We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked a '5 Star Fling' which included the bubbles, breakfast and valet parking. We got an upgrade as it was our anniversary, and together with what the Langham offers, the heated roof pool, spa, sauna, steam room, Wi-Fi, not forgetting the courtesy bus to Downtown every 30 mins.... we were well spoilt.
Great value compared to a standard hotel with 'add ons'

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonnePapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,733 - 2,739 of 4,371 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

The staff was top notch. Very friendly and made us feel comfortable. Average size rooms and included everything a hotel this size should have. Breakfast was fantastic, although it was about $40NZ per.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were put up at the Langham Auckland for a night to attend a corporate function that night. The hotel reception was extremely slow. Two long queues were formed within a few minutes. Valet parking staff was where to be seen. Hotel room was tidy but not clean, especially the toilet. Guest amenities were totally forgotten! When called up, it took two hours to be delivered and wrong items were sent. Very disappointing for a big name like Langham.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This was a real treat for us. We come 'home' each year for Christmas and I have tried various ways of battling through a Christmas dinner in various homes we are housesitting - it is always expensive and stressful and not very relaxing. So this year we stayed at the Langham and went out to visit, then had a feast in the hotel. Every aspect was superb, even though we had the cheapest and smallest room we were never made to feel anything less than special. Food is excellent and the room extremely comfortable. Next time I would splash out on a double twin, just because the single bed is small (I am tall and on the larger side), and I like to sprawl a bit. However this is more an observation. The 'classic' rooms could probably do with a bit of a refresh quite soon, the upholstery and so on is looking a little worn. Cleanliness was excellent and there were plenty of power points for phone chargers etc. The hotel itself is in a great position for getting around Auckland and I would recommend this as a perfect place, if you are looking for 5 star accommodation.

Room Tip: Classic rooms whilst 'basic' are still quiet, comfortable and attract the full 5 star attent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenemalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are delighted we were able to make your Christmas a more relaxing affair - wasn’t it a sumptuous feast at Eight, and a great way to celebrate the festive season! When you next book, you might want to try an Executive or Club Room. The Club Rooms in particular offer excellent value, with access to the Club Lounge and additional benefits such as butler service, shoeshine and evening drinks. We shall look forward to welcoming you back for your next special celebration.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed in a club room and the usual top range hotel facilities are there, but what sets this place apart is the service from the staff. it is really good. the club lounge is good, not remarkable but good enough.
The room has a feel of a top hotel as you would expect.
but the staff are really great.
Dining at Eight was also good.
would recommend this hotel.
the only bad thing is that "shower over bath" nonsense.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Wifey and I got an excellent deal off wotif.com for one night that included breakfast, valet parking, bottle of bubbly and late check out. Fantastic value ($250). The service throughout the hotel is fantastic and the entrance lobby area is impressive. The room was perfectly acceptable, though not as 'flash' as the rest of the hotel. The bed was fantastic though, great night's sleep. We returned from dinner to find the bed turned down with slippers on the floor of each side of the bed and a chocolate on the pillows. Nice touch.
We utilised the gym and pool which were both very good. The breakfast buffet options were great and varied, though who would go for the chocolate fountain?!
The Langham is found at the top of the AUckland CBD, however the hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service down to the harbour, where it is only a short walk to the viaduct and Wynard quarter - awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

The langham is easy to locate with a big sign board! Great room service 24/7 and food is fresh.

Rooms and bathrooms are super clean. The lobby is totally vintage and if you are an 1865 member you get free wifi too.

The gym is fantastic and open 24/7!

All in all great hotel!

Gym

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank shoebites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £105 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing