We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Fantastic hotel, very comfortable room. Great facilities, loved the pool & spa - such a great addition to a great hotel.
Great location, within walking distance to many of Auckland's attractions.
Staff very friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zjcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,386
    1,049
    364
    96
    62
See reviews for
447
1,966
232
884
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Langham is a fine hotel in central Auckland, well situated to much of the city while not in its busiest quarters. It is up the hill from the harbor and has a lovely lobby and very nice, spacious and well finished rooms. The only problem with the room was the expensive internet service the hotel service we received was excellent, including a last minute adjustment to our arrival time fine recommendations from the concierge. There is an excellent Italian restaurant in the hotel and the luncheon buffet at the regular hotel restaurant was fabulous, even at the not inexpensive price.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I got a deal for a night in the city at the Langham, have to say, was a brilliant deal given the quality of the room and the service provided. The room was quiet, the bed fantastically comfortable and the staff were brilliant. Conveniently there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which meant getting into the city. It was a family birthday party in the city and my night at the Langham made me feel like I was the one who got the present.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I usually stay an another inner city hotel, but the rates offered at the Langham were too good to miss, so I decided to try it, as I like the Langham Melbourne. Whilst not quite in the CBD it is very central with great access to the Motorway and still close to top dining areas. The entrance and lobby are beautifully appointed with a magnificent chandelier over the large, comfortable lounge/wine bar. The rooms are nice, and whilst not particularly modern, are very comfortable. The bathrooms are not large (shower over the bath) but are appointed in marble and well lit.
The wine bar/lounge offers an extensive list of cocktails and wines by the glass and the complimentary 'nibbles' are exceptional. There are two restaurants down stairs, however I only experienced "8" for the smorgasbord breakfast, which was superb. They call this restaurant "8" because there are 8 stations with a variety of different food choices from around the world, cooked freshly. Great idea for a casual dinner in. The seating in this restaurant is also comfortable and extremely pleasant, with large spacious windows.
Whilst this is a comfortable and nice hotel, the stand out experience for me was the incredible service from the staff. Everybody was exceedingly friendly and hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. I was there for a week and by the 2nd day, I was being greeted by name where ever I went. I'd walk into the lounge bar in the evening whilst waiting for friends and the staff would greet me by name and even remember the particular wine I prefer. They would also make my guests very comfortable and their attention to detail is superb. The same thing with the restaurant "8" - greeted every morning by name, and very friendly and chatty - making sure I had a wonderful table for breakfast.
I travelled back again a couple of weeks later and took my husband, and had the same experience. Most impressive and we shall certainly return.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra and get a Superior Room. I've also joined their loyalty programme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 42GLENLOCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The overall experience from arrival to departure was most enjoyable and relaxing stay away from home. My fondest memory will be the Cleanliness of the Rooms and the Relaxing Atmosphere of feeling like we were at a Spa Resort on an Island and yet we were in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Mya husband and I spent a night here beginning of July and we enjoyed ourselves so much we took our three children the following weekend. The accomadation is beautiful, very clean with lovely amenities. The staff at the langham are friendly, professional and couldnt do enough to make us feel welcome. The children loved the pool while i I enjoyed the large hot spa which was lovely on a winters day. My husband and I enjoyed the club lounge when we visted the Langham the first time. Cant wait to go back with or without the children.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I was utterly blown away by the Langham, from the moment I approached the door lugging a heavy bag and the porter rushed over to help me, to the second I opened my bedroom door to be greeted by the site of one of the most beautiful bedrooms I've seen. It's not often a hotel looks exactly like the professional photos but this one does, it is stunning. Far from being a nondescript boring hotel, the Langham's rooms are beautiful, almost antique looking but really comfortable. The bed has 10 pillows! The TV is huge. Alice in Wonderland is in the bedside table. And the bathroom.... oh don't get me started on the bathroom. I love free toiletries and the Langham has the best I've ever seen, including: body loofah, nail care, shaving kit, talcum powder, comb, sewing kit, dental kit, cotton tips and pads, sanitary bag, haircap and hair tie, and Chuan Spa products including shampoo, conditioner, body wash, bath salts, body scrub, body lotion and mud soap. The hotel breakfast buffet was also wonderful - it even features chocolate fondue and ice cream!!!! The free shuttle bus downtown is really handy and the driver has a great sense of humour. The pool looked beautiful too though it was too cold for me to use it. Rooms have great soundproofing. The only negative thing I can say about the room is that the compedium said there was a Sky guide in the drawer and I spent ages looking for it, only to find out afterwards they no longer stock them. The only negative about the hotel generally is that it's not as pushchair or wheelchair friendly as I hoped - the location is quite steep for pushing anything on wheels and the bar in the foyer and the restaurant where you have breakfast both have stairs which make them inaccessible. I had to leave my 4 month baby on her own while I got food and this freaked me out a bit. I stayed in another so called 5 star hotel later in the week (the Pullman) and it isn't a quarter as good as the Langham. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing