We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central place to stay in Auckland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Central place to stay in Auckland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our first family trip to Auckland and we were very pleased with its location and service. We had a great view and the staff were exceptionally friendly. The website also gave perfect directions on how to drive from the airport to the hotel. Concierge Terrance was very helpful and made us feel like part of his ohana (family). The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk to all our planned activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    865
    285
    89
    29
See reviews for
267
828
138
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

To be clear...... I didn't stay at the Rydges......my wife did but I have a big thank you to make.

My wife was away for the weekend with a friend. I took the chance to ring Rydges to see if I could arrange some chocolates and a note to be waiting in their room upon arrival. Perry was very obliging and put things into place for me. I just had to sign a form and send it over. James also emailed me to confirm all was taken care of.

It was great being able to arrange a sneaky surprise and I just want to say thanks!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

When I entered my room I found it had not yet been serviced so I had to go back to reception for a new room. Although 'upgraded' to a higher floor this room had a view of an office block, and noise from an events room that was also on that floor.
Some if the pillows looked like they had makeup on them?!
My breakfast arrived late and then the drink was spilt so the lady had to go and get another.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We return to Rydges Auckland anytime we are in Auckland for a visit - Rydges is based in a fabulous location - central city surrounded by great bars & restaurants. The rooms are perfect for our stay with good service and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are fresh and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 812Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Central to sky tower and only couple blocks from harbour restaurants. Great breakfast buffet. Join priority rewards program before you go and they give you late checkout and free drink in lobby. Can see harbour from 11th floor. Modern rooms and bathroom. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBBIE51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last week. The room and location were great...however...when our room was "serviced" they just hung our towels up on shower door - we had not said to Eco leave them as we wanted clean towels - when we got back everything was left as is meaning shower gel not topped up hand towel which was used and needed replacing just flung on shelf, no replacement of bath mat and things haphazard... and my kindle was gone. We've stayed at loads of hotels all over nz and the world and this has never happened. I left my kindle in room so that I didn't have to worry about it in handbag, but now I wish I'd taken it. Left details with reception but heard nothing back... there's no reason for me to write this unless I felt strongly about it, unfortunately it's not worth claiming on insurance due to excess. I realise it's not hotels fault exactly but think there should be a bit more concern at this.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nz_travellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights to recover from the flight from London before picking up a Motorhome for a tour of North Island. What an excellent choice. The hotel was bright and clean, the staff friendly and best of all the location was perfect for wandering around Auckland and to the waterfront. For the first night we decided to eat-in. The restaurant service and food was excellent, as were the breakfasts in the morning. The restaurant staff were particularly helpful dealing with my wife's gluten free requirements. The following night we decided to dine out and a word with the helpful concierge we were directed to the nearby Wynyard Quarter within easy walking distance.
In summary, location,location, location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges

Property: Rydges
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing