We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Stay”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed at the Rydges, Auckland for three nights prior to a New Zealand / Australia cruise. The location was really great. The staff friendly and helpful. The room was not huge, but definitely big enough and the bed was absolutely amazing. One of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. The free internet was an added bonus - It is a bit slow, but hey, its free. We LOVED Auckland and will definitely book Rydges on our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Hello,

Providing you with the experience you had is our absolute pleasure; we all take enormous pride in Rydges Auckland; in the quality products and services that we offer –it’s great to know that we have delivered over and above what you expected. Thank you for the positive comments on the team, this is always great to receive and I know they love reading how well they did; yes our Rydges ‘Dream’ Beds are truly something amazing!

We look forward to welcoming you back, where once again you will be able to experience the pure luxury of the Rydges ‘Dream’ Bed’s...something to look forward to on your next visit to Auckland.

Thank you

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,126)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,824 - 1,830 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

I stayed at Rydges whilst in Auckland for sightseeing. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Every about Rydges is first class - room service, meals, rooms - the list is endless. Well done, Rydges, you are indeed the jewel in Auckland's crown.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivaldi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2011

It’s always pleasing to read such positive feedback plus its rewarding for the team at Rydges Auckland to see that their commitment and dedication to providing the very best service in Auckland is showing through – Thank you!

We hope to see you again soon

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We arrived at Auckland in the morning after 10 hour flight. But the reception simply told us it was full and it was impossible to check in and told us to come back at 2 pm. We asked if it is possible to come back at 11 am. And they simply said it is impossible to guarantee. There were a lot of groups staying at this hotel, so it was very full. We were exhausted when we could finally check in. And the room was also very disappointing. It was very small, faces a bunch of buildings. We asked the room service for supplies, and they never brought it to us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistylorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your comments. It concerns me to read of your experience surrounding your early check-in and not being able to get into your room. We will always endeavour to provide every guest with their room the moment they arrive at Rydges Auckland, however when the hotel is heavily booked the night before our ability to provide rooms depends on the time our guests decide to checkout. But again we will always endeavour to provide a room as soon as we possibly can.
It also concerns me that the room did not meet your expectations, but further more to hear that your request for additional supplies was not met is unacceptable and I apologise for this. I can assure you that we take all our responses seriously and they are addressed with the teams concerned to ensure they remain as isolated incidents.

I do hope to see you return to Rydges Auckland where we can prove the exceptional service that we have become renowned for by our guests.

Warm regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed at Rydges for the weekend on the 30th & 31st of January. We had only planned to stay one night but enjoyed it so much we decided to stay two nights. We initially booked Rydges because they had a discount online with the pay and save deal plus you can join their priority club and get 20% discount on food and beverages and 50% off the internet. There were two lovely ladies on the front desk who were very helpful and welcoming. For the first night we booked the deluxe suite which was very large and modern with a dining area and roomy lounge area, separate bedroom and bathroom. This can also connect to the room next door if you had friends staying as well. We used the Gym facilities which were of an excellent standard catering for most gym workouts. And just a short stroll down the road to the healthclub to use the pool, spa and sauna which is included in the rate. We had excellent service from Anna - Louise at the bar, this was the highlight of our stay!, we had only planned to have one drink but she was so cheerful, friendly and a great conversationalist that we ended up staying at the bar until 11.00pm...I highly recommend her cocktails, all of them are great!!..especially the "Harvey Wallbangers"..hehe. The next day we decided to stay another night but changed our King Deluxe suite to a King Deluxe room as we did not really use the dining or lounge area and the deluxe room was absolutely fine at the cheaper rate. The King beds are also very comfortable and had a great two nights sleep. The location is ideal, 2 min walk to skytower & casino, 5 min walk to the waterfront bars and restaurants, dairy shops across the road etc. Only suggestion I would have is that the deluxe suite is so large they should have a fold out sofa-bed and possibly allow for more people in this room instead of two. Also this great hotel is tucked away down federal street so you wouldn't know it was there from the main roads. Thanks Rydges and staff for a lovely weekend, would definately stay again!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memory4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Thank you very much for your positive review on Rydges Auckland and everything that the hotel has to offer, it’s always pleasing to hear that we have provided everything that we continually focus on achieving. The Rydges Priority Guest club is an excellent program that lets its members achieve the benefits immediately and as you have mentioned the benefits apply to both accommodation and meals.

Our team on the front desk at Rydges Auckland are certainly very committed and focused on providing the very best in service, they take enormous pride in satisfying the needs of all our guests and most important of all - they enjoy it.

I'm delighted to hear that you booked one of our suites and found that the additional space and comfort to be excellent, especially on those trips when additional space is required.
Rydges Auckland does have an excellent hotel gymnasium and this is something that we find is important for guests that are trying to maintain a routine exercise program.

I will pass on your positive comments to Anna - Louise in the bar, she is a lovely lady that takes immense pride in her work and really enjoys meeting new people, not to mention she makes fantastic cocktails which I'm pleased you got to taste!

Yes, the Rydges 'Dream Beds' are certainly one feature of the hotel that sets Rydges Auckland above other hotels in Auckland, they are extremely comfortable, which is an impression that many of our reviewers comment on.

Again, thank you very much for your comments and when you return to Auckland please ensure that your contact us so that we can ensure you have a similar experience.

Until next time, best regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We have choosen this hotel for our last night after a round trip. Although it seemed to be fully booked we were allowed to check before noon. The hotel is in a very good shape - I guess it is not new but newly renovated. Our room type was called superior king, but this is the smallest one available. The size was ok and it had all the amenities offered like flat screen tv and fridge. The bathroom was not as modern as the rest, the appearance and cleanliness could be improved a little. We had a room to the big court yard which was anyway bright. In walking distance you will find everything you need to see and visit if you have 1-2 days. Main streets with lots of takeaways and stores are close. You should consider that there isn't any place to park for free around, especially not for langer (camper-)vans. For the way to the airport, the concierge did call as a shuttle van, which is possibly the cheapest way to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aficionado_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Thank you. At Rydges Auckland we are extremely proud of the level of service that we offer all our guests and its delightful to read that you experienced this. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations and refurbishments recently which certainly makes Rydges Auckland the newest renovated hotel in Auckland. The appearance of the bathroom not meeting your expectations is disappointing to read but I can assure you the feedback will be taken into consideration when our bathrooms undergo a review for redesign. Your comment on cleanliness does concern me and I apologise for this, as its not the standard that we constantly strive for; this matter will be followed-up with our Housekeeping department to ensure it remains as an isolated incident.

Clearly you discovered the location of Rydges Auckland to be one of the very best in Auckland and I’m pleased that you were able to take advantage of this. If looking for places to dine on your next visit try our STK restaurant on the ground floor, it is certainly of the highest quality serving the very best in food and flavours.

Thank you again and we would be delighted welcome you back to Rydges Auckland on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

The location was really good for what we wanted to do. 50 yards away from the Skytower, 5 minutes from the main shops and 10 minutes from the harbour. Room ( we had a corner room so lots of glass) was spacious and clean. Staff were not that good. We had a long flight before we got there and didnt check in until late, we were woken up by the phone ringing, it was the cleaners asking if we wanted our room serviced (it was 8:45am!!!). One night we decided to eat in STK the restaurant which looked very glamourous, unfortunatley we had a cocky, know it all waiter who just wanted to show off, and above all talk to his colleagues instead of serving people. We actually waited 25 minutes for a drink to arrive, when a) there were only three tables being used and b) there wasn't ANYONE standing at the bar. The waiter managed to take away and replace the wrong cutlery then tutted when we asked for them to be corrected. He also managed to get our order wrong, god knows what he would have been like if there were more people there!!!. Overall the staff put us off staying at this hotel again. Not helpful at all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Thank you for your comments, despite the content being of a concerning nature.
You are right with our location, it is excellent and makes it very easy to access everything the CBD of Auckland has to offer. I’m also pleased to hear that you found your room spacious and clean, as these are important aspects of a comfortable stay and Rydges Auckland will always strive to exceed these standards.

The fact that you were woken up at 8:45am is completely unacceptable and I apologise for this. This should never have taken place and it will be addressed with our Housekeeping department to ensure it understands that this incident cannot be repeated.
Your comments relating to the attitude of the waiter in STK is very alarming and disappointing myself and I apologise for this behaviour. It upsets me to read this and there is absolutely no reason or excuse for it. Your comments have been discussed with the Restaurant team and it’s been made very clear to them that there is absolutely no place for that type of behaviour in STK or Rydges Auckland.

It disappoints me knowing that this experience has tainted your impression of Rydges Auckland and I would like the opportunity to change this impression; so if you were to return to Rydges Auckland it would be my pleasure to provide the level of service that we pride ourselves on, that so many of our guests experience.

Hope to see you soon

Quenton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Front staff were poor with a 'how can I end this conversation and get away with doing as little as possible' attitude. I had a gin and tonic at the bar and queried why the barman threw the first one away. He laughed saying it had protein in it, meaning it had an insect in the glass. Ummmm, funny. Room was small (Harbour View King) and not well equipped. Fridge was dusty and didn't work, only one glass was supplied (for a 2 adult booking) the windows didn't open, the shower room (no bath) was a joke (a corridor shaped space carved out of the bedroom with an ill fitting sliding door to access) and there were hairs stuck on the tiles of the shower room on arrival which were still there when we left. The location suggests it is by the harbour but it isn't. It's in a rather seedy part of town near the Sky Tower / casino with fast food joints all around. The harbour is a 10-15 minute walk down a hill and therefore up again to get back. I should have taken more heed of the negative reviews and switched the booking.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2011

At Rydges Auckland we take pride in the exceptionally high level of service we offer however it is clear in this instance that we failed to do that and I apologise for this. Friendly service with polite conversation is the foundation of the industry that we operate and it disappoints me to read that we have not achieved this. The humour by our barman was clearly distasteful for the situation. Your concerns relating to the dusty fridge and only one glass in your room is clearly an issue with the training of standards with our Housekeeping department, this will be rectified I can assure you. We do have a range of different accommodation rooms available that we would have been glad to show you, in hope that one of our larger rooms would have satisfied your expectations.
Rydges Auckland is located close to Auckland Harbour and only 5 minute walk from the Sky City Casino. Our location makes it easy to experience the very best of Auckland.

I would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back in order for you to experience the improvements we have made. Thank you for your comments; we believe these are valuable in improving further on what we have.

Kind regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £95 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing