We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 March 2013

the staff at the langham hotel were so friendly and helpful i was astounded. they even pretended to cry when i left. the rooms are beautifully styled. peaceful lovely sleep. fantastic food. great service. one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethany2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,389 - 3,395 of 4,627 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in one of the Chuan Spa rooms- was the most relaxing, comfortable and luxurious rooms we've stayed at. Had a lovely massage, experienced all the spa and swimming facilities. Absolutely blissful. Was sad that we'd only booked 1 night. A great getaway for couples anytime!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Chuan Spa suite – they are a great option for guests who want to make the most of the spa and facilities. We have a regular weekday special on our Chuan Journey package so it’s always worth enquiring about this. We hope to welcome you both again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Langham for one night during our first trip to New Zealand. We had an excellent stay and the service was superb. While the service was 5 star, the furnishings are quite dated which is why I say this is a 4+ star hotel instead of a 5. That said, I would most definitely stay here again. Here is what I loved about The Langham in Aukland:
1. Great service with front desk, valet, and concierge. They allowed us to check in early when our room was available which was very welcome after such a long journey. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 9am but they called me by 11 am to say we could pick up our keys which I thought was just fantastic. All staff are friendly and helpful. The lobby is very nice.
2. The bed....AMAZING! Now, we were so tired it's entirely possible I could have slept on a card board mat that evening but truly, the bed was divine. The room was quiet and we got a great night's rest.
3. Beautiful pool and spa area. After spending the morning exploring Aukland (the hotel is a quick 15 minute walk from the harbor- though uphill on the way back- next time we'd use the free shuttle!), we decided to relax the rest of the day by the pool. There is a beautiful spa area that is open to guests which includes changing rooms with saunas, etc. I actually didn't notice these until we were done at the pool and I wish I would have explored earlier. You do not have to get a service to take advantage of their wonderful changing area/spa rooms. The pool was lovely.
4. This might sound silly, but one of the things I love about a luxury hotel is luxury towels and the Langham delivers big, fluffy, beautiful towels! I also thought the turn down service was a luxurious touch. Mints on my pillow just make me happy.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay in Aukland. Here's a quick breakfast tip we received from the concierge- just accross the street (up the ramp and to the left) is a little place called Cafe Crema which has great coffee and lovely breakfast items to go. They also had nice looking sandwiches to take with you for lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

another great stay at the langham and look forward to staying again next march and hopefully this may for 19th wedding anniversay. after previously staying at the the stamford plaza with easy acces to the city staying at the langham and having to take a cab was far mor enjoyable and would recomend the langham to friends and business associates

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefirstgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for your warm words and good to hear you are a regular with us! If you haven’t joined already, we recommend that you sign up to our 1865 Loyalty programme. You can enjoy a great range of loyalty benefits, including free internet, airline partner miles and at senior levels, a complimentary room upgrade. It’s well worth it! We hope we shall be able to welcome you for your anniversary celebrations in May.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Fine hotel - deserves the 5 star rating.
They really looked after us after a long flight from the USA - we got in really early, they let us use the spa, and got us a room by 10am
The restaurant is very nice (expensive for people from the USA) - but then eating everywhere in New Zealand is expensive for us.
Staff are terrific - Larnie in the restaurant was exceptionally proffession and charming. We were addressed by our names from the get-go.

Room Tip: All the rooms are double glazed and quiet - the higher the better - but it is not a very high traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lymebdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were in Auckland for two short days preparing to transit back to the United States. The Langham was a perfect hotel with outstanding staff at every station. This hotel is a bit of a walk to the water front. Would definitely recommend a taxi. Our room was somewhat small but very,very nice. The restaurant had a top of the line buffet as well as good ala carte menu.
Once again, as throughout our visit to Australia and New Zealand, service in the restaurant was slow. You really do have to visit with the wait staff and let them know you expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for your positive words about our staff and our restaurant, Eight. We enjoy offering a bespoke service for our guests, and always welcome the opportunity to accommodate the expectations of our guests regarding restaurant and room service. Should you stay with us again, we do have a complimentary shuttle service that visits the waterfront area every half an hour. Our Concierge has details and a timetable.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at the Langham for two nights prior to joining our cruise ship. We were upgraded to an executive room, which was very stylish and spacious, with very comfortable bed. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The free shuttle bus to the water front was very welcome, as the hotel is quite centrally based. All the staff were very courteous and helpful - we didnt use the dining room as it seemed quite expensive (we had breakfast one morning which was fine but not exceptional) and we found eating at the watefront gave lots of choice and enjoyment of the lovely weather we had. Expensive but well worth it. (We took the Blue Bus from Auckland Airport which was $l6 each single, but took us right to the front of the hotel very promptly and efficiently)

Room Tip: Only at the hotel two nights so difficult to suggest !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wranglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,477 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
936 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £112 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing