We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to help”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Good location for exploring. City bus tour very close. Valet parking reasonable . Staff friendly and very helpful . Checked us in early as arrive early am flight . My only comment would be shower floor is a bit slippy when wet

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

My hubby and I stayed at the Rydges Hotel in Auckland for 3 nights last week.we were upgraded to a harbour view room. The views were spectacular.The room was clean even though we had to call housekeeping as the amenities placed in the room was meant for 1 person and not for a couple. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast selection is very good.2 of the nights we were there we could hear loud music as they had functions taking place in the events centre.But I cannot complain as the noise and music stopped at a reasonable time which was before midnight.Needless to say that the restaurant staff were the most hospitable.The location of this hotel is very convenient and within walking distance to the Viaduct.I definitely will be staying again.

Room Tip: harbourview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent our first 2 nights in New Zealand at this hotel. Very good location for exploring Auckland. The room we had on the 7th floor was a good size with lots of storage and a lounge area. The bed was really comfi and the linen very soft. The shower was good lots of towels. We were concerned about noise, as we were right opposite the lifts, but we did not have any problems with noise. We had breakfast from the buffet each morning, good choice of foods, lots of variety. Our only concern was that the room could have been cleaner..there were glass ringmarks on the surface next to the kettle and the lights fittings were very dusty. We enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed for a few days at the Rydges Auckland Hotel in early January. Good location, and we were able to check in very early (9 AM) which was a nice surprise. Easy to walk to local restaurants and the harbor area. Room was a little small, and very few television stations available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryw604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked this hotel through the Wotif.com website as one of their hot deals....hotel unknown until you have made the booking. We've done this before and not been disappointed and so we have the same result.
Nicely laid out room with good comfortable bed, TV and ensure. All you'd expect. Staff friendly and helpful. We had an early start so down for breakfast just after it had opened and again friendly attentive staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a harbour view - so a high floor is advisable (8+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I used Rydges both on my arrival and departure from NZ. It's a long flight from Norway..A really nice place to rest, with comfortable beds and spacious clean rooms. The staff is very sweet, helpful and welcoming. Very close to center of town. I will stay here next time I visit this beautiful and facinating country!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

After travelling for over 30 hours, we needed somewhere for a good night's sleep. We got that at the Rydges.
The bed was very comfortable and the free wifi meant we could easily email family.
Room service was slightly erratic.
$23.50 for continental breakfast felt steep.
Good location for tourist spots in Central Auckland, including the Skytower just a block away.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £100 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing