We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing wedding night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing wedding night!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We booked a room at the Langham for two nights - the night before our wedding (for the bride to stay in), and our wedding night (obviously for us as bride and groom). We called ahead of time to ask that the room be made up with two single beds on the first night (as a bridesmaid was also staying), and that the second night be made up as a king as it was our wedding night. You can imagine our disappointment when we finally arrived at the hotel on our wedding night to two single beds!

The room was also incredibly dusty. We had black cupcake boxes in the room which were covered in dust in the morning and set off the bride's hayfever. I completed an online feedback survey to the Langham about these issues and asked to be contacted - but heard nothing. A real shame. Not value for money on this occasion for us. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwijente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at The Langham, Auckland. We take the feedback of our guests very seriously, but were unable to find your survey in our records. However, we will be in touch with our details to offer you the opportunity to speak with us directly about your stay.
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,502
    1,090
    382
    101
    63
See reviews for
472
2,049
244
926
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My partner and I stayed during our anniversary and were presented with a pink rose to help celebrate our special occasion. It's the little things that make a big difference. Unfortunately, we just stayed one night and didn't get a chance to try the food (we had lots to get done during our stay in Auckland) but had a great stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodSnob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at the Langham for three days at the front end of our Honeymoon. It is a beautiful luxury hotel, with all the amenities you'd expect from the top-tier place. The room was gorgeous, with excellent sheets and comforters. I loved the french press for morning coffee, and the fresh milk in the minibar.

We used the pool and spa, even though it was winter. Both were kept plenty warm for comfortable swimming and soaking, even on a very cool evening.

The food here is very good. We ate at Eight for breakfast every day and the buffet was really excellent. One of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had.

The service was impeccable. The car that picked us up from the airpot was great, a very nice Lexus, and the minute we arrived at the hotel we were expected, and they took us right up to our rooms. Really made us feel special, which got the honeymoon started off great.

I also felt like we got all this for a good value. This place wasn't nearly as expensive at the other hotel we stayed in in Auckland, the Hotel DeBrett, and the service here was really second to none.

My only quibble is the location. It's definitely walking distance to the waterfront, but it's a bit of hike down a steep hill going there, and up a steep hill coming back. They do have an hourly shuttle but the timing of it didn't work out for us very often. So at the Langham, you kind of have to leave for the day when you go out, whereas with a hotel like the DeBrett you can come and go more easily.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlaw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The buffet alone is worth staying at the Langham Auckland. The restaurant is open 24 hours a day with a full menu. Service in all areas of the hotel was outstanding. Rooms were very clean. Laundry service was well done. Location was very convenient. We used the Airport Bus to and from the airport and Langham is the first stop from the airport and last stop to the airport making it very convenient. The airline lost my luggage and the concierge helped to track it and when delivered send it straight up to my room. The room had a full supply of bathroom items so I didn't have to run to the store for toothbrush, etc. Beds were very comfortable. Towels were good quality and rooms had robes and slippers as well. We stayed for four nights and booked a rate with the internet usage and breakfast buffet included in the room. Worth every penny! We were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor where the business center was located which was very convenient for pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighlandMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

We spent nine nights in two connecting club rooms with my kids. I can not speak highly enough of the people and staff who made our stay amazing! can't recommend highly enough. Rooms cleaned beautifully, all requests listened to and executed with no reminders. A flawless stay. Thank you.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sammydori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I would recommend The Langham for your next stay in Auckland.

We booked The Langham via a mystery deal on wotif. When we arrived by taxi we were greeted by very friendly staff who even knew our name from our booking. When checking in we were offered an upgrade to the club suites for an extra charge. The offer sounded fantastic but we were a little reluctant with the extra price. After a quick discussion my wife and I decided it was just a two night stay and thought we would treat ourselves.

Everyone knows the saying "you get what you pay for" and in this case we certainly did, and we were happy about it! We normally would not choose 5 star Hotel accommodation but we were certainly pleased in this case and would recommend it to anyone visiting Auckland.

The club Suites included access to the club lounge from 5.30 to 8 and my wife and I enjoyed both evenings we were there. From the 10th floor in the club lounge you have a great view of the city. Canapes and drinks were free of charge (part of the upgrade package) and made a very enjoyable evening. You also have a full daily breakfast with the package at their restaurant called "Eight". From 8PM you can dine at any one of their restaurants or take a taxi to the central CBD and choose from a number of restaurants, cafes and bars.

For those that work hard through the year and look forward to a few nights away once in a while, I would highly recommend staying at The Langham on Symonds Street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxFranzHeliservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Thank you Langham Hotel Auckland for providing us with such lovely service on our recent night away from our four kids for my husband's birthday. We upgraded our room to include access to the Langham Club and it was just perfect - really what we needed and a world away from the usual at-home chaos! Your staff are all lovely and we will be back again for our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing