We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Check In of my Life”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Waited over 2 and a half hours for my room....in the afternoon! Arrived at the hotel at 2pm (normal Standard Check in time for ANY hotel) after an early and exhausting international flight to New Zealand. We were a group of 20 people who were hosting an event at the Langham that evening. So we were VERY eager to refresh in our rooms before our guests started arriving at 4:30pm. On arrival at 2pm we were told our rooms would only be ready at 3pm. Fair enough, we could wait around as all of us working in the 5* Hotel industry and could understand the situation of checking in a group. After 3pm we again enquired about our rooms, and only then were we told the actual reason for our late check in, they had a late check out of a Emirates Flight Crew. So finally the truth was out, this flight crew was obviously MUCH more of importance than our small little group. But still NO excuse that we had to wait until 4:30 pm to Finally check into our rooms. Making us late to our Own function hosted at the Langham.
Flight Crews on average take up 30 rooms... this is a 200 room hotel! HOW they could not manage our group is simply inexcusable for a 5* hotel.
And the worst part?
After finally seeing the hotel manager and explaining the urgency of our situation, he was less than accommodating and simply did not express the empathy a 5* Hotel Manager is supposed to give his guests when they have been waiting over 2 hours for their rooms, AND had paid to host their function at your hotel. There were a Hundred ways of better handling this situation, and the Langham simply did not deliver.
Which is a shame as the rooms are gorgeous - I had the BEST sleep of my entire 2 week trip in this hotel bed. Such a pity the bed was the only best part of the Langham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor and not TOO far from the elavators - else you end up walking miles d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MonicaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback and again, our apologies for the day in question. We do understand that delays can be frustrating for our guests. Since we fully appreciate that our guests are often tired from travelling, and as our official check-in time is 3pm, we were happy to provide a complimentary suite and spa for your party to change in.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,845 - 2,851 of 4,454 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is my first visit at this hotel. I travel frequently and stay at 4 or 5 star hotels. This is by far one of the best hotel experiences I have had in terms of room cleanliness and staff friendliness.I really like the hotel decor and environment. Overall, very good experience. Well done, will love to stay here again for my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucewillham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our 2nd stay as the first visit had been impressive. The staff are exceptional, the rooms spacious and pristine. The beds are top quality - think of sleeping on a cloud. We enjoyed the pool and other amenities. The meal at the restaurant was delicious and menu options made a 2nd visit inevitable. Show venue was within walking distance which was ideal. We will return to the Langham next time we are in Auckland

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesGaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here in October 2013, had a good room, a great nights sleep. The service was fantastic, even the drive the Langham provided to get to the airport was awesome. When I forgot my CC, he had no hesitation returning to retrieve it prior to my flight.

The restaurant down stairs was fantastic, expensive, but awesome food.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I often visit this hotel for a getaway weekend despite living less than 4 km away. I know there are much grander, more opulent hotels in the world but on my budget this hotel offers me fantastic service and a wonderful experience every time . I can't rate the staff more highly. From the great friendly doorman/woman to the staff cleaning the rooms everyone is smiling and attentive. Love this place

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My two girls shouted me a trip to Auckland for shopping and food for my 60th b'day. We stayed at the Lngham and it was a beautiful experience. There is a spa and just everything thaat you could possibly need. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieHawera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My experience began at the airport in Auckland after arriving several hours late off a delayed flight from Brisbane. I was concerned that the hotel may not have their car waiting but all of that vanished as I was met by the most delightful lady who whisked me to the hotel in comfort and style along with some fantastic local knowledge and help with an ATM at 3am. I was greeted warmly and quickly checked in to my room where I found fresh fruit and bottled water, a needed amenity after a lousy flight experience. The hotel is modeled on different era so do not expect modern glam. The décor is traditional but warm, and the feeling one gets is of comfort and ease. The next morning I ate on the club level which was really good and I loved the privacy and quality of the experience. Service throughout was impeccable, and I was even able to purchase gifts at the well stocked store, after hours, which were delivered beautifully wrapped for travel the next day. My trip ended with the same great car service to the airport with the same best chauffer on the planet...no jokes on this one. So many hotels do not manage their goodbyes as well as their hellos but you do both superbly. Please thank your team.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,935 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
497 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing