax in also.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jezza-milly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and you enjoyed your room and the bar. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Best regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

3 Blocks to the harbor...Ferries, dining, cruise ships. Less than 2 blocks to SkyCity Casino and Tower.
Comfortable room. Free WiFi. Initially we were told our room was not available, but showed the front desk a coupon I had printed before leaving home for an upgrade, and room was immediately available. Joining Rydges Priority Club is free.
VERY helpful front desk staff.
Breakfast was OK. Specialty coffee available from server, but regular American coffee is available near the entrance. The couple sitting next to us had to point it out. Server acted as if she didn't understand so we would order a pricey cup.
Auckland is VERY hilly.. my husband uses a wheelchair, so it was difficult to walk too far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found our location to be so close to everything you wanted to see and do in town. You are right about the city, it is extremely hilly and it would make it difficult to get around in a wheelchair.
I do hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Warm wishes,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing