We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location. Superb valet staff. Poor room service.”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Asia, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Excellent location. Superb valet staff. Poor room service.”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

LOCATION: Excellent location. Easily accessible by car. A short walk to all restaurants and Auckland’s main streets. Excellent valet parking service, NZD 30 per day.

HOTEL: Very friendly, fast check-in. Bright, clean room. Good beds and pillows. Good shower. A bit noisy at night. We ordered food to our room one evening, but after a thirty-minute wait, we made another call to follow up our order. We were informed that our order had never been passed on to the kitchen, hence there would be another thirty-minute wait before our food could be delivered to the room. They offered the food free of charge, but we declined. We had lost our appetite that evening.

CONCLUSION: Courteous, efficient valet staff. Poor room service.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I would firstly like to apologies for your room service experience, this is certainly unacceptable. There is no excuse for not passing on an order and I feel terrible that you did not get to enjoy a lovely meal during your evening, please be assured that this will be discussed with staff to ensure this remains an isolated incident.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your room, the beds and pillows are just wonderful and constantly raved about by our guests.
I hope the next time you come stay with us you get to enjoy our fantastic food from our STK restaurant, the food is wonderful and I'm sorry you missed out on your last visit.
With warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    924
    297
    93
    32
See reviews for
289
883
143
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed two nights in a deluxe room. It was not great. The King Bed was not American standard. The shower was poor with only one towel hook. There were no towel bars or hooks in the sink area. The windows were very poor: one up about height level that would have a bit of a view and the other full length one facing into another wing. The location was quite central, but since Aukland is very hilly, it was some real exercise going to the waterfront or shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I hope you had a wonderful time exploring the city, as you mentioned the hotel is very central and so close to some great shopping and the beautiful waterfront. I do apologies that your stay with us was not as great as your were expecting but I hope we can have the chance to change your view the next time we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We come up for our 20 th wedding Ann so we went all out & paid big bucks we had 3 nights & got a huge room well 3 rooms lounge/ bed room huge bathroom 2 basins very nice 2 shower heads & very nice treats in bath room exfoliating scrub facial wash body lotion shower gel & soap from body shop I was in bathroom bliss (; modern as !!! huge wardrobe 2 big flat screen tv s stress less chair lounge suit desk wee treats on the bed every night we were really impressed only let down was the view but we got over that very quickly as the room made up for it & we were out & about . Only other thing that wouldnt go a miss would be more tea & coffee selection eg plunger would top it off . We had breakfast every morning nice good start to your day (;

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland and congratulations on your 20th wedding anniversary! I am so pleased we could be a part of your celebrations and help make it just that little bit more special for your trip away. I hope your 3 night city retreat was just fabulous for you and I hope we can be part of more fun trips away.
Regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahipara, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Got a mystery wotif deal for 129. Was disappointed that it was rydges as per reviews. The staff were welcoming, my room was modern and well equipped. Yes it is a concrete jungle but it is inner city so... Comfy bed nice pillows nice shower if a little small. Had a nice wine in a relaxed bar atmosphere that night and a fab breakfast if somewhat on the expensive side, the restaurant is beautifully decorated. I chose valet parking but parking in every inner city hotel is extra and expensive and usually seperated. Il be back for sure and I hope it will live up to my last visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSafarisTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased we were able to deliver to you more than what you were expecting on your recent stay with us and I hope we can more than live up to it on your next. Our STK Lounge Bar and Restaurant is a lovely place to relax at the end of an evening with a glass of wine; or a stunning dinner which I hope you will try then next time you stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahipara, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Got a mystery wotif deal for 129. Was disappointed that it was rydges as per reviews. The staff were welcoming, my room was modern and well equipped. Yes it is a concrete jungle but it is inner city so... Comfy bed nice pillows nice shower if a little small. Had a nice wine in a relaxed bar atmosphere that night and a fab breakfast if somewhat on the expensive side, the restaurant is beautifully decorated. I chose valet parking but parking in every inner city hotel is extra and expensive and usually seperated. Il be back for sure and I hope it will live up to my last visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSafarisTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased we were able to deliver to you more than what you were expecting on your recent stay with us and I hope we can more than live up to it on your next. Our STK Lounge Bar and Restaurant is a lovely place to relax at the end of an evening with a glass of wine; or a stunning dinner which I hope you will try then next time you stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is a reasonably priced, comfortable modern hotel in the centre of Aukland.
The food in the restaurant was quite good, but many dishes were a little over priced.
Breakfast is buffet style and very good - but again expensive.

We enjoyed our stay here but the hotel let themselves down when we needed their help. We left a purse with cash and 2 credit cards in the room safe. when we phoned the hotel seemed uninterested. They "eventually" phoned back - once, after our 4 calls to them, to say they did not find anything but would continue looking - they never phoned back. Our fault for leaving the purse - but would have expected more urgency and help from this type of Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cctlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you enjoyed the food in our STK Restaurant, the enthusiastic staff love offering high quality meals for our guests so I'm glad you enjoyed them both for dinner and breakfast.
I do apologies for your less than helpful experience with your lost purse, I can assure you that all lost property is put on a very high priority to be found and returned to our guests as soon as possible. I hope you did eventually have your purse returned to you before heading back to the UK.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland on your return trip to New Zealand.
With kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We flew in at 6am and the hotel had our room ready for us. The rooms are smaller but very modern, clean, and comfortable. Shopping and the water are very short walks away. This is a great place to stay if you have a stop-over in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicloveboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. It’s always nice to be able to go straight to a room after a long flight so I am so pleased that when you arrived so early a room was ready and waiting for you.
I hope your next stay with us is not too far away.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing