We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and good location....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Newick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good location....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We spent our first 2 nights in New Zealand at this hotel. Very good location for exploring Auckland. The room we had on the 7th floor was a good size with lots of storage and a lounge area. The bed was really comfi and the linen very soft. The shower was good lots of towels. We were concerned about noise, as we were right opposite the lifts, but we did not have any problems with noise. We had breakfast from the buffet each morning, good choice of foods, lots of variety. Our only concern was that the room could have been cleaner..there were glass ringmarks on the surface next to the kettle and the lights fittings were very dusty. We enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    866
    285
    89
    29
See reviews for
267
828
138
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed for a few days at the Rydges Auckland Hotel in early January. Good location, and we were able to check in very early (9 AM) which was a nice surprise. Easy to walk to local restaurants and the harbor area. Room was a little small, and very few television stations available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked this hotel through the Wotif.com website as one of their hot deals....hotel unknown until you have made the booking. We've done this before and not been disappointed and so we have the same result.
Nicely laid out room with good comfortable bed, TV and ensure. All you'd expect. Staff friendly and helpful. We had an early start so down for breakfast just after it had opened and again friendly attentive staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a harbour view - so a high floor is advisable (8+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I used Rydges both on my arrival and departure from NZ. It's a long flight from Norway..A really nice place to rest, with comfortable beds and spacious clean rooms. The staff is very sweet, helpful and welcoming. Very close to center of town. I will stay here next time I visit this beautiful and facinating country!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

After travelling for over 30 hours, we needed somewhere for a good night's sleep. We got that at the Rydges.
The bed was very comfortable and the free wifi meant we could easily email family.
Room service was slightly erratic.
$23.50 for continental breakfast felt steep.
Good location for tourist spots in Central Auckland, including the Skytower just a block away.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Customer service on entry was very professional from the Reception to the Restaurant not forgetting the lovely lady from housekeeping who took the time to direct us towards the room which we were allocated.The breakfast was absolutely delicious and such a great variety to choose from.Our room was clean and well stocked with whatever we required from fresh towels to a fully stocked mini bar not to mention free wifi a bonus.Thank you team for the wonderful care shown and a special mention must go to the very helpful Scottish guy who just made our stay extra special. Keep up the amazing work guys we look forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolettaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karalee, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great position with easy walk into city. Close to food both restaurants and groceries. Short walk to transport hub for buses and ferries. Room was clean and very comfortable. Harbour view available, but from our floor was between buildings. Breakfast choice was very good and worthwhile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24RhondaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges

Property: Rydges
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing