We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining deal”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed at the Langham for two nights and tried both the Barolo and Eight dining packages whilst staying in an executive room.
Although I would rate both restaurants very highly, these are my main gripes.
The room. was very comfortable, clean and well equipped although the bath is too short and shallow to have a good soak which is very disappointing for someone who loves her baths!
As we were in an executive room we did have Internet access through the business centre but really feel that if Mc Donalds can offer free wi-fi to all customers to use their own devices then surely the Langham should be able o do the same especially considering the price of even a basic room.
Anyway, back to the positives!
Barolo was amazing. The Selezione Menu for Two was fantastic and the chef was more than happy to cater the menu to one vegetarian and one meat eater with no hassle and with great results. Just make sure you give yourselves plenty of time to enjoy the wonderful flavors and fantastic wines!!
Eight was also a great dining experience with plenty of options for both vegetarian and meat eating diners. The chocolate fountain was yummy with plenty of choices of both healthy and not so healthy dipping options!
We have already booked our next meal at Barolo in July and am excited just thinking about it!
Have filled in comment cards re my gripes with bath and internet so fingers crossed these will be looked at and addressed at some point.
The Langham is still my first choice of hotels to stay whilst in Auckland as although a little distance from the waterfront there is a great shuttle service to and from the hotel and waterfront and the staff are always welcoming and efficient. I also love the comfort and ambience in the bar area in the lobby, a great place to relax and enjoy a refreshment or two after a hard days shopping.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,577
    1,124
    392
    108
    64
See reviews for
490
2,095
253
971
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We love this place. From the moment you arrive you are treated like the richest most powerful person. We wanted to have a break and we live in Auckland so this little touch of luxury is so good. The shuttle downtown is great and the guy who drives it is friendly and knowledgable. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. The quality and the presentation of the rooms and the food is outstanding. We thought that we would go elsewhere for breakfast but ending up spending more for something way less. The classic room is small but not oppressive. The complimentary bits and pieces in the bathroom are top quality. There is nothing bad at all about this hotel. We have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed overnight at the Langham for the 1st time and will be back apart from some inconsiderate noisy guests (who i shut down !) this place is awesome the staff are excellent the value is really good the breakfast in the package was unbelievable ! Want a place to stay in Auckland for a treat -try this place highly recommended - excellent value for money

Room Tip: 542 was our room and it was good !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

After several stays this place always delivers a good experience. An amazing number of friendly staff particularly in the lobby and restaurant. The rooms are comfortable (if a bit smaller than some luxury hotels) with all the usual (but quality) toiletries and accessories such as robes. Breakfasts have been revamped in true international style with 'cook to order' service and dishes like congee. And the restaurant manages to feel intimate, rather than clattery. And if you fancy a change of menu it's only a few hundred meters to the main drag with a selection of French and Asian cafes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Very good staff very friendly from the minute you arrive till you leave the staff are fantastic.The room was very nice however the aircon wasnt working and it was a warm night so a bad nights sleep but besides that all good.The best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel ever anywhere in the world...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in early May. He had business meetings in Auckland and someone from there had recommended this hotel. We arrived at 1:00 pm and they already had a room available. We chose to pay the extra and get a club room, and were not disappointed. The first room we were given,however, had a musty smell and the hotel moved us to a different room on our request. The room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed. All the staff were very friendly and professional, especially Nadine, Judy and Andrew in the Club room lounge. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. The hotel has a shuttle that takes hotel guests to the downtown area several times a day. This is a free service. The coincerge was very helpful in getting us tickets to a rugby match, and getting me a hair appointment at a local salon. We were extremely pleased with the service at this hotel and would highly recommend it for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middleastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I got a secret hotel deal here and absolutely loved it. We enjoyed a Tiffin Afternoon Tea in comfy armchairs with brilliant, friendly service and real variety for your money. We had a standard room with an amazingly comfy bed, beautiful facilities and an evening turndown service (chocolates left on our pillows, slippers by the side of the bed). Lovely pool on the rooftop, not big but big enough. The one shame about the spa was that the sauna and steam rooms are in the changing rooms (which are obviously split into male and female) so my husband and I couldn't use them together. We had lunch in the Eight restaurant which was incredible - pay a flat rate (not cheap but as a treat well worth it) and help yourself to as much as you like from a variety of kitchens all cooked to your tastes. Drinks on top were pricey so choose wisely. There were only a couple of points which were a slight let down - in the bathroom the plugs etc were rubber or plastic rather than chrome which looked a bit out of place alongside the wood and marble. Also the public toilets on the ground floor were clean but very dated and looked more like toilets in a community hall rather than a 5* hotel. Other than that, we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing