We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic 5 days in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic 5 days in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

No complaints on this hotel. First night the room had a not so private view facing an apt complex. Next morning we asked if we could move to a room with better view. By end of the day we had our new room with a fantastic view of the harbor & bridge & sky tower. Rooms were very clean (i'm very picky),bed& bedding comfortable altho king bed in NZ is queen bed in US. Staff always professional. Concierge Neilven was most helpful & friendly throughout our 5 day stay. Gave us good tips on where to go, how to get there,etc without making us feel as tho we were bothering him. . We would definitely stay here again. It's in a fantastic location downtown and safe & clean.. Highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: request room with a view if possible. makes a huge difference if you like to have the curtains open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I hope your 5 days in Auckland were filled with wonderful and exciting experiences, there is so much to see and do so I hope you were able to fit it all in. The staff at Rydges Auckland truly love what they do so revel in the opportunity to help our guests get the best experience they can out of their visit to the city.
I hope your next visit is not too far away.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    888
    290
    89
    32
See reviews for
275
852
140
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay and want thank the staff that looked after us yesterday and today. The rooms were comfortable, modern and clean. We experienced quick and responsive room service. The gym is small but with modern machines. In particular we want to thank Terence for his welcoming yesterday and care today as we waited for a package and worked in the restaurant area. The risotto was excellent and great for vegetarians and gluten intolerance.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank heart_to_heart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I am so pleased to read you had a truly lovely stay with us during your business trip to Auckland. I will most certainly pass on your warm comments regarding the staff to them as they love making each and every one of our guests’ experiences great and memorable.
With kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived in NZ very early and weren't able to get into our rooms until 2pm. The rooms were very clean and the beds were VERY comfortable. We had breakfast included in our room price and it was superb with loads of choices ranging from hot to cold. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sickmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It certainly looks like we ticked many of your boxes for a great experience at Rydges Auckland! We get so many lovely comments on our very comfortable beds so I am pleased you found this too. We have been working on new ideas and concepts to improve our daily buffet breakfast options so I was thrilled reading you found it superb and loved the range of choices on offer.
Thank you for your review, I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The room that we have been given had a great view. It was spacious and had a great bed. Location is unbeatable, free wi-fi was working perfectly. Wouldn't look for another hotel if I am ever to go back to Auckland in near future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeisabouttravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I hope you will be in Auckland again in the very near future as we would love to welcome you back! It’s so lovely to read about your great experiences with us and I love that we are your preferred hotel when in Auckland.
Warm regards
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, it just seemed they could not do enough for you. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean, as well as the bathroom.
Location was great, from our window we could see the Tower and people bungi jumping.
Certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sorry I cannot remember our room number, but they all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zepyhred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the staff you met during your stay with us at Rydges Auckland, I will most definitely let them know you appreciated all their efforts. It’s so great to be able to see the thrill seekers bravely leap from the Sky Tower from your room, were they able to inspire you to give it a try? Whenever I build up the nerve to give it a go I suddenly have something very important to take care of first... maybe one day.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here on business. The rooms were medium sized, but I had a lovely corner room with windows on 2 sides and it was just lovely. Modern, impeccably clean, lovely bathroom. Sitting at the desk doing work with the city lights around me was very enjoyable. The concierge Terrence was wonderful, very personal service. The restaurant too makes this a great option. Best lamb Ive eaten in years.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I am so pleased you found your room just lovely for your recent business trip to Auckland, the city lights are very impressive especially on a nice clear evening.
Our menu in our stk Lounge Bar and Restaurant is wonderful, and yes the lamb dish is definitely one to write home about and I am so pleased you enjoyed it.
I will pass on your lovely comments to Terrance and the Restaurant team and we will all look forward to your next stay with us.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Well situated comfy and inexpensive hotel with good views from some rooms. Town centre is literally down the street with lots of eating and shopping options. The harbour is less than half a mile away and is a "must see" with some superb eating places. If you like maritime things you'll be in heaven. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bralinsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
The Viaduct is definitely a must see when visiting Auckland, especially now that the weather is starting to warm up it is an extremely pleasant place to relax and watch the Harbour – and being just down the street from the hotel as you mentioned, it is very easy and quick to walk to.
Thank you for your review and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing