We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD EXPERIENCE”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My wife and I had heard about the Langham experience but never stayed there. we both felt it exceeded our expectations. The accomodation was first class and the service and friendliness of all the staff made our stay very special. I would recommend the food and restaurant to anyone who stays there. We are both looking forward to returning for another break in the future.
Ron Newsome

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you Mr Newsome for your positive feedback about our hotel and restaurant, and we are very pleased we were able to make your stay with us special. We shall look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,432 - 3,438 of 4,409 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

From the moment we arrived at the front door of the Langham and were greeted by the doorman and valet service we knew the level of service was going to be spot on. We were not dissapointed. The overall presentation of this Hotel is wonderful and the rooms very comfortable. A number of us stayed that night and we all raved about the comfort of the beds over breakfast the next morning. The little extras in the bathroom were lovely too. The service at the wedding was exemplary and the food lovely. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindaodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We always enjoy giving a warm welcome to our guests and ensuring that their time with us is memorable. Our events team will be pleased to hear your feedback. Our Langham Blissful Beds are made especially for us by Sealy, and really do provide a wonderful night’s sleep. We are going to be selling them shortly at our new Flavours of Langham store opening next month. We look forward to having you stay again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We were welcomed to the Langham for my husbands Birthday in style,the greeting was very nice, the staff were wonderful and helpful.The room was beautiful, the bed very comfortable, and the whole experience was very enjoyable.We would not hesitate in reccomending the Lanham as our desired hotel anytime, and will defintely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We have been customers of the Langham Hotel for the past 4 years but have noticed the decline in service, amenities, and the rooms are starting to look dated. When we mentioned this to the hotel, their reply was "you can always upgrade". Not the response you want to hear when paying top dollars and a loyal customer for many years. The only consistency was the great service that the doorman and the valet service provides. As elegant as the lobby is, I would say save your money and go elsewhere, unless you have the extra $ to upgrade.

Room Tip: Make sure to let them know that you want some type of view when you look out the window. We had a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

It is one of the best hotels that I have ever been to. The franchise can only be rivalled by companies such as the Hilton, Sheraton etc. The Buffet Restaurant at the Langham is one of the best places to go. During the June/July or October/November/December season, there will be days when they do specials. I highly recommend this restaurant to any keen traveller.

Room Tip: Book earlier and the rooms in the centre are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Have just spent our first few nights in The Langham which really helped ease the jet lag. The hotel is very traditional and old fashioned in some aspects but the service and facilities are very modern.
The foyer has the most amazing chandelier ever, remember to look up! Our bedroom was very large and luxurious with the most comfortable bed. The walls must be so thick that we didn't hear a sound and so slept so well. I particularly loved the pink chintzy stationary in the rooms. The only down side its on top of a hill but I think there maybe a shuttle to the waterfront.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misspoppy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently. The room is dated but the hotel is in a good location. However, we were appalled by the level of service. We were in a hurry to leave the hotel the next morning. We rang the front desk, help desk, concierge, and housekeeping, but nobody picked up the phone. In the end, I called the hotel operator and explained to her that we were in a hurry and can she organised the pickup of our luggage and also our car. This was at 8.25 am. My husband decided to go down and settle the bill while I stayed in my room and waited for the staff to turn up. When I did not turned up at the hotel lobby after more than 10 minutes, he came to find me in the room still waiting for the luggage to be carried down. I then rang the operator and was told that they were coming. We waited for another 5 minutes and decided to carry all our luggage down to the lobby. We then discovered that our car, which we paid $35 for valet parking, has not been delivered. We were very upset and waited till 8.55 am, half an hour later, before our car was delivered. We managed to get a refund of our $35 for the valet parking because we asked for it not because it was offered to us. We do not recommend others to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudreyChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,810 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £103 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing