We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front of house staff”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great front of house staff”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our base for the first part of our stay in New Zealand and the receptionist,concierge and the on duty manager made our stay amazing.on the flip side,the Resturant staff were in total contrast unhelpful,bordering on rude.we actually paid extra to have our evening meals in our room...the hotel itself is placed in a lovely part of the city,close to the centre of everything and a lovely walk down the hill to the shops,harbour and a quick stroll to the skytower.some of the hotel was being modernised whilst we were there but it didn't interfere with us in the slightest and the bed was exceptional to sleep on...please stay here but just be wary of the Restruant,the food was lovely,the staff not so much!

Room Tip: We were 4 stories up with no sound troubles overlooking a block of flats,would stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfred172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    914
    296
    93
    32
See reviews for
285
873
143
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Got a really reasonable price on this property (have stayed higher end in Auckland previously), and can't thank Terrance the concierge/doorman enough. Excellent representative of this property. Room was recently redone, and was OK. Bathroom better than average. Some burned out lights in the room, not replaced, but the room was fine/average/about what you'd expect for a standard hotel room.

Hotel has a great location, adjacent to Sky City. Walking distance to everywhere in Central Auckland. Parking is either valet, or public garage across the street (not cheaper, and no in/out, so go with valet). Breakfast was included in our incredibly aggressive rate, and the buffet breakfast was extensive and appreciated. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel, with the big breakfast, and a great concierge, you will do fine here.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated bathroom. Some are (showers), and some aren't (think 1980s UK type high bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Nogueira de Azeitao, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our stay at Rydges was made memorable by Terrance, as Concierge, Doorman, Porter, Fixer, Entertainer from Scotland. A very funny man.
After 20 minutes of question answering on where to buy this, how to do that, we never needed to ask anyone anything else and it was all spot on. He is in the know and shares the knowledge.
The first thing the our 2 kids wanted in the morning was not breakfast , but to see if Terrance was there. Management, make sure he stays with you.

The Location, underneath Skytower is perfect for Auckland on foot or bus, Rooms were getting worn a little. Breakfast had absolutely everything. Saying that however, I did find it a little nitpicking to charge extra for an Expresso if you didn't want a normal coffee, a little short-sighted.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hi_Text_Ricardinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Rydges Auckland hotel for a night, and it was fairly well located--just a quick walk to the harbor & a quick walk to the art museum, and though I didn't visit the skytower, it's very close! I was allowed to check in early, but my first room had an awkward basement-type window. The staff politely and quickly accommodated with another room. They also allowed me to check out extra early the following morning to catch a flight, but allowed for my guest to remain in the room until a late check out time.
Simple, clean, accommodating, and fairly affordable. I'd stay here again, and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at the Rydges many times now as I find the beds so comfortable and the staff very friendly. I enjoy the peace of the hotel and the lovely bar and restaurant without loud music and people rushing around. excellent value

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainechris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great city location. The beds and pillows were super comfortable! Great coffee & good selection for breakfast. Staff were very friendly. Aircon worked well, great hotel for business or pleasure. Would happily recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misscwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We celebrated our 20th wedding Anniversary at Rydges Auckland and had a 3 course dinner and dance at the roof top terrace and we weren't disappointed. The staff were happy to help us in anyway they could and all our guests stayed the night and loved the rooms. Would definately recommend a function here it was unforgettable. Thanks all involved.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing