We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and overpriced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dated and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We have been customers of the Langham Hotel for the past 4 years but have noticed the decline in service, amenities, and the rooms are starting to look dated. When we mentioned this to the hotel, their reply was "you can always upgrade". Not the response you want to hear when paying top dollars and a loyal customer for many years. The only consistency was the great service that the doorman and the valet service provides. As elegant as the lobby is, I would say save your money and go elsewhere, unless you have the extra $ to upgrade.

Room Tip: Make sure to let them know that you want some type of view when you look out the window. We had a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,386
    1,049
    364
    96
    62
See reviews for
447
1,966
232
884
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

It is one of the best hotels that I have ever been to. The franchise can only be rivalled by companies such as the Hilton, Sheraton etc. The Buffet Restaurant at the Langham is one of the best places to go. During the June/July or October/November/December season, there will be days when they do specials. I highly recommend this restaurant to any keen traveller.

Room Tip: Book earlier and the rooms in the centre are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Have just spent our first few nights in The Langham which really helped ease the jet lag. The hotel is very traditional and old fashioned in some aspects but the service and facilities are very modern.
The foyer has the most amazing chandelier ever, remember to look up! Our bedroom was very large and luxurious with the most comfortable bed. The walls must be so thick that we didn't hear a sound and so slept so well. I particularly loved the pink chintzy stationary in the rooms. The only down side its on top of a hill but I think there maybe a shuttle to the waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misspoppy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently. The room is dated but the hotel is in a good location. However, we were appalled by the level of service. We were in a hurry to leave the hotel the next morning. We rang the front desk, help desk, concierge, and housekeeping, but nobody picked up the phone. In the end, I called the hotel operator and explained to her that we were in a hurry and can she organised the pickup of our luggage and also our car. This was at 8.25 am. My husband decided to go down and settle the bill while I stayed in my room and waited for the staff to turn up. When I did not turned up at the hotel lobby after more than 10 minutes, he came to find me in the room still waiting for the luggage to be carried down. I then rang the operator and was told that they were coming. We waited for another 5 minutes and decided to carry all our luggage down to the lobby. We then discovered that our car, which we paid $35 for valet parking, has not been delivered. We were very upset and waited till 8.55 am, half an hour later, before our car was delivered. We managed to get a refund of our $35 for the valet parking because we asked for it not because it was offered to us. We do not recommend others to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed at the Langham Auckland for business in Sept 2012 and it is now where I would return every time I am in Auckland.
The hotel is not modern but it is very comfortable and luxurious.
The gym and health club are excellent.
The restaurant is amazing, the evening buffet is expensive but the variety of food is second to none.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

There was not much to fault with the hotel: the room was well equipped, the bed exceedingly comfortable, staff knowledgeable and helpful, room service and cocktails in the bar up to par. The only fault for us was the exorbitant charge for wi-fi: $75 for the weekend. When you have already paid so much for the room it feels a little cheap....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thereichinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon and just loved this hotel. Even though our flight arrived early morning and we were at the hotel by 8:30am, we were immediately checked into a room. No waiting until mid-afternoon after official check in time. Plus, we were even upgraded to a nicer room for our honeymoon. Then we were even suprised with a nice plate of chocolates with "Congratualtions" written on it in chocolate. These are the things that really make a trip more enjoyable and memorable. The entire staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional. The room was very nice, clean, and well appointed in more of an antique style. The water pressure in the shower was amazing! Especially nice after a 14 hour flight! The hotel isn't as close to downtown as some other hotels, but we love walking so it wasn't an issue for us, plus the hotel's shuttle to downtown is a nice feature. We ate one breakfast at their 8 restaraunt, which was excellent but expensive. We also enjoyed the on site spa which allows guests to utilize their pool, hot tub, and wet and dry saunas. We would definitely recommend staying here and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on future trips to Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing