We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great start to our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great start to our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here for our first 2 nights in NZ. The location was gerat - walking distance to many great places. The buffet breakfast was great. We stayed in 2 different rooms due to an issue in the first room - the 2nd room was much bigger (but didn't have a great view). Big enough for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids (6 and 3). The service we received was fantastic. Would stay again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it sounds like you had a great time with the family while in town and I am so pleased we were able to contribute to the start of your holiday. I do hope the rest of your holiday was excellent and the kids behaved themselves!
I do hope we can welcome you and your family back to Rydges Auckland very soon.

Best wishes,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    888
    290
    89
    32
See reviews for
275
852
140
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Concierge - attentive
Room size - good
Bathroom - clean and good shower
Valet parking - cheaper than parking in the carpark next door

Initially a bit tricky to find Federal Street in Auckland with the one way direction flow of some streets, but location is convenient!

Room Tip: Become a member of their loyalty club, which is free, to receive further discounts when making a boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_sensei83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your room and found our location to be convenient for your needs in town. I hope the rest of your NZ trip fantastic and I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.

With kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently for 3 nights for work and its a pretty nice place to stay. Clean, modern but feels pretty sterile - I'm not a fan of corporate hotels. The only thing I find irritating about this place is the lousy WiFi connection. In this day and age where people have more than one device across different platforms this is really inadequate. The free service is pointless and proved more frustrating and the paid premium service times out after a certain amount of data download. My be its a NZ thing but I'm a global traveller and expect more

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hello,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, we take all our reviews very seriously so I thank you for your comments on the wif and as such you would be pleased to know this is in the process of being upgraded.
I am so pleased you found the hotel to be clean and modern and I hope we can welcome you back to Rdydges Auckland very soon.

Regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. Nice clean rooms. Great selection at breakfast. Great location - just a short walk to Sky tower and harbour. Good to get a comfy bed after a very long flight!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you touched on all the things we are so very proud of at Rydges Auckland, from the extremely helpful staff, to great food in the restaurant, our location and our fantastic beds.
I do hope you had a wonderful time in New Zealand while you were here, I see from your reviews you went all over so I do hope you really got to have a great Kiwi experience.
Would love to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland soon.

Best wishes,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We got a good price and booked for three nights at the end of our holiday. The rooms were quiet, clean but lacking in kitchen equipment. The hotel is situated very close to the main street, and as appears to be the "norm" in Auckland, valet parking is extra. The room amenities were top class. The only slight problem was we had to chase up housekeeping to service our room as it had not been done by 3.30pm

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robrid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I do hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand and you were able to see and do as much as possible.
I do hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.

With kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonNZ
Level Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

It was a last minute decision to stay here..but when I saw they had a great deal on their website I couldnt resit.
I phoned first to check on the type of room I would get as I really wanted to make sure I got a room with a Dream Bed. Carina looked after me and when I arrived the next day she had loaded into the system my request. Bed was great by the way and the linen on the bed was beautiful.

My room was devine. I had a Superior King room.
Nice decor and lots of room. I liked the large desk and comfortable office chair that would make working at night much easier. The Bathroom was a unique design I had not seen before in a hotel but it worked really well. I especially liked the hurraicane shower.

The resturant very good. The Waitress (American or Canadian) was a real delight and had a great sense of humour. I had dinner with a friend and our only complaint (if you can call it that) was the meals were huge. So next time I will just order two starters.

Rydges Auckland is easy to find off the Auckland motorway. (Follow the directions on the website) and its a quick walk to Queen street and close to the Viaduct.

My one recommendation is that I would like more hooks in the bathroom.

As a note: I ran into quite a few staff when I was staying here...and from reception, to kitchen, to the lady I met in the lift cleaning the mirrors, the staff were friendly and professional and it was a credit to Rydges.

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto an apartment complex and you can see into everyones rooms. Its Ok...but can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it sounds like you had a fantastic time with us and I am so pleased to read you found all the staff to be friendly and professional – they really are a great asset to Rydges Auckland.
The dreams beds really are wonderful and prove to give great night sleeps to our guests, we get many great comments on them so I am pleased you loved them too.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.

Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Rydges is a high quality hotel with a great location and a superb view of the Skytower. Its reception staff very friendly, warm and helpful. The housekeeping staff was great. As we stayed there with a toddler, the only room for improvement is a microwave facility for heating up food or milk for our toddler. I definitely would recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you and your family had a great stay with us and found the staff and hotel to be very friendly, warm and helpful. I can understand that travelling with a toddler poses some hurdles sometimes (I have a 3 year old and another on the way), so we will do our very best at the hotel to help with any requirements you may need, just let us know.

With warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing