We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night at the Rydges”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect night at the Rydges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The room is welcoming well furnished, nice bathroom, the front desk staff is most helpful and we had a special at great value. There is car park at an affordable price across the road and once you are parked you do not need your car anymore, we walked to the Quay in 5 minutes, and the Civic Theater and Town Hall are easy walk too

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    888
    290
    89
    32
See reviews for
275
852
140
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed there for a week and we had a great experience. great bed and bathroom.
Impeccable service of the hotel.
Not the best view of the city but very well located. There are no surcharges for room service.
very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danilo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have never stayed at the Rydges Auckland before and were very surprised. Booking in was very pleasant and they were extremely helpful, even offered us late check out at 12pm. They suggested that we join their rewards program, which gave us an extra hour at no cost.
Close to queen street and Sky City. Parking was at Sky City which was only a block away. Very convenient and very central.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room so great, you don't even need a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Rydges Auckland last weekend and had a thoroughly great time. The position of the hotel in the midst of the Auckland CBD made it so convenient for dining, shopping and sightseeing. The staff were very obliging and I would like to single out Kirsten in the restaurant who not only looked after us, but also our grandchildren who came running in to see us whilst we were dining. But all the staff were great, seeing to our every need. The rooms was lovely and clean, the beds very comfortable and what's more, it was so nice and quiet, despite being right in the middle of downtown Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJW282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great hotel but don't ask for a cup of tea in the restaurant. I was there with a group of 15 and waited almost an hour and a half for a cup of tea, despite asking twice where our tea was and being told it was on its way it was begrudgingly delivered in a cup without a saucer! Other guests in the party were served two drinks in that time. Unacceptable service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Hospitality staff at STK restaurant and bar were Fantastic, as was the Conceierge.
Housekeeping entered my room while i was still asleep, woken as he was walkn out: prior to 9am
Reception had somewhat of an issue at Check out, managed to not only incorrectly charge our group, but was quite rude with an attitude about it.
Room was great, with all needed for our 3 night stay.
Will be advising other colleagues/ corporate travel consultant of this experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 924bernardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HORLEY, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Another Hotel which we have stayed in and well worth another visit.
Very nice room and bed although the view was not brilliant we could in fact see The Tower.
My wife did find a hole in the sheet the second morning which was pointed out and although she said it was of no great concern they changed it within 10 minutes.
The bar area is quite pleasant and we had a couple of drinks and had a snack there one afternoon but did not eat a main meal in the restaurant.
The hotel is in a brilliant position and we walked to the town,park and the other direction to the port area.The tower is so close you could crawl there!!
Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing