We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, ok location”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Rydges for a long weekend in April, 2014. The hotel itself was nice. The room that we got looked out at the tower, which was pretty cool. The room was clean and the staff was incredibly nice. We only ate breakfast there once, which was very expensive.

The location was ok. It is very close to the tower and the casino if that is what you are looking for. Otherwise, it's a little bit of a walk to the harbor. There is also a highrise right across the street that is a residence. There were some messy balconies and you could actually hear the music from those if you opened the window. But overall not a big deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here a while ago which was good but it's undergone a recent refurb. Staff friendly and efficient. Rooms very nice as is the lobby and dining area. We had breakfast included... very good selection .... Only one hiccup...bit of a no no... My wife asked for gluten free bread on the second morning which was delivered but with mould on it!!! Not good! Staff were apologetic and replaced the bread but damage done. That aside we would still return to Rydges. It also has free wifi which is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived in the morning after an overnight flight. On entering the room we find that there is only one luggage stand in a room that has two beds and two of everything else! So one of us has to use the floor. There are no bedside lamps. There are ceiling lights over the beds which is tough if one of us is trying to sleep. We needed to catch up on some sleep during the day but the curtains are too short so you have bright light coming in at you and no way to remedy it. The light switch in the alcove near the bathroom also operates the main light in the bedroom so if you want to make a cup of tea during the night you have to do it in the dark if you don't want to wake your partner.
This room was not conducive for tourists. It probably works when there is one person on business.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Idaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recently stayed at this property for 2 nights. Extremely friendly and helpful staff that went above and beyond. Clean and modern rooms, and amazing breakfast. (Especially liked the 'chocolate fountain'). Close location to shopping, dining, and the ferry terminal. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayak430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Rydges before and like the service and rooms. Therefore, we thought we'd have the same experience at Rydges Auckland. We were wrong.

The room was so outdated and run down. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows did not have sufficient support. The tv is a flat screen but it did not have good picture quality. The furniture had so much wear and tear that it is time to replace them. The carpet had stains that we did not want to walk barefoot.

The bathroom was horrendous with mildew throughout the tiles. We wore our flip flops to shower as we did not want our bare feet to touch the tile. The bathroom resembled a public restroom of a hospital.

The view is of the neighboring office building. The buildings are so close to each other that you can peer through the window and watch people at work.

There are so many hotels in the CBD that I'd suggest to look into them and avoid the Rydges altogether.

By the way, I gave this review 2* because the reception staff was pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eves V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our base for the first part of our stay in New Zealand and the receptionist,concierge and the on duty manager made our stay amazing.on the flip side,the Resturant staff were in total contrast unhelpful,bordering on rude.we actually paid extra to have our evening meals in our room...the hotel itself is placed in a lovely part of the city,close to the centre of everything and a lovely walk down the hill to the shops,harbour and a quick stroll to the skytower.some of the hotel was being modernised whilst we were there but it didn't interfere with us in the slightest and the bed was exceptional to sleep on...please stay here but just be wary of the Restruant,the food was lovely,the staff not so much!

Room Tip: We were 4 stories up with no sound troubles overlooking a block of flats,would stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Redfred172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Got a really reasonable price on this property (have stayed higher end in Auckland previously), and can't thank Terrance the concierge/doorman enough. Excellent representative of this property. Room was recently redone, and was OK. Bathroom better than average. Some burned out lights in the room, not replaced, but the room was fine/average/about what you'd expect for a standard hotel room.

Hotel has a great location, adjacent to Sky City. Walking distance to everywhere in Central Auckland. Parking is either valet, or public garage across the street (not cheaper, and no in/out, so go with valet). Breakfast was included in our incredibly aggressive rate, and the buffet breakfast was extensive and appreciated. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel, with the big breakfast, and a great concierge, you will do fine here.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated bathroom. Some are (showers), and some aren't (think 1980s UK type high bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £110 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing