We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STK Restaurant - unacceptable”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great hotel but don't ask for a cup of tea in the restaurant. I was there with a group of 15 and waited almost an hour and a half for a cup of tea, despite asking twice where our tea was and being told it was on its way it was begrudgingly delivered in a cup without a saucer! Other guests in the party were served two drinks in that time. Unacceptable service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Hospitality staff at STK restaurant and bar were Fantastic, as was the Conceierge.
Housekeeping entered my room while i was still asleep, woken as he was walkn out: prior to 9am
Reception had somewhat of an issue at Check out, managed to not only incorrectly charge our group, but was quite rude with an attitude about it.
Room was great, with all needed for our 3 night stay.
Will be advising other colleagues/ corporate travel consultant of this experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank 924bernardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Another Hotel which we have stayed in and well worth another visit.
Very nice room and bed although the view was not brilliant we could in fact see The Tower.
My wife did find a hole in the sheet the second morning which was pointed out and although she said it was of no great concern they changed it within 10 minutes.
The bar area is quite pleasant and we had a couple of drinks and had a snack there one afternoon but did not eat a main meal in the restaurant.
The hotel is in a brilliant position and we walked to the town,park and the other direction to the port area.The tower is so close you could crawl there!!
Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My friend and I only stayed here two nights. One day our room did not get cleaned/serviced. We were out all day and by the time we arrived at our room, it was too late to complain. The next night we were departing, so any cleaning did not affect us. Both mornings we had to rise early and getting brewed coffees/lattes in the lobby was somewhat problematic. The coffee bar did not seem to get in business till after 7 am. During our stay there was a large tour group staying there and I wondered if they got priority, such as their rooms getting cleaned rather than other guests in the hotel who had less leverage so-to-speak. In terms of other comments, our 2-bedded room was rather tight space-wise for two people, both in the bathroom and sleeping area. It was clean and generally well equipped, however.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sladana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great base for the Auckland ITU race. Comfy bed and great breakfast - our girls loved the chocolate fountain. We had four in our room and a bike and didn't feel too cramped. Great view of the Sky Tower from our room. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed during the ITU Triathlon weekend. They were very helpful with allowing bikes in the room, extremely helpful staff. Very nice dinner one night and very full breakfast included in our room deal was top quality. Parking next door convenient although not cheap but no where in Auckland is it seems. Rooms tidy and convenient. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Rydges Auckland for the last couple of nights of a six week trip, our first visit to New Zealand. We found the hotel to be an excellent choice, virtually adjacent to the sky tower and central for visiting all major attractions in the city. The staff were friendly and efficient and the cmplimentary Wi Fi was a bonus given how many New Zealand hotels charge very high rates for this service. We ate in the restaurant which we found to be good value for money and would have no concerns about staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allanjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing