We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt a bit let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have so loved this hotel on many occasions in the past and were thrilled that we had become a Voyager member which gave us a few nice sounding privileges. One of these being a room upgrade subject to availability. We had booked our usual Club room and when we checked in the girl asked if we would like to pay for a upgrade to a suite. We said " great so there is one available then " She then proceeded to tell us there sure was. When we informed her that part of being a 1865 Voyager member we could receive a free upgrade if a room was available. She insisted we were wrong so we left it, however we felt cheated ! It turned out when we spoke to the duty manager the next day she was wrong and she was extremely apologetic but we still never got our upgrade nor anything else apart from the apology. We are not one of those people that expect compensation of some sort when mistakes have been made but in our numerous hotel stay's through out the world we have been given them when things have gone wrong.. eg a bottle of wine
Other than that, the Club lounge and staff are fantastic, the beds are extremely comfortable and the house keeping terrific !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddiefredie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback about your check-in experience. We are sorry the wrong information was given you and have shared your feedback with the front office team. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Club lounge facilities and that our staff have impressed you. We encourage our staff to go the extra mile for guests, and to offer all our visitors the best possible service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,440 - 3,446 of 4,371 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed five nights at The Langham but by the time we left I felt nostaligic for what was left behind.

The hotel has an unassuming exterior, a bit like its location, a block back from Auckland's Queen Street, but inside the welcome was friendly and attentive. The doorman took our bags before we walked through the door and 'Nadine' greeted us warmly. She helped us quickly check-in and gave us a tour of the hotel and even asked if she could show us around our room. As we had the standard Classic rather than Royal Suite this was hard to take seriously, but her thoughtfulness was a precursor to the service we would receive throughout our stay.

Our room, on the fourth floor had a very comfortable king-size bed with a down underlay and a good array of pillows so sleeping was easy.

The hotel aspires to be a 'grand hotel' in the European tradition and gets there in part. The classically styled arm chairs in the rooms and dining areas are beautifully upholstered and provided respite after a day walking around Auckland and up Rangitoto - great to sink into with a glass of wine and people watch from, while the huge chandeliers and gold-painted roof add the requisite bling and elegance.

Some aspects of the room were a little tired, like the desk and draws which need modernising, however, the service we received was compensation. Our room was serviced twice a day if we wanted it and everything was meticulously cleaned or replaced.

We enjoyed using the Chuan Spa which offers a number of options. It's modern, hygienic and because it was never overcrowded, donning the swimsuit wasn't so bad. The outdoor pool is heated to 27 degrees and you can hop over to the adjacent, expansive jacuzzi to relax. There's snail showers, a herbal steam room (where the type of herb is changed daily), monsoon showers and if you're a bit masochistic, dousing and revitalising yourself with ice cubes is also an option.

Shuffling from your room to the spa in the supplied bathrobes and slippers is accepted practice and the separate changing areas have secure lockers and an endless supply of fluffy towels.

Barolo has sumptuous food and Eight's buffet was of a high standard, featuring an array of culinary fare from around the world that's made to order - so swimming was off the menu for a few hours afterwards. (Went out for breakfast so can't comment on that) The Winery, with its sofas and deep armchairs was perfect for unwinding. As a result we didn't eat out as much as expected.

The one thing I felt was exploitive was the astronomical fee you had to pay for internet usage - much better to use 3G on your phone if you can. For a five star hotel not to have this free seemed a bit backward.

There's a shuttle that goes on a half hourly basis down to the bottom of Queen Street near the Viaduct and back via Victoria Street. We got to know one of the very polite and helpful drivers in particular. Avon was ex-British army, very interesting and a font of knowledge about Auckland and the best places to go.

Everywhere we went in the hotel, staff would smile, say hello or ask us if we had everything we needed.

Compared to some overseas accommodation it's not the most glamorous of five star hotels but the service is impeccable, understated and without pretention, and that's what sets The Langham apart.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park/cemetery at the front of the building provide a good vista. Try to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraBoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We are regulars at The Langham and happily recommend this as one of Auckland's best. Service is always outstanding and the public areas of the hotel are lovely. Rooms are good sized and comfortable, although showing their age just a little these days. Location is excellent.

The hotel can be a little pricey - and having to pay additional for WiFi is very annoying. (And, frankly, a rip-off.)

But we'll be back because this is otherwise a great hotel. Just please sort out your WiFi Mr Langham!

Room Tip: Gotta love a hotel with a pillow menu! We adore the super-soft feather pillows, but the range of cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is probably one of the best (if not the best) hotel we've stayed at in all the hotels I've visited internationally.

Service is excellent, upon arrival our concierge showed us all the nicities of the hotel, she even offered to upgrade our classic room to an executive room because the air in our room was a bit stale - I didn't smell anything wrong because apparently I'm an insensitive bloke, but my partner did.

Room furnishings made me feel like daft royalties and house keeping comes twice daily offering complimentary still water, lollies (can never be too old for these!) and closed the curtains after dark.

Other things I liked about the langham were the ice making machines on every floor, the heated outdoor pool, the sewing kits (for my partner), the complimentary face shaver (for me), the list goes on!

Internet is really fast and breakfast is amazing, they even make the following foods fresh on demand: crepes, pancakes, omlettes, fried eggs.

On the downside (comparing to other 5-star hotel brands), beds are not as comfortable as Sofitel and the pillows are plasticy. Location wise it's close to dining but a bit far from harbour shopping, thankfully the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle that runs from the hotel to the harbour every 30 minutes so it's not that much of a deal. Also membership is a little harder to maintain than Hilton or Sofitel because Langham's aren't as well spread.

Would definitely be back at the Langham and highly recommend this hotel brand!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with an executive room, it's the next step up from the classic room. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Must start by saying my review is based on a Classic Room, so Club Room experience is likely to be totally different.

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of August 2012. Overall I wasn't as impressed with this hotel as everyone else seems to have been. For a 5 star hotel I found it to be rather average with very little, if any, distinction. Service at check-in was mediocre and very flustered - it appeared that the gentleman checking in beside us seemed to be having a similar experience. Got there in the end and made our way to our room on the 4th Floor. Having stayed at other properties in the Leading Hotels of the World brand, I was grossly underwhelmed by the classic room we had booked. It had everything you need in a hotel room, but styled exactly as the room must have been 20years ago, with the exception of the flat screen LCD TV. The bathroom was tiny and very dated. This is due an upgrade.

It's rather pointless to book a room only rate, since breakfast comes at a snip - NZD39per person. Internet is also exorbitant and very bad value for money - being painfully slow yet priced at about NZD25 for 24hrs. Locationwise, it's at the edge of the City Centre, and a bit inconvenient for a stroll to or from dinner or an evening out in the City Centre. The shuttle goes every half hour though, so this makes it easier.

I'm really hard pushed to find positives. The concierge service and attention to detail stands out as the only distinctive element at this hotel.

Overall, I wouldn't book to stay in a classic room at this hotel and would rather pay the same for a room at another 5 star hotel in the Centre or even a more contemporary good 4 star. It's certainly not at the same luxury level which you find at other 5 star properties in the Leading Hotels of the World chain.

Like I said at the start, the club rooms might be very different.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. You are indeed correct that our Club Rooms are furnished to a higher standard than our Classic Rooms, and for those who prefer additional luxury, an Executive or Club Room is more tastefully appointed. Our Club Rooms also offer complimentary wifi and access to the Langham Club Lounge, where the range of privileges includes a Continental Breakfast, evening drinks and canapés and butler service. We hope you will consider upgrading to one of our Club Rooms next time you are staying in Auckland.
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Langham Hotel Auckland retains all of the old world style and class that is synonymous with the Langham name. I stayed for 5 nights and was impressed with the very attentive service, impressive buffet breakfast and quality of the room facilities and amenities (including bathroom products from their Chuan Spa). My only greivance is that internet and the breakfast would seem rather expensive if you didn't get it included in the package and that whilst the stroll into town is easy downhill, it's an arduous climb back to the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_ooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and it was lovely, 5 star and the most amazing breakfasts. Will definitely be coming back. The langham has all the little touches that make it top class and ther service we received was always of high standard.
If you can't get here to stay book in for breakfast, it really is one of the best buffets I have been too.

Room Tip: Rooms quit great bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £107 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing