We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Travelled to Auckland for a family wedding. Normally we stay with family but as this was not possible opted to stay in the city. It was very convenient and hired a car over the weekend. Was aware of the parking issues so was not a problem. The room was very comfortable and roomy as we were travelling with our teenage son. Enjoyed having a quiet drink at the bar with very attentive and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaviKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Such a lovely time of year to get married, I hope the day went perfectly and was amazing for your family.
Thank you so much for your review, I hope another Auckland weekend away is not too far away.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    901
    292
    93
    32
See reviews for
281
864
141
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

First time staying in Rydges properties. It was a very nice stay. Folks at the reception are very welcoming. They have a very good restaurants and it is close to the Harbor and all the nice restaurants and shopping places. Would go back. Only negative I see is , you dont get good views from the Hotel room as it is covered all four sides with buildings.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
It was lovely to have you stay with us during your recent trip to Auckland, I hope you had a wonderful time in town. I am so pleased you enjoyed our stk Lounge Bar and Restaurant, the food is amazing and well worth a visit, even just for drinks and nibbles in the bar.
The hotel actually has some amazing views, the look out to the Waitemata Harbour is beautiful, especially at sunset over the bridge and the views of the city and Skytower are great and can be very entertaining, especially when the Skyjumpers make their leap from the top of the Skytower.
I hope your next stay isn’t too far away, as we would love to have you back soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I regularly stay at Rydges on business and decided to return for a 4 day stay with my wife over New Year. We had a great room looking over the Sky Tower so were able to enjoy the firework display. We had great service from the bar where we enjoyed food and drinks most nights. Breakfasts were included for two days of our stay and this was also of good standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Happy New Year! I have heard from many guests that they loved being able to see the fireworks from the comfort of their rooms in the hotel and avoided the crowds on the street, so glad you had this experience too.
I hope 2014 brings you to Auckland again as we would love to welcome you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay. Staff were very friendly and professional. Rooms were clean tidy and spacious. If staying again, I would definitely make sure to request a room with a bath but that is the only thing that was missing from our stay. Overall very happy

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Windlea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I am so pleased you both had a great stay during your recent visit to Auckland, I hope your next stay is not too far away as we would love to have you back again very soon.
We have recently had a bathroom refurbishment where we removed the majority of the baths from the rooms as we found so many guests did not enjoy the dual shower/bath set up and much preferred the larger shower space. Luckily we still do have a few rooms with a bath so on your next visit please let us know and we will ensure a bath is provided.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon where nothing is missing from your experience.
Kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice hotel but we were a little disappointed with the room on this occasion as the shower/toilet area was extremely cramped. However, we do appreciate it was NYE and so the choice of rooms was, perhaps, more limited. Awful view over the scrubby apartments opposite but you can't help the type of building in the vicinity so this is no fault of the hotel. Really great breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
I hope you had a wonderful New Years Eve and were able to get out and about to experience the fireworks! It was so great to have you stay with us and I am so pleased you had a really great breakfast the next morning.
I hope your next stay with us ends up being way above average as we would love the chance to prove ourselves to you next time.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Staff friendly and efficient. Reasonable size bedroom, Had to request bath robes because not in room upon arrival, no room slippers available. Small bathroom, badly designed shower which tended to flood bathroom floor. Comfortable bed but windows could do with soundproofing. Adequate breakfast but music too loud and not conducive to enjoyable eating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waiheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us at Rydges Auckland, your comments and suggestions are extremely appreciated and have been taken into account for discussion with the team.
I hope you had a wonderful time in town and I look forward to your next visit with us soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Very well located, well priced and very close to queen st and sky city. Plus there is free wi if which is rare in nz. Let me check in at 11 am, very good service and will return . Great place and great location, good rooms, good bathroom. Very large bed and am struggling to fill the required 200 characters

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Swannynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
It’s great to read you had such an excellent stay, our aim is to have all our guests leave feeling the same way and well looked after during their stay with us at Rydges Auckland.
I am so pleased you will return and I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing