We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total rest and relaxation in excellent surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves before our active and campervan based trip to NZ in Feb 2013. We arrived in Auckland on a Sunday night and managed to find a good deal at the Langham for $150 NZD.

The airport but stops right outside (which their website doesn't tell you!) so is very accessible. The city centre is a good 20 mins walk and prob 30 mins back up the hill!

Overall the hotel is really nice. The reception staff were very good and friendly. Rooms were big and beds were comfortable and I couldn't find a fault with even the standard rooms. We stayed once at the beginning and once at the end of the trip as we love it so much. Once on an exec room and once in a standard. Both were excellent.

The best part of this hotel is the spa and pool facilities. The best hotel spa I have ever seen can be found here. It's like a real spa you pay hundreds to spend a day in. There's a gorgeous rooftop pool with nice loungers and tables and chairs as well as a fantastic outside jacuzzi. Go in the evening when it's dark and quiet to really appreciate this space.

The Moroccan steam rooms and the power jet showers were also fantastic.

Would really recommend this place, I'll def be going back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,353)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,151 - 3,157 of 4,353 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

Is has a nice location, outside the city, and has a free bus to the city centre. A 20 minutue walk to the Domain. However, we found the rooms small and dark and not really modern. They charged me 5 dollars for a kit Kat, and chased me up over the internet to pay. The loung area is big spacious and looks nice, I think there are better hotels and more modern inside.

Room Tip: If you have the money to go here, look closely at your room and see what you can get elsewhere.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Langham hotel for a special treat (we live in Auckland). It was luxurious and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a high standard hotel. The room was comfortable and provided all that you would need. The roof top pool and spa were great on a sunny day. The breakfast was amazing - no need to eat lunch on that day. We'll be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We have stayed several times at the Langham, on conference, as a couple for leisure, and most recently with our 13 year old twins in adjoining rooms, as a treat while in town for a concert. On every occasion the service and our expectations have been exceeded - we won't stay anywhere else in Auckland. At the top of Queen St, so a 10min walk to shops, and taxi required for Vector Arena, but not expensive. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegas9_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

You will never be disappointed with a stay at the Langham. A beautiful hotel, excellent service and food options and luxury at every corner. The pool complex is amazing and a must visit both summer and winter. We stayed in the suites for our honeymoon and loved the benefits of the Langham Club. The Chuan Spa is five star and an added bonus if you want spa treatments during your stay. The breakfast buffet and afternoon tea is amazing!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hibiscus1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This is our second visit to the Langham and we would not consider staying anywhere else.

We had a car and chose Valet Parking for $40 a day and it was very nice to just roll up and hop out at the front door and know that you car would be safely parked for you.You could opt for self park in a nearby carpark building for $25.

As last time the reception staff were very welcoming and even offered a tour of the hotel on route to your room.

We had booked an executive room which are generally sited on the upper floors. It was very very comfortable with tasteful decoration. The king bed was extremely luxurious and their turn down service immaculate. It was also nice to be able to open the windows although the city noises meant we closed them at night. The bathroom although small was extremely well accessorised. My only little niggle being that the ventilation wasn`t adequate at times.

The breakfast is one of the best we have come across and the evening buffet meal amazing. Amongst my Auckland friends it is legendary. The variety of food presented is huge and all of a very high standard. The restaurant was packed each night so that explains all.

The swimming pool is a lovely area. Water was warm and area very clean. A great place after a hot day in the city.

Overall an excellent hotel and very good value for money. Will definitely be our Auckland stop over in the future

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vibez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your warm words and we are glad you enjoyed your second visit with us. Our philosophy is to make life easier for guests, so it is good to know you appreciated the valet parking and turndown service. Our Executive Rooms do have hush glass too, which helps with the city noise. We agree, the pool is a lovely spot for relaxing – try the Jacuzzi in the evening next time you visit us. Great for unwinding under the stars. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

one of the bedside lamps did not work, however, the other services were very good and cleanliness and sleep quality were excellent. The Japanese cuisine served was just great and my husband and I enjoyed tasting them. IT connection was very smooth in comparison with that of other hotels in Auckland. We will come back to stay your hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0469Setsuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £102 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing