We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Luxurious and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Beautiful hotel with great rooms nicely decorated. Only a short walk from Queen St, but with the added value of quiet nights. Helpful staff. The restaurant is an experience, though the food was not as top notch as we expected.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,396
    1,052
    365
    97
    63
See reviews for
449
1,975
232
886
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Overview:
We've stayed at Langham hotels previously so knew what to expect and the Langham Auckland is no exception - impeccable service and luxurious surroundings.

Check in:
Extremely helpful and efficient. Everything about the hotel explained like we were the first customers of the day despite it being about 11pm at night. The doorman that greeted us and took our car provided a very sincere welcome and when we bought our bags up to the room referred to us by name.

Location:
Not an issue for us - we walked where we needed to go otherwise caught taxis. The hotel isn't down near the water but to be honest, I'm glad it wasn't. that part of town isn't that great or scenic.

Room:
The Langham gets sleep! Yet again, the most amazingly comfortable beds, huge bathroom and really plush furnishings. Always appreciate the turndown each night. We'd return from dinner to dimmed lights, slippers, robes and chocolates with bottled water.

Facilities:
World class services. The Spa, Fitness Centre and Pool area are amazing.

Restaurants:
We ate at Seven one night and the food was fantastic. Highly recommend the experience. go with an empty stomach and about three hours for a night of eating around the world. We also had the buffet breakfast one morning which was standard breakfast buffet fare - BUT - the waffles made to order - delicious!

Service:
One of the best parts about the Langham experience - they must train their teams at the same place Disney do! The only gripe we had was at the restaurant - the service was slow once we made our initial order it was like pulling teeth the get clean plates and drinks. Same thing happened at breakfast with a lost coffee order. We only encountered one rude person who was working in the lounge/bar area. They were serving high tea and we had a bride in our party that we wanted to get some photos in that area. The server was rude and unhelpful. We ended up getting the shots without his help.

The other part of Langham service I love is the pre welcome email and post stay survey. Lovely touches.

Summary:
Yep, if I'm back in Auckland, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed in a "club room" on the 9th floor. Room itself was nicely appointed, with all the usual amenities you might expect from a five star hotel, and also was a good size (we had a lot of luggage). I was disappointed with the bathroom , particularly given that this is a five star establishment. For example, no separate shower and bath, and the decor was a little dated. They provide a wide range of bathroom amenities.
The club room privileges included free wifi and the use of the club lounge for breakfast, afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks/canapes, as well as a small amount of snacks during the day. The breakfast was adequate, but as a previous poster says, it is much nicer in the main restaurant. You do get a subsidy for using the main restaurant for breakfast - roughly half price. Pre-dinner drinks and canapes were excellent and there was a nice (busy) atmosphere in the lounge at that time.
We ate in the "Eight" restaurant, which was average, with slow service. I had much better food elsewhere in NZ - although the concept is kind of fun!
The gym was very well equipped and the rooftop (outdoor) pool was also very nice, and had an attaching sun terrace. I tried to use the spa, but unfortunately could not as they were fully booked...I did think that they might keep some open reservations for guests.
Service was very good overall, except for the restaurant as previously stated.
The hotel in not very central for tourists, but they do run a half-hourly shuttle to the quays, which we used with no problems. Another day, we actually walked to the centre when feeling particularly energetic - it is about a 25 minute walk (downhill). We drove to the hotel, which is conveniently located close to the motorway.
Overall this is what you would expect from a four/ five star hotel, perhaps with a few kinks that need to be ironed out.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

booked in and was offered an upgrade to a club room for an extra $110/night. Accepted and was given aroom on the eighth floor which was nicely appointed, clean and the largest bed I've seen in this type of room (8 foot across?). Club lounge served complimentary drinks and nibbles for 3 hours per night which considering the price of drinks in the main bar offered excellent value for the additional payment. Breakfast here though was only average and better in the main dining area in the lobby.
There are dress codes for the lounge but these are not enforced and this along with the number of people and lack of staff to serve them efficiently, made the experience fall short of our expectations.
Overall the hotel is very good and the hotel car to the airport excellent value but the location is not central to many tourist destinations or the quayside.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room, don't go on level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhamBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We booked with Langham after much research and based on its reputation on TripAdv.

POSITIVES
The rooms were nice
Barolo restaurant had great food, service and decor.
The Winery bar was very nice and worth it if you like your wine - but be prepared to pay for it.
Hotel decor was nice and elegant.

NEGATIVES

After check-inour luggage didn't arrive to our room, and after much chasing up with the Concierge they eventually located it in another room along with someone elses luggage ~2 hours later. Thankfully everything was returned to us safely.

Restaurant Eight was a huge disappointment also - considering it's reputation and self-promotion. The food was not of a 5-star standard and one fish dish was so bad we had to send it back.
Buffet breakfast was average and very over-priced considering the limited variety.

Some Staff were friendly but we didn't feel it was consistent across the organisation as we had lack-luster service from others

Location was poor and there's nothing to see/do within walking distance. But there was a free shuttle service to the city to compensate.

Room Tip: Avoid restaurant Eight, go to Barolo instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surya_Radhika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We booked The Langham Auckland as the first hotel we would stay in in New Zealand as we figured the reputation that it has on Trip Advisor would mean a good start to our holiday. It was an excellent start in that it was a luxurious room to relax in after the long flight from the UK but it wasn't exactly the friendliest warm welcome that we were hoping for from New Zealand.
Although the staff were helpful, it was more in a polite moneyed way rather than genuinely a warm welcome. I guess we should have probably expected that, but after the outgoing good natured personalities of the Singaporeans,it was a bit of a shock not to see smiles. Still the room itself was quiet, opulent and lovely.
The breakfasts had tremendous variety and although they weren't cheap, they were generous and the staff were much friendlier and helpful, so provided a good start to the day. Overall, I'd stay that if you're used to luxury and not worried about the friendliness then that's fine, but if you're after something with a warmer welcome, there definitely better places in Auckland to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here as this was the mystery 5 star hotel booked on Wotif.com. For the price we paid it represented very good value for money. The staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortably furnished and clean but overall I felt the hotel could do with a spot of upgrading. It just looked a little tired. The shuttle bus to Queen St was very useful. If we had paid the normal rack rate I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing