We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works really well”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have just spent three nights here and have very much enjoyed the experience. We had a very nice room on the 13th floor overlooking the Sky Tower which is a very dominant city landmark. Below this is one of the stops on the City bus sightseeing tour which is excellent.The hotel is centrally located with easy access to restaurants in both the city and at the marina which is five minute walk away. Breakfast has the usual large hotel buffet with a good range of choice. This establishment can be confidently recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Goodltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

It certainly sounds like you were able to experience so much of the great things Auckland has to offer in the your 3 days in town and it’s perfect that the hotel is so close to just about all of it! Thank you so much for your confident recommendation and I sincerely hope we have the pleasure of your stay with us again in the very near future.
Kindest regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here in August on our first night in Auckland on a week's break. Staff were very efficient and room was adequate, although somewhat on the small and cramped side. Bed as always for Rydges was very comfortable and bathroom was clean and sufficient. Everything was clean and ok for a one night stay. Room was an odd shape and difficult to get around suitcases etc comfortably. Would stay here again as all we wanted was a comfortable bed after an early flight. Restaurant was good value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the next level if you are staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

I hope your week long holiday was just the break you were after and I am so pleased we could be your first stop. Our beds really are wonderful and we get so many great comments about them, I’m glad you liked them too.
I hope your next break is not too far away as we would love to have back very soon.
Warm regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

For the low price we paid, we couldn't have been happier with the spacious and comfortable room. The location is within walking distance of all downtown sights. Our two nights were very relaxing and we would stay again if we return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyMK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review from your recent stay with us at Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you were able to have a very relaxing and comfortable couple of days away and I hope you get the chance to stay again with us very soon.
Kind regards.
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Have stayed here three times now for very good reasons.
Excellent service, great location and well appointed rooms and public facilities.
Will definitely make it a 4th stay on my next trip across the ditch

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hoping your next trip across the ditch is not too far away as we would love to welcome you back for your 4th stay with us very soon. I am so pleased we are your hotel of choice when visiting Auckland and I hope we can keep you coming for many more visits to come.
Kindest regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My sister and I booked a twin room for 5 days and were very pleased with our room. The beds were great and there was plenty of room to move.
Bathroom was adequate with everything you need.

We found that room service was quite reasonable and we ordered some food a few times. Just as expensive as going out for a meal.

The staff were always so helpful and polite. Anything we needed was no trouble at all. Even the valet service was really good. A little pricy but not completely unreasonable.

The only setback was that we weren't able to get into our room straightaway even though we'd arrived at 2pm. But soon enough we were able to relax in our room after our early morning flight.

Thanks very much Rydges Auckland for a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

You are very welcome for your very pleasant experience with us at Rydges Auckland. It’s so great to read that you and your sister had such a lovely stay with us last month and found the staff to be helpful and polite; the beds really are great so am pleased you enjoyed them too.
I am very much looking forward to your next visit to Auckland as we would love to welcome you and your sister back again soon.
Best regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

When visiting Auckland, this is the hotel of choice; very friendly and helpful staff; good value; rooms are neat and tidy; bed very comfortable and great views. The location is great and hop, step and jump to everything you want and need. Highly recommended. We will be back...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

It was great to welcome you back again to Rydges Auckland! I am so pleased we are your hotel of choice when visiting Auckland and keep finding the hotel to be such great value and very comfortable and the staff to be so helpful and friendly. I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kindest regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

You have to choose this hotel for the fantastic people working there, they are so helpful, friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we felt very welcome. The hotel itself was immaculate, the décor was perfect and nothing was shabby, the atmosphere in the bar was low key and not garish like some. We would have loved to have been there longer and will return on our next trip to Auckland. The location is perfect for the casino, harbour, banks, shops, restaurants, trendy bars, bureau de change and cafe's. Transport links are also pretty good with a 2 minute (uphill) walk from the airport bus stop, train station isn't too far away either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review on your stay with us at Rydges Auckland, it looks like we ticked many of your boxes for a great stay and we are so pleased you found it absolutely fabulous! The staff really are excellent and love helping our guests wherever they can so I am pleased your encounters with them all were so lovely and helpful.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,617 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 65 in Auckland Central
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing