We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at Rydges for the night and were warmly welcomed by Dhana at reception, she was super helpful with street directions and map. Great room with Sky Tower view and breakfast was impressive with great selection and friendly staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We were on 10th floor with great view of Sky Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
It is so great to hear about our guests having a wonderful experience with us while visiting Auckland, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    866
    285
    89
    29
See reviews for
267
828
138
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Maybe the in some of the room the view is not the best, but overall I think it's one of the greatest hotel in Auckland. Refurbished, comfortable, friendly staff, nice rooms. i love staying here. Compare it to some of the other same star properties Rydges Auckland is the best of them. I can definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We normally try to stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neodita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write your review on Rydges Auckland, it is very much appreciated and I hope it is not too long until we can welcome you back once again.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at this city centre hotel for 2 nights before embarking on our journey home. The hotel is ideally situated just a short walk to the harbour and only a 200 yards from the Sky tower. The hotel is very modern and what you would expect from a 4 star city hotel. The rooms were very clean and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We too advantage of the 10 per cent discount for eating dinner at the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: The hotel has 14 floors. So if you don't like heights ask for a room on one of the lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you John and Viv, I hope you had a wonderful time exploring New Zealand before heading back home. Your review is just lovely and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we loved having you. Thanks also for mentioning our stk Lounge Bar and Restaurant, the food is fabulous and well worth a visit when staying in town.
I hope you decide on another New Zealand trip soon, we would love to have you back and there is always more to see.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I travel to Auckland few times a year and always stay at different hotels. Rydges Auckland is located in the center of CBD Auckland and only a minute walk to Skytower, Intercity coach stops, supermarket, shops, and restaurants but the inside of hotel/room was always quiet. The hotel is actually modern looking and my room had modern facilities as well. I felt comfortable to be staying at Rydges with friendly and professional staffs and modern room. I will stay at Rydges in Auckland again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kody11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
What a lovely review, we certainly appreciate you sharing your experience with us and others of your recent stay at Rydges Auckland. Our location is fantastic with everything like attractions, shops, restaurants and transport right on our doorstep.
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. We especially love your review title..
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed the experience. Nice quiet room with good natural light. Clean and neat with good facilities either in the hotelier nearby.
Good sized room.
Llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric3853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so pleased you had a wonderful experience with us during your recent stay and I hope your next isn’t too far away.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Spent two nights after a long flight from the UK great rooms superb bathroom, and a great view off the Sky Tower next door , you could view folks sky jumping off the tower from the bedroom, food could not fault it , great place to get around the City.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a Sky tower view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
It certainly sounds like you had a great experience with us during your short stay in Auckland, did the view of the Sky Jumpers tempt you in trying it for yourself? It’s something I have been meaning to do but something always (conveniently) comes up...
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland again very soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights pre cruise and were satisfied with the room and checkin and location. The problem arose when checking out, what looked like half the entire hotel wanted to check out at the same time. This was made worse by the arrival of the disembarking cruise passengers wanting to check in ! There did not appear to be any extra staff to deal with the masses of people all with luggage. Not well enough organised.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyLane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Wow, I hope you had a wonderful time on your cruise. That’s something I would love to do with my wife sometime in the future. Thank you for your review, I apologise for the delay in your check out and I hope this did not hinder your arrival for your cruise.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges

Property: Rydges
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing