We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel was of a very high standard. Rooms were comfortable and roomy. Bar area was fine and served good bar snacks. Breakfast was varied and offered everything you might want.

Only complaint would be that it is a 25 minute walk (downhill) to the port area which is where you sort of want to be. However there was a good and cheap bus service back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osbourne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. Should you visit again, please do ask about our complimentary shuttle service at the front office. It makes it nice and easy for our guests to travel to and from Auckland’s waterfront. We shall hope to welcome you back next time you stay in Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,347)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,658 - 2,664 of 4,347 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I both enjoyed the Complimentary evening drinks and canapes at the Club Lounge - they offered quite a variety of wine and soft drinks. Both drink and canapes were in good quality and the Club Lounge was very comfortable.

I have been to the outdoor pool for a morning swim which was included in the package. I was fascinated that the pool was a heated with comfortable temperature and the water has been added with healthy chemical. I also went for their Outdoor Jacuzzi / spa. It made me feel completely relax especially enjoyed being massaged by the heated water coming in all directions from the massaging jets.

The room and the bathroom were nice with good hygiene. The double queen's size beds were comfortable and the bed sheets were clean.

My wife and I were happy to recommend to others that this is an excellent hotel in New Zealand. Our stay is unforgettable and value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Good to hear you enjoyed relaxing in The Club Lounge - it really does add that extra degree of luxury! We heat our salt-water pool year-round to 38 deg C, to make sure it’s a comfortable temperature for our guests. It's a great option for unwinding after a busy day’s sightseeing. We shall hope to see you back again next time you visit Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Love staying here. This hotel is consistently awesome and makes me feel really special. Outstanding service which is hard to come by these days. finishing touches in the room are just lovely and make you feel they have thought about your every need. The rooms are such great value. I would stay here every time if I can. The bill is never cheap but it's worth it as you are treated so well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our room on the 5 th floor was a King and gracious in size. Service is excellent in the hotel. The gym is lacking but the spa was tremendous. There is a shuttle bus which runs free of charge every 30 minutes to the wharf. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liketotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Langham and were thoroughly impressed with the hotel. The hotel had all the right touches - really nice bathroom, excellent customer service, soft bathrobes, comfortable bed...can't complain about anything really. The price is also very good for the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A very quiet and central location. Exactly the comfortable sort of hotel you want to check into after a long overnight flight from the U.S. Very warm and friendly service at reception. They could clearly see we were tired and found us a room even though it was 9am in the morning. Short walk to downtown Auckland, just remember that Auckland is quite hilly. The buffet restaurant should satisfy all tastes. For dinner consider Blue Elephant for amazing Thai food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgecombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked 2 Club Rooms at Langham Hotel Auckland over the New Years period. The hotel itself is lovely. But when I have stayed at places like Shangri-la in Sydney, this does not quite live up to the 'five stars' that it is advertised to be. The pluses are: Beds are extremely comfortable. The 'club' provides very good choices in canapes and drinks as well as a range of cakes and snacks throughout to nibble on throughout the day, if you choose. The staff are exceptional. Always very friendly and only too happy to be of assistance. We had 'turn down' service every night. We had adjoining rooms, as requested and they were very nicely decorated. The negatives: The rooms are quite small. This was not such an issues - though I was very disappointed in the bathrooms. Not what I would expect for a five star hotel and certainly not for a 'club room'. The hotel is a little far out of town. We didn't mind the ten to fifteen minute walk though this could be difficult for families with young children. They did provide a shuttle service, which was fabulous, but you can't book and on one occassion, some people missed out on the shuttle because it was full. The prices are a little hefty for what you get, noting however that we were there over a very busy period.
The Restaurant: We didn't have the buffet breakfast because our breakfast was included in The Club each day. But we did dine for New Years Eve. I was happy with the quality and quantity of food and choices available but disappointed that they chose to increase the price by a lot given you can have pretty much the same 'smorgasboard' any other night. The restaurant is called Eight - because there are eight stations you can eat from. There was no entertainment, live music or music at all. The waiters/waitresses were clearly stressed and busy and it showed. I felt the New Years Eve dinner was a bit of a rip off. But we just made the most of the company on the night.
Overall, I was pretty happy with our stay. I'm not too sure if I'll stay again? I might like to try one of the boutique hotels in the area next time but I would recommend it to somebody wanting a quality sleep, a quiet room and good Club services.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up or upgrade to a Club room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyKafoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £101 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing