We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT luxury. Not at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“This is NOT luxury. Not at all.”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Wow. My husband and I stayed at the Langham Auckland for one night in October as we were wrapping up our time in New Zealand. I chose the Langham Auckland because I had stayed at the Langham in Melbourne the month prior and found it to be a very nice, luxurious hotel (though the incidental costs for things like internet and breakfast were ridiculous). Unfortunately, since we changed plans on short notice, I was unable to get my travel agent to book me into the Langham and instead just booked via an online booking website.

Maybe the problem was that I booked last minute. Or maybe the problem was that I booked through an online booking website and not my amazing travel agent. Or maybe the problem was that the Langham Auckland is just really, really, old. But the room I got was NOT a $300 a night room. It had a small, old bathroom with a shower that made a huge mess everywhere (despite the shower curtain); the bathroom door knob was gold on one side and silver on the other (see picture); the furniture was all beat up and scraped and generally run down; the artwork in the room looked totally cheap. All of these things wouldn't have bothered me if I was paying $120 a night and staying at a hotel that wasn't billing itself as a luxury hotel, but I wasn't and the Langham does and it just doesn't come close to living up to it's billing.

I'd said in my review on the Langham Melbourne that I might not return to another Langham property because of the internet and breakfast fees being high, but after seeing what their "luxury" brand is like at other hotels, I'm certainly not staying there again.

(One side note: the staff were friendly and generally very helpful, but unfortunately that doesn't do enough to make up for the feeling of being ripped-off terribly for a room that wasn't worth even half of what was charged.)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,578
    1,127
    392
    108
    64
See reviews for
490
2,096
254
972
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed in the Langham for a business conference for 5 nights; the room was very clean, comfortable and well presented. The service throughout the conference was excellent. Good food (although would have liked some healthier options during the conference morning and afternoon teas). Location is good, although it is a fair hike up the hill from the harbour front.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxRandCxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Moved here from the Sofitel (see separate review). I was expecting a step up, what I got was a step down! We stayed on the club floor. The rooms were tiny in comparison and felt very cluttered. The bathroom was worse, very small and no separate bath. This is supposed to be 5 star??

The club lounge was okay and reasonably well serviced, but not open for long enough (5.30pm - 7.30pm).

I did not think it represented good value and I wouldn't recommend it. If I had to choose between this and the Sofitel I'd go the Sofitel simply because it was roomier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stay at The Langham in Auckland at least once a year. Its an indulgance for me but when I visit Auckland and dont stay with friends I stay at The Langham. The special deals they have for rooms makes staying with them not as expensive as you might imagine for such an Iconic hotel. The service is always outstanding and the staff treat guests with the up most respect, bending over backward to make any stay memorable. A visit to the Chuan Spa adds to the exotic ambiance that is The Langham, Auckland, a place I like to think of as a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEIDIBOO1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My second stay at this hotel, and again nothing to disappoint, amazing facilities, superb staff, their care and attention to detail is truly a delight?
Location is very central, practically walking distance to everything, with local transport on hand

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

If you want to take somebody special away then this is the hotel. Good location, double glazing so quite rooms, Very clean and staff are very attentive. The afternoon high tea was great. My wife was blown away. Thank you all.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRK042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

During my stay at the Langham Hotel I experienced 5 star service. The staff were amazing and took care of everything. They were all friendly and happy to help. The buffet breakfast at Eight was delicious and there were so many options.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want a wonderful weekend getaway

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jellybean1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing