We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Some Glitches”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is a good hotel with some glitches. We were here for mixed reasons, conference and family holiday.

Coming from North America we arrived at the hotel about 8 am, and therefore could not expect an immediate check in. We were told that guests had to check out by 11 am, and that we would get priority as soon as our rooms could be cleaned. We said we would even welcome one room to start off. We gave them our local cell phone number and they promised to call. We walked down to Queen Street and killed time because not much was open yet on a Sunday morning. At about 11:30 we took the shuttle back to the hotel, and it was if we had never talked to anyone before. We talked to another staff member and were told the same thing as before. We finally got our room at 1 pm. Of course, the hotel has the right to set the check in time, but it would have been better if we had simply been told to come back at 1 pm. If I had to do it over again, I would have booked a city tour that morning rather than deal with the long delay. I should add that the staff was always polite and tried to be helpful, but there seemed to be a disconnect in the information flow.

The best deal at the hotel was the extended stay for a minimum of five nights. This gave us two free breakfasts per room and free internet. This was a considerable saving as the adult buffet breakfasts alone were NZ$37 per person (the children's are half this price). If you don't have breakfast included, but book in advance a single adult breakfast is NZ$29.95. By the way it is an excellent breakfast buffet with an omelet station and a pancake/waffle station making things to order as well as a varied buffet that includes some Asian offerings.

As I said the service was very good and the staff very friendly. My main reservation was over the quality of room maintenance, and this is the reason I only give it a 4 circle rating. We had a clock radio and safe that didn't work, and another room had no clock radio at all when our colleague checked in.

Since we had free internet we did not use the hotel computers, but there were free access computers on the 5th and 6th floors, not sure if this is true of all floors.

We used the hotel shuttle frequently. We would usually walk down Queen Street and catch it back to the hotel to save the walk up the hill. It was a good service, but once it left prior to the departure time with us chasing it down the street to no avail. We had three watches showing the earlier time. So I suggest being at the stop at least five minutes early. Also unfortunately the shuttle makes no stops in between the pick up point and the hotel. It might have been nice to add a mid-way stop.

We would stay at the hotel again, but only with the extended stay package.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,119 - 4,125 of 4,641 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

Don't get me wrong, this is a very comfortable, well managed and maintained property with commendable staff, and it's greatest draw is its value for money for a 5 star- depending on the sporting calendar of course. That said, the location may not be for everyone's liking- It's about 1km downhill to the main drag downtown, and it appears to be at the seedier side of the city. Parking is not complimentary to guests.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ompong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I love this Hotel and always choose to stay here when possible. The hotel as typical of the elegance of other Langham Hotels around the world. The staff are very helpful and room service is quick and the food is great. The restaurants in the Langham are great you can choose from A La Carte in restaurant Barolo to the Eight Buffet experience. The rooms are well appointed but TVs could be updated. Apart from that I have no qualms in reccoemeding the Langham what a great hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrapeEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was my second stay this year.I booked a bargain deal for a suite for 2 nights- the suite was spacious (2 rooms) ,and total luxury all the way. Of particular note are the quality (and generous) bathroom toiletries that included lots of extras that other hotels have removed to cut costs.
The suite gives you access to the Lounge which is a step above others I have used. Little things like a choice of drinks during the cocktail hours from a menu- no nasty no name house wines here, substantial snacks and breakfast, help yourself to tubs of delicious NZ ice-cream.Decent espresso coffee. Great staff.Well worth booking a room with access to the Lounge.
The hotel was fully booked due to a big rugby game but it was quiet in the room despite a fair amount of corridor foot traffic and the hotel didn't have that "full house" feel .There was a small delay at check-in as their process appears a bit tedious and not that efficient.
Overall 5 star and fabulous.

Room Tip: Book a suite- there are often great deals on the Langham website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farawaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Do not hesitate to book here. The service, cleanliness, food and rooms are exactly what a five star hotel
should deliver. We held a conference and delegates hesiated because the hotel seemed out of their price range-but they all regretted not staying at the hotel as they saw the quality of the food and the personal service. Of all the hotels we visited this not only offered the most competitive price, the extras actually made it overall the best option.

It is an eight minute walk to the Auckland shops. Outside the hotel
'pub' is a long road of restaurants. That is if u can drag yourself away fr the hotel restaurants! I detest 'buffets' and when I saw the hoyel's setup i scorned it. Silliest thing ive ever done. Each section is a diff type of food -and chefs cook your desire individually. Speaking of food the conference food was the highest quality ive ever had. Everyone agreed! Esp those who grumbled about the higher-than-usual conf rates.
I also recommend considering going the Club-it is more economical ; esp as it includes breakfast, a/noon tea and canapes/drinks from 6-8:30. You do the maths. And the personal service makes u feel so welcome and valued. The staff seem genuinely happy to work there and thus they share their joy with you.

A must visit is the spa. OMG best massage.

If I sound gushy it's because i felt so pampered there. As did the conf people - the UK delegates thought it was the best value they'd had at any conference hotel. One thought the charge was in pounds and was blown away when we told her it was dollars. I am not a wealthy person and hotels like this are us. Way out of my price range - worth every cent. And im a grumpy ole woman :)
Check deals on hotel website -they are often cheaper than online sites. They us. have a great advance purchase price.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entjohns51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The Langham is a great place to stay if you are looking for somewhere with a little class not too far out from the CBD. It was an easy 10-minute stroll downhill to the city centre (15 to the harbour).
Unfortunately that means it's an uphill trip back but you can use that to work off your food intake! Alternatively the hotel has a shuttle bus that runs around the city on a regular basis to drop-off & pick-up guests.
The rooms are nice and the restaurants in the hotel very impressive.
The herbal steam rooms, saunas and pool area are fantastic!
Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank map_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Charging for wireless Internet access is just cheap, especially when it includes public areas of the hotel such as the lobby. Concierge not very switched on, sending us to a low end chain noodle bar when asked for a nice local spot for brunch and claiming princes wharf was a ten minute walk away (took us more like 40mins). Room ok but pretty basic. On the plus side the spa facilities were good and complimentary.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,486 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £112 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing